KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Nova Founders

Is this your company?

Nova Founders

Add a Review

Nova Founders Employee Reviews about "nova founders"

Updated Jan 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 of over 68 reviews

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Nova Founders Founding Partner Mads Faurholt-Jorgensen
Mads Faurholt-Jorgensen
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Steep learning curve, a lot of responsibilities(in 5 reviews)

  • "Very talented people they work hard(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "mads(in 3 reviews)

  • "Portfolio companies not as connected as we used to be; not all the learning is shared and some opportunities missed for collaboration(in 3 reviews)

  • Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    926

    88 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "nova founders"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Problem Solver Culture

      Jan 17, 2022 - Management Associate in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility to work with CEO's, discuss strategies, micro-strategies and execute. You have the ability to build start-ups with a very hands on approach. Your actions have a very direct impact to the growth of the company. Seeing tangible gains from actions is extremely rewarding. High energy culture. Being surrounded by hungry problem solvers is energizing.

      Cons

      Hours can be long but when you're surrounded by high energy cool individuals who are happy to work together and help out, this isn't really a con.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing people and tons of responsibility | Low pay

      Oct 21, 2021 - Intern in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mads and Stefan (the founders) are amazing and will inspire you every day to push your boundaries, and Stefan will also make you laugh once in a while with hilarious jokes - very friendly place. The management structure is very flat which means you might also get to work with these guys depending on which startup / floor you will be placed. Everything is possible here; if you have a great idea about something they are all ears. Best idea wins no matter title or experience, and same applies to responsibility - if you show that you can swim then they will probably soon send you to the Olympic Games. You will grow tons by this, and not be given this opportunity anywhere else. It's a lot more that makes this place amazing.

      Cons

      Salary is very low. Although it's fun that the startup's growing and you get to meet amazing people, it's a clear distinction between Nova's employees and the startup-recruited people. I think the "Nova culture" may disappear by this - and for many the culture means everything at this place. Hope they keep it together.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hate it or love it

      Nov 28, 2020 - Former Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely intelligent, talented and hardworking people in the Group. They will definitely teach you a thing or two about work ethic, structured problem-solving, hustling and working under pressure. Room for fun, playing football, jokes, etc. Dominated by Danes.

      Cons

      The management style is driven by fear and a narrow interpretation of what creates results. There is little diversity of thought and it’s hard for me to see how they will do anything besides copying former business models. It’s a male dominated culture which in my experience has created a unidimensional organisation unfit to challenge its own thinking. Roughly there are two kinds of people in the company: Young and starstruck boys who wants to be like Mads or Stefan or alpha males fighting to set direction. Nova is “military service” for aspirational business professionals and like the military you should do what is told, don’t think too independently and accept a poor salary.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Questionable morals though excellent exposure

      Jan 27, 2021 - Associate in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Direct contact with people who have built highly successful businesses. Teaches you a lot about what hard work is, how to build things quickly. Total responsibility for everything you do - though this also translates into all of the downside if anything goes wrong.

      Cons

      Belief that the best environment that one can have in a growing business is everyone thinking the same way; therefore, if you think like everyone (by which I mean like Mads and Stefan) you will succeed and enjoy life. If you don't, you won't be allowed the freedom and responsibility to explore. Danish spoken at all times to the exclusion of non-Danish speakers (about 3 people in the office) Do your diligence and speak to people who have worked with the business before joining to really understand how they operate. Morals can be utterly bemusing, though they suddenly make sense when you realise their key moral is to look after themselves at all times.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place

      Dec 5, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Aarhus
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues with ambitious mindset

      Cons

      None that comes to mind

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Danish Version of a Chinese Sweatshop

      Nov 26, 2020 - Content Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A genuine window into what a business run by an unashamed overt socioath might look like - very interesting

      Cons

      I just wish my friends could have seen what I saw first hand

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working at Nova Founders is like every day playing with the all-star team of Management Consulting and Banking

      Nov 26, 2018 - Junior Venture Analyst in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nova Founders Capital may very well be the best accelerator for any young talent who manage to get employed. Everyone gets the opportunity to do projects that in other companies would only come to more senior employees. With a senior staff of employees arriving at Nova from McKinsey, Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley and UBS, everyone in the room is able to learn a lot from just observing how these people work as they are more than willing to teach you their methods. The company has a fantastic culture of employees taking ownership of each of their projects as well as the company in itself. After having a successful time at Nova at a young age, your CV and reference list will equal that of no other.

      Cons

      Coming to Nova as a junior you have to be aware that Nova is both a full-time education and a full-time workplace. Therefore, when being employed by Nova, you have to be ready to work hard and long hours to achieve that invaluable learning experience you get from learning from these projects and senior employees at an early age. Some former employees have quickly realised that long hours at Nova does not equal what it does in Denmark, and that is to be respected.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good learning ground with an ambitious team

      Feb 18, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with Nova for 1.5 intense years in KL and later in HK before I decided to start my own company with some friends from back home. Overall working at Nova was an intense experience. Of course there are better and worse days, some experiences I hated, some I loved - ultimately working in a KPI driven start-up can be quite tough at times. But overall I have learned tons at my time with Nova and only today, where I am building my own company, really learned to appreciate what great school I went through with the guys from Nova. Made lot`s of friends there and am still in touch with many of them.

      Cons

      See above. Simply the hard work can be a pain sometimes. When your MD asks you to get something done over a weekend or till next morning and you know your evening is screwed. Some of those tasks come short noticed and could probably better managed. But then again, since I am building my own company, I find myself in such same situations more often than not. So maybe it`s just the nature of a start-up. But anyways, try to improve that.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great business - but not for slackers!

      Jan 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work for one of the startups from Nova and in the time since joining last year, have found the group to to be a driven and enterprising team who are open minded when it comes to what opportunities to approach and how to approach them. Its exciting to be surrounded by people who are so focused and genuinely passionate about what they do and the pace that they move at compared to many organisations, means every day is different and challenging - in a good way!

      Cons

      Don't join unless you are prepared to work hard and certainly not if you like spending more time in meetings than doing things. The expectations are high and so is the pace, but that is what makes the place so invigorating and is how we get things done. It wont be the right scene for everyone but almost everyone I have worked with here seems to be pushing a high standard and giving 110%!

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      An Ambitious Company

      Feb 9, 2016 - Marketing Manager in Kuala Lumpur
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked for one of Nova Founders portfolio companies for just over 2 years. Very few people actually work for Nova Founders, most work for portfolio companies. I have the impression the portfolio companies are quite different as it depends on the local management, but all the companies are fast pace, ambitious and hire young, well educated, driven people. A lot changed during the 2 years I was with the venture. When I joined it was an early stage start-up now the company is quite developed. Different stages of the company have diffrent pro's and con's. What I enjoyed most was the fast pace, the knowledge I gained and the amazing colleagues. There is a lot of focus on kpi's, growth and results. I personally felt this was very rewarding and it was great to see the development of the company over time.

      Cons

      I relocated to join the company and after a while I missed home. Also I personally prefer the early stage of a start-up and the venture I was with is quite established now. Some felt the company was too kpi focussed, but I have the impression it was those who didn't meet them that complained.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 54 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Nova Founders Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nova Founders? Share Your Experiences

    or