Not Your Average Joes Reviews | Glassdoor

Not Your Average Joes Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Silverstein
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good food keeps guests coming back(in 12 reviews)

  • "free food good people nice service(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours and holidays are usually required to work(in 4 reviews)

  • "Cutting procedure is just terrible, and so is side work(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Bartender in Methuen, MA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great company ethic, great interaction with guests.

      Cons

      Impossible to get scheduled enough hours to get benefits

      Not Your Average Joes2018-04-16
    • "Bad work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time

      Pros

      - Restaurant has good food, so easy to recommend tp customers -Training period for all new hires

      Cons

      - Management doesn't have it together... - miscommunication between management - Distrust between front of the house and back of the house - Waiters rude to hosts/hostesses

      Not Your Average Joes2019-02-18
    • "Decent serving job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Decent hours not open too late

      Cons

      Lots of drama amongst staff and management

      Not Your Average Joes2019-02-04
    • "Potential to be better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Server in Silver Spring, MD

        I have been working at Not Your Average Joes full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I have been working with the company for a few months now and have created lasting bonds with the staff. The discount provided to employees is a great plus and the location is easy to access.

        Cons

        The restaurant in Silver Spring could operate better. Management lacks communication both with employees and within themselves. Lack of communication creates many problems and disagreements. Often times, some employees are seen doing more work to ensure a positive working environment while others stand around on their phones or wasting time. This is a quick fix but nothing has been done about it. When concerns are brought...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        I believe the Silver Spring location has potential to provide long lasting employees and lessen the turnover rate if management follows through with their promises, if communication increases, and if with less leniency and favoritism towards employees.

        Not Your Average Joes2019-02-05
      • Helpful (2)

        "Read this review before applying. Seriously."

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Cook in Needham, MA
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Good food. Supportive co-workers. Started off not knowing anything about working in a kitchen but the BOH management pulled me up and supported me for years and I became one of the best. Some of the chefs I worked with taught me some great life lessons that I'll never forget.

          Cons

          I worked at Joe's for 5 years. The menu was too large for our tiny kitchen. Old equipment was constantly causing us problems. Every night there was a new (mostly metaphorical) fire to put out and we received no support from corporate. Management was a revolving door creating major instability in the work culture, people started getting lazy and work quality dropped. A very inappropriate and PDA relationship between...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Advice to corporate: The folks with their boots on the ground are human, not robots. They require that complaints be taken seriously and dealt with. If you ignore them long enough people will leave and it can cost you stability. Couple that with aging infrastructure and it's a recipe for disaster.

          Not Your Average Joes2019-01-16
        • "Gotta work hard"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time

          Pros

          People there care, nice bunch of people, helps you out. Trains you fast. Easy work

          Cons

          Fast paced work, little room for being idle, loud, limited move to room while at some machines, always moving.

          Advice to Management

          Could improve break times, safety implementation.

          Not Your Average Joes2018-12-14
        • "Server"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time

          Pros

          Good coworkers and good food

          Cons

          Bad management because they are overworked

          Advice to Management

          Pay attention to employees needs

          Not Your Average Joes2018-12-06
        • "Just...average"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Server 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Not Your Average Joes part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Its a typical restaurant server job, there isn't really anything special about it You do not need a lot of server experience to get hired and the training process is easy

          Cons

          Managers do not have a lot of experience and are inconsistent with their managing style

          Advice to Management

          Better training for managers so that rules are consistent

          Not Your Average Joes2018-11-09
        • "General Manager"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Burlington, MA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          The food quality is awesome and far better than fine dining

          Cons

          Servers rule the place. Corporate wont allow you to discipline. Corporate allows them to be disrespectful with no consequences

          Advice to Management

          If you take the job, you will be doing every staff’s job and be underpaid

          Not Your Average Joes2018-10-16
        • "Management Issues"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Server in Methuen, MA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          The team was (for the most part) energetic and worked together. The money staggered, some days (holidays included) I'd walk out with great money, others I'd leave a double with only a little to dry my tears.

          Cons

          There was major management turnover. Depending on who was there for that month, things could be hectic. Kitchen staff and management could be really disrespectful to servers when the fault came from a kitchen error. Tip sharing didn't consider bad service or unused help. I would bus my own tables and order nothing from the bar, but still would have to carve large percentages of what I made out to bartenders (who make...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Listen more to your servers. The people I worked with were more than willing to own up to their mistakes. Not taking their sides during a blow out over a improperly prepared order really kills trust for you. Also, try to find more management with longevity in their futures.

          Not Your Average Joes2018-07-03
        Found 89 reviews