Not Your Average Joes Server Reviews | Glassdoor

Not Your Average Joes Server Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Silverstein
11 Ratings
  1. "My Experience as a Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Glen Mills, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredible management, reasonable scheduling, enjoyable

    Cons

    Work on holidays, often had to work doubles

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Not Your Average Joes2017-10-23
  2. "Decent serving job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent hours not open too late

    Cons

    Lots of drama amongst staff and management

    Not Your Average Joes2019-02-04
  3. "Potential to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Server in Silver Spring, MD

      I have been working at Not Your Average Joes full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I have been working with the company for a few months now and have created lasting bonds with the staff. The discount provided to employees is a great plus and the location is easy to access.

      Cons

      The restaurant in Silver Spring could operate better. Management lacks communication both with employees and within themselves. Lack of communication creates many problems and disagreements. Often times, some employees are seen doing more work to ensure a positive working environment while others stand around on their phones or wasting time. This is a quick fix but nothing has been done about it. When concerns are brought...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I believe the Silver Spring location has potential to provide long lasting employees and lessen the turnover rate if management follows through with their promises, if communication increases, and if with less leniency and favoritism towards employees.

      Not Your Average Joes2019-02-05
    • "Just...average"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Not Your Average Joes part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Its a typical restaurant server job, there isn't really anything special about it You do not need a lot of server experience to get hired and the training process is easy

      Cons

      Managers do not have a lot of experience and are inconsistent with their managing style

      Advice to Management

      Better training for managers so that rules are consistent

      Not Your Average Joes2018-11-09
    • "Management Issues"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Methuen, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The team was (for the most part) energetic and worked together. The money staggered, some days (holidays included) I'd walk out with great money, others I'd leave a double with only a little to dry my tears.

      Cons

      There was major management turnover. Depending on who was there for that month, things could be hectic. Kitchen staff and management could be really disrespectful to servers when the fault came from a kitchen error. Tip sharing didn't consider bad service or unused help. I would bus my own tables and order nothing from the bar, but still would have to carve large percentages of what I made out to bartenders (who make...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Listen more to your servers. The people I worked with were more than willing to own up to their mistakes. Not taking their sides during a blow out over a improperly prepared order really kills trust for you. Also, try to find more management with longevity in their futures.

      Not Your Average Joes2018-07-03
    • "Great company that cares about their employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Server 

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible scheduling, management seemed to have a lot of communication with the higher ups, always felt involved in the growth of the company.

        Cons

        Management pushed gift card sales a little too hard...

        Not Your Average Joes2018-05-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "Management Needs Work - Peabody"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server in Peabody, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good food keeps guests coming back

        Cons

        Management attitude Staff attitude Miserable place to work Too much drama

        Advice to Management

        Managers need to not feed into the drama among the staffs and instead nip it in the bud. By feeding into it you are a bigger problem than the staff itself. Staff needs to feel comfortable coming to you about problems of any sort, not feel like you are a part of it. Work on being more human, too.

        Not Your Average Joes2018-03-20
      • "Quick money, decent management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server in Acton, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Management that actually cares about the food they sell, shifts are usually short and profitable

        Cons

        Still have corporate vibe (pushing customer surveys, strict dress code)

        Not Your Average Joes2018-02-12
      • "Server"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server in Norwell, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The people that work there! The food is awesome! Managers were very supportive of you.

        Cons

        Obsessed with surveys and reviews and your numbers and where you are performance wise. The men that own/run the company are very pretentious. You better not call out unless you're in the hospital.

        Not Your Average Joes2017-10-14
      • "server NYAJ"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Server 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          friendly coworkers, popular place where you will make decent money, food is very tasty which is a plus - there's nothing worse than serving and pushing bad food

          Cons

          no cons that I can think of, great place to work

          Not Your Average Joes2017-07-21
        Found 29 reviews