Northwestern Mutual Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Northwestern Mutual Sales Representative Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
9%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
  1. "One of a kind sales experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Field Sales Representative in Delran, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The sales and customer service experience with NML is priceless. I had to leave this company for personal reasons but to this day - 15 years later I still use the same sales and customer service skills. Working at NML is one of the best career decisions I ever made.

    Cons

    This is more of a recommendation for new agents starting out of college. You are self employed as an agent in this business. We all know college students are broke upon graduation, so it may not be a bad idea to get a part time in the evening only or weekends till cash flow builds up

    Northwestern Mutual2017-07-09
  2. "ewrter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Financial Sales Representative 

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual

    Pros

    hard working people, young and motivated

    Cons

    program a mess, no real structure, you fiind them clients

    Northwestern Mutual2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Network and phone call"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Skokie, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being able to set your own schedule

    Cons

    -eat what you kill -they turn out new reps to get their big clients and kill them off -pay inconsistent

    Northwestern Mutual2019-07-30
  4. "Great Company, great office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Farmington, UT

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Supportive branch manager -Great co-workers -Awesome Products -Solid Training

    Cons

    -Tough Product to sell.

    Advice to Management

    I have none. This office and Mike as a manager were amazing to work for. The training is awesome as well, and before you get to the end of it you will know if this career is for you. It just wasn’t for me.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-06-24
  5. "You are only as good as you sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, great atmosphere, positive work environment

    Cons

    As soon as you stop making sales, they cut you loose. Very different from the "support" they offer.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-01-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None. They took all my leads and kept them for themselves.

    Cons

    It's a cult. They want you to sell as much as you can, knowing that only 5 percent will make it in the business. Then, they keep the accounts and make you pay back your commission. It's a scheme.

    Northwestern Mutual2019-01-31
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to mention

    Cons

    Don't waiste your time at Nwm

    Advice to Management

    None

    Northwestern Mutual2017-08-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual

    Pros

    Excellent Sales Experience (and passed certification exam)

    Cons

    Commission based pay, must use my contacts (family/friends)

    Northwestern Mutual2016-08-12
  9. "Sales Representative Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Sales Representative Intern in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwestern Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office environment. It seems like everyone really wanted to be there and wanted to help each other succeed. Good amount of training. Free coffee all day everyday.

    Cons

    Cold calls. Be prepared to sell to friends and family. That is the only place you are going to get your referrals from. The first day that we went to our cubicals we were told to start calling. The room was really loud and it was hard to hear clients. I was not sure how many calls to make so I made 7. I felt that was a good amount for a half day. When we talked about it the next day to our supervisor he just... laughed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It would be a good idea to have your full time reps go out of their way to introduce themselves to new people and take an active role in getting them started.

    Northwestern Mutual2016-08-10
  10. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in West Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northwestern Mutual

    Pros

    Flexibility, career development, large earning potential, bonuses

    Cons

    Commission only, no leads , outside sales

    Advice to Management

    Base salary

    Northwestern Mutual2016-08-09
Found 26 reviews