Not Your Average Joes Reviews | Glassdoor

Not Your Average Joes Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Silverstein
41 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Server in Methuen, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It is fairly easy to have shifts covered when you need to since they are typically overstaffed and only give servers three table sections. If you have a busy schedule and only want to work a few days a week then it is perfect.

      Cons

      Management favors servers who have worked at the restaurant for a long time and gives them all the hours/good sections and flexibility they want. They take advantage of new servers saying they will make a ton of money when in reality they will not.

      Advice to Management

      Management needs improvement.

      Not Your Average Joes2016-07-11
    • "host"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Not Your Average Joes part-time

        Pros

        free kids menu food.

        Cons

        hours could vary from time to time

        Not Your Average Joes2016-06-23
      • "Decent enough place for the winter. Summer workers beware."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server in Warwick, RI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Not Your Average Joes

        Pros

        - Opportunity for LOTS of hours. - Place is very busy in the winter season. - Casual clientele, low-stress environment. - Good money for the winter season and weekends. You're not held on too high of a standard so there is a lot of opportunity to learn the ropes here. The clientele is very casual so you can really bring your personality to your tables. Check averages have the potential to get very high during...

        Show More

        Cons

        - Summer is horrid for business unless you work the patio every day. - Hours are terribly long (you either get over scheduled or under scheduled) - Breaks are considered a "luxury." May the gods help you to ever get one. - Eating is also a luxury since you'll get in trouble for it when your starving on a double with no break. - Cutting procedure is just terrible, and so is side work. You're here much longer than...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Please take advice from your staff. I understand your hands are tied when it comes to certain issues but here's my onion: #1 Most people don't want to be there. Please just cut them early and let others make money. There is no incentive to closing when "everyone" else closes with you. #2 Please give people breaks. I wouldn't be surprised if you started getting calls and investigations from the department. There...

        Show More
        Not Your Average Joes2016-06-25
      • Helpful (1)

        "Managers play favorites"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server in Bethesda, MD

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes

        Pros

        Great atmosphere and great pay. Since most of the employees are millennials making friends and connecting is easy. Lunch hour provides a free meal, although since the restaurant's food was outside my diet, I didn't take advantage of it. Scheduling was pretty flexible at my location.

        Cons

        The managers clearly have favorites and tend to enforce policies inconsistently. This often creates tension as waiters who receive favorable treatment behave as though they're above everyone else and begin demanding accountability when they have no authority to do so. There is also a problem communicating important information which, unless you fall into the favorites category, is withheld from you unless you ask.

        Advice to Management

        Treat everyone the same and do not create artificial hierarchies. Follow the principles of the company by being honest and transparent with all employees.

        Not Your Average Joes2016-07-05
      • Helpful (1)

        "Hostess, Server, Busser, Jo To-Go"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time

        Pros

        Great connection between corporate and each location. Community building softball competitions. Well trained management. Sponsors local teams. Does not discriminate.

        Cons

        General complaints about the restaurant industry as a whole, not necessarily about Joes specifically.

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing community building activities and giving awards to the most dedicated workers. It really makes a difference.

        Not Your Average Joes2016-04-13
      • "Amazing company!!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes

        Pros

        You learn how to give the best customer service Managers are always so helpful

        Cons

        Everything must go through corporate

        Not Your Average Joes2016-04-14
      • Helpful (3)

        "former employee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time

        Pros

        good co-workers to work with

        Cons

        1.management didn't trust a word that came out of your mouth 2. the managers use employees to get ahead in the business 3. they don't train as much 4. some managers lie on you 5. the lay off people on their scheduling website 6. they never schedule like they said they will 7. they give you two options either you take the schedule they gave you or you get let go

        Advice to Management

        quit lying tell the truth the favoritism needs to stop actually listen to both sides of the story before writing people up

        Not Your Average Joes2016-04-08
      • "Great atmosphere"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Waitress in Ardmore, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Not Your Average Joes part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        -Dedicated management -Clear company wide values -Good training program

        Cons

        -Management picked favorites -Expectations for wait staff is always high, even when tips are very low-- can be discouraging at times.

        Advice to Management

        Maintain unbiased attitude towards employees, balance money making opportunities for all employees and not just favorites.

        Not Your Average Joes2016-03-25
      • "Waiter"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes

        Pros

        Good food, pretty cool concept. Gave me an opportunity when I had a little experience. extra words

        Cons

        Lots of change in management. Pressure from corporate. Management played favorites with certain people in staff.

        Not Your Average Joes2016-04-06
      • Helpful (1)

        "Waitress"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server in Methuen, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great food and great kitchen staff. After working at other restaurants I enjoyed the earlier closing time.

        Cons

        Hostesses did not keep track of rotation, they forced you to tip out the bar even if the bar didn't do any thing for you. After my two week notice was up they still kept putting me on the schedule. Way too heavily influenced by surveys. The fact that they would NOT allow you to wear appropriate footwear was ridiculous. At first I was excited to wear my brightly colored converse but after working a double and spending...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Enough with the favoritism and if someone has questions it doesn't make them an unenthusiastic server it just means they want to get it right the first time.

        Not Your Average Joes2016-04-06
      Found 89 reviews