Not Your Average Joes "good food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Not Your Average Joes Employee Reviews about "good food"

Updated Feb 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Silverstein
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good food keeps guests coming back(in 12 reviews)

  • "free food good people nice service(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours and holidays are usually required to work(in 4 reviews)

  • "Cutting procedure is just terrible, and so is side work(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Bad work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time

    Pros

    - Restaurant has good food, so easy to recommend tp customers -Training period for all new hires

    Cons

    - Management doesn't have it together... - miscommunication between management - Distrust between front of the house and back of the house - Waiters rude to hosts/hostesses

    Not Your Average Joes2019-02-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Read this review before applying. Seriously."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cook in Needham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good food. Supportive co-workers. Started off not knowing anything about working in a kitchen but the BOH management pulled me up and supported me for years and I became one of the best. Some of the chefs I worked with taught me some great life lessons that I'll never forget.

    Cons

    I worked at Joe's for 5 years. The menu was too large for our tiny kitchen. Old equipment was constantly causing us problems. Every night there was a new (mostly metaphorical) fire to put out and we received no support from corporate. Management was a revolving door creating major instability in the work culture, people started getting lazy and work quality dropped. A very inappropriate and PDA relationship between...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to corporate: The folks with their boots on the ground are human, not robots. They require that complaints be taken seriously and dealt with. If you ignore them long enough people will leave and it can cost you stability. Couple that with aging infrastructure and it's a recipe for disaster.

    Not Your Average Joes2019-01-16
  3. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time

    Pros

    Good coworkers and good food

    Cons

    Bad management because they are overworked

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to employees needs

    Not Your Average Joes2018-12-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Management Needs Work - Peabody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Peabody, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food keeps guests coming back

    Cons

    Management attitude Staff attitude Miserable place to work Too much drama

    Advice to Management

    Managers need to not feed into the drama among the staffs and instead nip it in the bud. By feeding into it you are a bigger problem than the staff itself. Staff needs to feel comfortable coming to you about problems of any sort, not feel like you are a part of it. Work on being more human, too.

    Not Your Average Joes2018-03-20
  5. "Nice Enough People But Company On A Downward Spiral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time

    Pros

    They care and are passionate about making good food

    Cons

    They can't execute making good food

    Advice to Management

    Stop opening restaurants that you can not properly staff

    Not Your Average Joes2017-12-07
  6. "Waiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes

    Pros

    Good food, pretty cool concept. Gave me an opportunity when I had a little experience. extra words

    Cons

    Lots of change in management. Pressure from corporate. Management played favorites with certain people in staff.

    Not Your Average Joes2016-04-06
  7. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes

    Pros

    Good food and a nice clientele.

    Cons

    Long hours and a crazy owner.

    Advice to Management

    Be prepared to work a lot and not get a lot of "atta boy!"

    Not Your Average Joes2015-11-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Very Dissatisfied with my experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Glen Mills, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good, it is a nice store, the food is good, you get a free meal at the end of your shift

    Cons

    It is very unorganized, favoritism is used very often as if we are playing sports, there is no team work, everyone is CONSTANTLY complaining and miserable, the managers are VERY unorganized, I was not trained properly at all, I had to learn everything on my own

    Advice to Management

    Need to be more organized and communicate with each other.

    Not Your Average Joes2015-07-13
  9. "joes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Peabody, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Not Your Average Joes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great food good FOH mangers core co-workers are generally good

    Cons

    bad back of house management Long hours with no break extremely high turnover

    Not Your Average Joes2015-05-15
  10. "horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Not Your Average Joes

    Pros

    free food good people nice service

    Cons

    horrible boss needs to improve on that

    Advice to Management

    needs to step there game up

    Not Your Average Joes2015-04-17
Found 89 reviews