Northwestern Mutual Reviews | Glassdoor

Northwestern Mutual Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3552 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Financial Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere Great training experience Fair pay

    Cons

    There are no cons, my experience has been amazing

    Northwestern Mutual2019-05-21
  2. "Building a business where you can do well doing good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The reality is that most people very much need some help managing their finances - people are simply busy and it is easy for years to go by before folks make meaningful change in their habits. -The business/career allows you to make intimate and meaningful impact in the lives of clients -The schedule is flexible and allows time with family when and where you need it/want it -The work environment is... team-oriented despite everyone having individual goals -You work with some seriously talented planners that help guide and mentor you -Your personal familiarity with complex, long-term finance will grow -Awesome culture around continued development and learning, even "relentless" in this area sometimes -Your personality and your individuality can be your best business asset in this role - I have seen many advisors that very strategically choose a market that fits who they are and who they want to work with -The people you work with are great, seriously nice and good-hearted people interested in helping one another -The product suite and tools to use within planning are second to none

    Show More

    Cons

    Building a business is hard but rewarding work. You can expect days where your business does not perform as expected - but having experience with business-building, I can attest to this being true of building a business regardless. You are constantly identifying problems and addressing the underlying operational issues - it is actually the fun part for a true business owner! You do have to take some... inter-personal risk in this job. There is no avoiding that sometimes people will and do say "no," but literally every person who has ever started a new business and wanted to build a customer base has heard the word no a lot.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to reinforce the positive and supportive culture - it makes all of the difference in the world to work with advisors you can so quickly and easily respect.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-16
  3. "Phenomenal Opportunity - for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wealth Management Advisor in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I'm 10 years into a phenomenal career. I always wanted to have my own business. I have tremendous freedom in terms of how I work and how I spend my time. There is no other career I know of that provides such an optimal balance between incredible earning power/success and quality of life. Many of my clients make high 6 and 7 figure incomes. I wouldn't trade places with any of them because they all sacrifice... significantly on lifestyle to make that income; they're all working 70 or 80 hours a week, constantly traveling, and they will be for the rest of their careers. I make mid 6 figures (about $500,000), my income grows meaningfully each year, and I probably am out of the office for about 2 months in total each year. It doesn't get any better. Oh, and I have company-funded pension and 401(k) plans. It's a phenomenal long-term opportunity to start a business without any money out of pocket and with very little downside risk.

    Show More

    Cons

    Must be ok with meaningfully delayed gratification. Must be a self-starter. This career isn't for most people because it's hard. Not intellectually, but rather it requires significant drive and someone that's willing to work for a long time to actually build something (ie a business) as opposed to someone that just wants to show up, work hard, and get paid (like in a normal job) but without any meaningful... long-term wealth or income earning potential. ** This is not a good fit for most people - they simply don't have the drive or tenacity - but for the right person looking to build an incredible business and lead an incredible life it's a 10/10 **

    Show More
    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-16
  4. "Chief of Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The office in La Jolla has a great training program. They pay for all of your licensing, and help you develop a marketing plan before you get started. The mentorship and business coaching they provide is very hands on and there are always people available to help. They also provide you with an administrative support team when you get started that helps do the back end work. There is unlimited income potential, great... benefits, and several bonus programs in place.

    Show More

    Cons

    need to be good at time management and delegating

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-16
  5. "Great place to learn business development skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learn sales, business development, insurance & investment planning.

    Cons

    Compensation is commission only, no base salary

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-15
  6. "Great company with a fun work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual full-time

    Pros

    good management, great people, fun job atmosphere

    Cons

    iffy pay, good company though

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-14
  7. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time

    Pros

    amazing work place very friendly

    Cons

    no base pay all comission

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-10
  8. "Northwestern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Representative 

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual part-time

    Pros

    Great culture love everyone here.

    Cons

    Making cold calls sucks but have to do it to make it

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-09
  9. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team, work environment and training.

    Cons

    dont have any cons that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-09
  10. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great retirement plan including pension. Good Health benefits. Group Disability coverage. Very customizable coverages. No Micromanaging. Set own schedule and control your income.

    Cons

    Commission based. Must stay focused and work hard in beginning to build your practice.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-10
Found 3552 reviews