Norton Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Norton Healthcare Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 230 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Russell F. Cox
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The whole time I was there, there was also an employee who created a hostile work environment with every employee in my dept(in 6 reviews)

  • "No cons evident from my experience(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Medical oncology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Norton Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    medical expertise and good employees care

    Cons

    Strict with management and vacation time

    Norton Healthcare2019-05-25
  2. "They care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Receptionist 

      I worked at Norton Healthcare full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Norton truly cares about their employees and offers a lot of opportunity for improvement.

      Cons

      Scrubs/uniforms can be expensive to purchase

      Norton Healthcare2019-06-05
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Norton Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Reasonable pay Great benefits Community involvement

      Cons

      Work/Life balance can be challenging

      Norton Healthcare2019-05-31
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anesthesia Technician in Louisville, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Norton Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      For the most part Norton Healthcare is a wonderful place to work. Many opportunities to move up within the company if you desire.

      Cons

      Staff who choose not to move up are sometimes treated like the "hired" help by staff. The market adjustments seem to be given out unfairly. The RN's seem to get them more often then the rest of the staff, in 16 years I have received 1 market adjustment.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your staff. Make sure units are staffed and make sure employees receive breaks and lunches as required by law.

      Norton Healthcare2019-05-05
    • "Great work place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Norton Healthcare full-time

      Pros

      Great work environment all around

      Cons

      You use your vacation tome for holidays

      Norton Healthcare2019-05-16
    • "My experience with Norton Healthcare has been a positive one. I enjoy working for this large healthcare company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Norton Healthcare

        Pros

        Benefits, competitive pay, employee support, learning opportunities

        Cons

        The ever changing nature of the business of healthcare

        Advice to Management

        The corporate decision makers need to go to facilities and see how their changes affect the day to day operations of their staff

        Norton Healthcare2019-04-26
      • "Great hospitals"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Louisville, KY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Norton Healthcare full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good leadership and service to the community.

        Cons

        Some units can have a toxic culture.

        Norton Healthcare2019-04-06
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician 

        I worked at Norton Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Takes care of their employees and great benefits

        Cons

        If understaffed, may have to work extra or mandatory overtime

        Norton Healthcare2019-04-01
      • "Diverse, Accomodating Employer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - EMT-B in Louisville, KY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Norton Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Training, Diversity, Flexibility, Constructive Performance Feedback

        Cons

        Management quick to promote without in house experience on specific floor, etc.

        Norton Healthcare2019-03-20
      • "Blatant discrimination"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Norton Healthcare full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Independent working. Travel reimbursement not much.

        Cons

        Only need a black nurse to accommodate a black doctor. Only two blacks in their team.

        Norton Healthcare2019-04-05
      Found 230 reviews