Norwegian Cruise Line Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Norwegian Cruise Line President and CEO Harry Sommer
Harry Sommer
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great opportunity to travel the world and save money(in 35 reviews)

  • "Travel and disccounts for some cruises for your family(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours of work and restricted rules(in 75 reviews)

  • "If you've worked on a ship before, then you understand the "con" of most crew cabins(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free rent travel free food benefits

    Cons

    Far from home fro months at a time

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-03-29
  2. "Great if you love cruises"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cruise Specialist in Clearwater, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working for NCL is great if you love cruises and know a lot about cruise ships and their amenities. There are a wide variety of benefits available to you, if you need them, however, they can be a bit expensive, especially with the low wages. Great cruise benefits if you have the time off and can find the availability.

    Cons

    Low pay rate. My last 2 payroll checks have been late by at least 1-3 days. Benefits are mostly higher cost than other employers of this size. Our CEO is the highest paid of cruise line CEO's, however, instead of taking a pay cut, they decided to furlough hundreds of workers. Management is never on the same page and the right hand has no idea what the left hand is doing. Supervisors tell a LOT of lies. When I was hired, I was told that there would be plenty of opportunities for advancement, however, it is now widely known that most of the positions are available are only if you work in the Miami or Mesa offices. It is getting harder and harder to be promoted if you work from home. Before Covid, management fired several excellent supervisors, but kept other supervisors who didn't have nearly the knowledge of the ones let go. Earned incentive payments are also often delayed with many excuses, just like the payroll checks.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-06-01
  3. "Not bad at all"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cruise Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They give bonuses when the company is doing well.

    Cons

    You have to bid on a schedule every few months.

    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-04-18
  4. "Film, edit on the ships"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broadcast Technician in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Travel and disccounts for some cruises for your family when you get a manager position you do your own evaluation

    Cons

    low income long hours of work pretty poor communication with the shoreside staff

    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-04-21
  5. "You are nothing but a number"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make lump sum money because you can’t go anywhere.

    Cons

    You will work 16-17 hours a day 7 days a week for 5 months, and get you hours cut so it looks like you didn’t I worked on the Pride of America, which is the US Flagged ship. Management in the Bar Dept is pitiful. They also break liquor laws by marrying bottles with liquor that is cheaper or a different brand. Pest control issues at outside bars get ignored. They didn’t even know my name until the 4th month I was there. You are constantly getting threatened with warnings and termination, and they will gladly leave you in the side of the road. Toxic working environment.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-05-08
  6. "Great job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Vacation Planner in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management, fair pay and stuff

    Cons

    It can be very seasonal

    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-03-04
  7. "Corporate Company Culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Experience working at such a large organization

    Cons

    Still runs like a sole proprietorship while being a very corporate company. Flexibility across the org varies, but isn't very welcoming to the new work from home trend and another benefit trends.

    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-03-16
  8. "Fun but hard"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entertainment Technician 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    travel the world, make alot of friends, good opportunity to save

    Cons

    upper management and shoreside forget what its like to work "in the trenches" and the employees suffer for it

    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-03-12
  9. "Stressful Work Environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Utility Hotel in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is pretty good. lots of overtime and all expenses are covered while working on the ship. Get to travel the islands and pretty good discounts on cruises. Standard Health benefits

    Cons

    Incredibly stressful work environement. Poor leadership and corporate culture. Lots of drama below deck

    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-03-03
  10. "Good company who grows up year by year"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line

    Pros

    Good salary, good team work

    Cons

    Guest with different requests and asking to have all attention on them

    Norwegian Cruise Line2020-02-13
Found 496 reviews