Not Your Average Joes Reviews | Glassdoor

Not Your Average Joes Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Silverstein
41 Ratings
  1. "Ugh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I guess they have good expensive health insurance

    Cons

    If you like to be bothered with emails at all hours of the day, and catering the whole restaurant for a single guest then this is the place for you

    Advice to Management

    Let people have their days off and not bother them with emails about stupid things.

    Not Your Average Joes2017-05-18
  2. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Server in Ardmore, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sometimes you get free food, and the staff is really awesome

    Cons

    The managers are terrible. They do not think of you as a human whatsoever. When going out of your way for them they completely ignore you. They are unprofessional, rude people and the restaurant would do a lot better if they just got rid of them. They also do not work with your schedule whatsoever and have no empathy for their workers.

    Advice to Management

    Suck less

    Not Your Average Joes2017-05-23
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Takeout 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes

    Pros

    Raises were given often (at least at my location), recognized by management for working hard often and the people I worked with were great and helpful!

    Cons

    Hours could sometimes be inconsistent but for the most part was usually between 35-40 hours for full time

    Advice to Management

    You guys are all great

    Not Your Average Joes2017-04-16
  4. "Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host in Dartmouth, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to work with solid management team. The cooks are rock solid. Customers are loyal to the brand.

    Cons

    Shifts are short; so in and out when working a double.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work on the menu and promotions. Tear down the Baker's Books building for parking and enlarge the current building to make it more like the new format NYAJoes layout.

    Not Your Average Joes2017-03-24
  5. "Not Your Average Joe's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medford, MA

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes for less than a year

      Pros

      Very team oriented! Sense of unity

      Cons

      Compensation should reflect the hard work put in.

      Not Your Average Joes2017-01-19
    • "Excellent Company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great culture, amazing food, always busy, receptive feedback from management. flexible with hours and always looking to promote from within.

      Cons

      Still growing into a larger company, wish it could stay a little secret to us foodies forever.

      Advice to Management

      Thank you for the opportunity to work here during college. It will always be one of my favorite places to eat.

      Not Your Average Joes2016-12-15
    • "Joe - Busser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Not Your Average Joes

      Pros

      Amazing community. Great money and awesome management.

      Cons

      Slow days can be pretty boring when it comes to trying to find something to do, but when you have a work ethic like mine you can ALWAYS find something to do.

      Advice to Management

      change your scheduling system. planning out MY schedule 3 weeks in advance as a 21 year old college student is very VERY difficult if not impossible.

      Not Your Average Joes2016-09-23
    • "summer employment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        friendly staff, great customers, excellent for people looking to begin serving, ceo and higher ups outside the restaurant are great

        Cons

        management plays favorites, hired as part time but was scheduled way over full time

        Advice to Management

        include team in future decisions, stop playing favorites

        Not Your Average Joes2016-08-01
      • Helpful (2)

        "I had a good 10 years!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Bar Trainer - Bartender in Arlington, MA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes for more than 10 years

        Pros

        I was a bartender/bar store trainer there for 10 years in the Arlington location. Overall it was a great experience.

        Cons

        There was alot of management turnover. Many employees had drug and alcohol issues and they spawned negativity and insanity. There specialty drink menu is not realistic in a busy environment. Typical of corporate to create drinks that would take more then there required 2 minute ticket time.

        Advice to Management

        Reach out to loyal employees and consider promoting them within your corporate organization.

        Not Your Average Joes2016-07-02
      • "Room to grow"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bartender 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Small enough to get to know executive leadership on a first-name basis, big enough to grow and develop.

        Cons

        Corporate folks occasionally make a decision that shows they don't really know what being one of the "foot soldiers" is like.

        Not Your Average Joes2016-06-30
      Found 89 reviews