Not Your Average Joes Reviews | Glassdoor

Not Your Average Joes Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Silverstein
41 Ratings
  1. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes

    Pros

    Good customers and atmosphere

    Cons

    High turn over rate, other workers weren’t friendly. Had to over dress for the job/was sent home for my outfit for not being business enough

    Not Your Average Joes2018-06-09
  2. "Great company that cares about their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Server 

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling, management seemed to have a lot of communication with the higher ups, always felt involved in the growth of the company.

      Cons

      Management pushed gift card sales a little too hard...

      Not Your Average Joes2018-05-18
    • "Waitress"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes

      Pros

      The staff that worked there was great.

      Cons

      You sometimes had to work a lot of hours

      Not Your Average Joes2018-05-12
    • "General Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Manager in Milton, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      very object company, get results and your in great shape

      Cons

      sometimes unrealistic expectations. asked to do to much

      Advice to Management

      spend more time on development of people

      Not Your Average Joes2018-05-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Management Needs Work - Peabody"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Peabody, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good food keeps guests coming back

      Cons

      Management attitude Staff attitude Miserable place to work Too much drama

      Advice to Management

      Managers need to not feed into the drama among the staffs and instead nip it in the bud. By feeding into it you are a bigger problem than the staff itself. Staff needs to feel comfortable coming to you about problems of any sort, not feel like you are a part of it. Work on being more human, too.

      Not Your Average Joes2018-03-20
    • "Quick money, decent management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Acton, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Management that actually cares about the food they sell, shifts are usually short and profitable

      Cons

      Still have corporate vibe (pushing customer surveys, strict dress code)

      Not Your Average Joes2018-02-12
    • "great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Wine Associate in Reston, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Not Your Average Joes full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Excellent management, great team, positive upbeat enviorment.

      Cons

      i o not have any cons.

      Not Your Average Joes2018-01-29
    • "server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time

        Pros

        meeting new people, new friends

        Cons

        terrible management, hard core corporate

        Not Your Average Joes2018-02-08
      • "Headache"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time

        Pros

        Always busy, breaks were short

        Cons

        Always busy. Cheap tippers, lots of sidework

        Not Your Average Joes2018-02-06
      • "Bartender benefits"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bartender in Silver Spring, MD
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        I actually enjoy my job at Not Your Average Joe’s. Every store should feel the same. I can only attest to my location but the entire time I have worked for this company, I do feel that the management team has always worked with me and my second job.

        Cons

        Sometimes we overstaff on certain nights but what restaurant doesn’t?

        Advice to Management

        Smaller strong teams work better than larger, weaker, teams.

        Not Your Average Joes2017-12-15
      Found 89 reviews