NortonLifeLock "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

NortonLifeLock Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 9 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
NortonLifeLock CEO Vincent Pilette
Vincent Pilette
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great pay, great work/life balance and ingenuity is fostered."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Heathrow, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NortonLifeLock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, though this may not be the case for all. Ability to work from home, though this also may not be the case for all. Innovation and collaboration is fostered, as well as open communication with management.

    Cons

    Upper management consistently fails to make effective or timely decisions. Individuals that are not pulling their weight are allowed to continue with no consequence.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the real issues and stop "fixing" things until they are broken. The most blatant and obvious issues are never addressed, and the most insignificant items are what are changed.

    NortonLifeLock2014-01-21
  2. "Directionless and don't care about the individual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager in Draper, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NortonLifeLock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay can be decent but it depends on the day. This fluctuates for the same job quite a bit. Since the acquisition of Blue Coat they now have the best comprehensive vision of cyber security (on prem and cloud) with the best secure web gateway in the business (ProxySG). Product portfolio includes SWG, Virus and malware scanning, central management, SSL visibility, sandboxing, web isolation, content filtering and cloud... offerings such as web security services and CASB.

    Show More

    Cons

    Symantec struggles with direction and execution of their vision. Direction from the top down continually changes. It seems they just can't figure out what to do next and jump from program to program experiencing one failure after another. They are very numbers and money oriented and the customer experience suffers because of it. Upper management makes uninformed decisions behind closed doors and then pushes poorly... thought out programs down the line for execution and are not open to others opinions no matter how experienced those opinions might be. Huge number of layoffs in the past few years that creates a culture of insecurity. It's been quite a roller coaster ride. Frustrating and you are left knowing that Symantec doesn't really care about the individual. The workforce is becoming somewhat watered down, brain drain due to highly skilled and experienced engineers leaving a company. Engineers are commonly overwhelmed and work/life balance is a real challenge at Symantec.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your people! Invest in keeping top talent. Seek the advice and suggestions of experienced engineers in the field that understand the nuts and bolts of premium customer support for their products before making process and program changes. Break away from the one size fits all approach to premium support and embrace diversity of customer and product in order to provide real and valuable support services to... our customers. Data can help drive program direction but understand what data to use when making decisions about utilization and value of the service. Case counts are not the measure of a premium support experience.

    Show More
    NortonLifeLock2019-11-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with troubled leadersip"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NortonLifeLock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co workers and lower to mid management has been great Allows you to take risks Has been very supportive

    Cons

    Upper management unstable Poor communication on strategy

    NortonLifeLock2019-10-12
  4. "Sunken ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Business Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NortonLifeLock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sadly there no longer are none. The previous pro were Good benefits, flexibility and good work culture.

    Cons

    Poor upper management and leadership.

    Advice to Management

    N/a the damage has been done

    NortonLifeLock2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Symantec going through major changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NortonLifeLock full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great cultural and diverse environment to work.

    Cons

    Executives and upper management made a mess. Currently undergoing through be acquired, which means lots of RIF coming.

    Advice to Management

    no comment.

    NortonLifeLock2019-09-24
  6. "too much instability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Culver City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NortonLifeLock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Smart people - Challenging work

    Cons

    - No clear direction from the upper management

    NortonLifeLock2019-09-04
  7. "Symantec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Technical Writer 

    I have been working at NortonLifeLock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good products and tools to work with.

    Cons

    Upper management failing to do its job

    NortonLifeLock2019-07-25
  8. "Lots of Perks, Which Team you work for is Important"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NortonLifeLock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with smart and competent coworkers

    Cons

    The team I was assigned to lost executive backing after upper management changes. This removed all direction and purpose from the team. RSUs are golden handcuffs. Can make it harder to leave

    NortonLifeLock2019-06-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Pre-Sales Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Sales Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NortonLifeLock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved my customers, Loved the fp;ks I worked with.

    Cons

    Upper management is a revolving door.

    Advice to Management

    Massive layoffs because a new CEO comes in are ridiculous but if they are necessary perhaps they could be carried out with a little more panache. Having my boss's boss (whom I had only ever fleetingly met once) call me on a Friday afternoon while customer is sitting alongside me as I am mod-install of a PoC when I already have plane tickets in-hand for next week's sales kickoff in Vegas is not cool. It's... humiliating, embarrassing, and unprofessional. Especially when you consider it was I, along with my AE who brought in the largest-ever (USD $M) deal of the products we were selling. Not cool.

    Show More
    NortonLifeLock2018-12-31
  10. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NortonLifeLock full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, hands-off management. Employees regularly socialize outside of work. Risk-taking is encouraged and management recognizes the often stressful nature of dealing with customers.

    Cons

    You sometimes hear big news from CNBC or The Motley Fool before you hear it from upper management. Draper office is inaccessible by public transportation.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    NortonLifeLock2018-12-07
Found 121 reviews