Northwestern Mutual Reviews | Glassdoor

Northwestern Mutual Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The office in La Jolla has a great training program. They pay for all of your licensing, and help you develop a marketing plan before you get started. The mentorship and business coaching they provide is very hands on and there are always people available to help. They also provide you with an administrative support team when you get started that helps do the back end work. There is a weekly bonus program in place... to help you when you get started- this is new and awesome! There is unlimited income potential, great benefits, and several bonus programs in place.

    Show More

    Cons

    need to be good at time management and delegating

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-16
  2. "Building a business where you can do well doing good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The reality is that most people very much need some help managing their finances - people are simply busy and it is easy for years to go by before folks make meaningful change in their habits. -The business/career allows you to make intimate and meaningful impact in the lives of clients -The schedule is flexible and allows time with family when and where you need it/want it -The work environment is... team-oriented despite everyone having individual goals -You work with some seriously talented planners that help guide and mentor you -Your personal familiarity with complex, long-term finance will grow -Awesome culture around continued development and learning, even "relentless" in this area sometimes -Your personality and your individuality can be your best business asset in this role - I have seen many advisors that very strategically choose a market that fits who they are and who they want to work with -The people you work with are great, seriously nice and good-hearted people interested in helping one another -The product suite and tools to use within planning are second to none

    Show More

    Cons

    Building a business is hard but rewarding work. You can expect days where your business does not perform as expected - but having experience with business-building, I can attest to this being true of building a business regardless. You are constantly identifying problems and addressing the underlying operational issues - it is actually the fun part for a true business owner! You do have to take some... inter-personal risk in this job. There is no avoiding that sometimes people will and do say "no," but literally every person who has ever started a new business and wanted to build a customer base has heard the word no a lot.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to reinforce the positive and supportive culture - it makes all of the difference in the world to work with advisors you can so quickly and easily respect.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-16
  3. "Great place to learn business development skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learn sales, business development, insurance & investment planning.

    Cons

    Compensation is commission only, no base salary

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-15
  4. "Great company with a fun work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual full-time

    Pros

    good management, great people, fun job atmosphere

    Cons

    iffy pay, good company though

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-14
  5. "Marketing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edina, MN

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My parking was paid for by my advisor.

    Cons

    Long hours if your a salaried employee. Job performance reviews never completed.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Review of job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for Northwestern Mutual is great. They have a lot of training and really guide you to be successful. I found that everyone is helpful and that you learn a lot as your career goes on.

    Cons

    If you want a steady salary, this is not the job for you. I don't know what other branches offer, but this job is strickly commission. I personally like it because it means there is no cap to what you make. So, it is really up to you how much you're going to make.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-06
  7. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time

    Pros

    amazing work place very friendly

    Cons

    no base pay all comission

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Representative in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was a good learning experience for a professional career. i did it my sophmore year of college and did learn a lot.

    Cons

    It was pretty much calling my parents friends and my older friends to ask if they wanted insurance. I had to get certified to sell and they only payed a $100 weekly stipend, because it was supposed to be commission based. As a college kid it was really difficult to be able to schedule a meeting with your parents friends and ask them for life insurance something they probably already have.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe increase the stipends for the interns each week if they meet a call quota because some people would call frequently and just not end up with the oppurtunities that others did despite their effort.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-23
  9. "Northwestern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Representative 

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual part-time

    Pros

    Great culture love everyone here.

    Cons

    Making cold calls sucks but have to do it to make it

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-09
  10. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team, work environment and training.

    Cons

    dont have any cons that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-10-09
Found 3588 reviews