Novo Nordisk Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Novo Nordisk President & Chief Executive Officer Lars Fruergaard Jørgensen (no image)
Lars Fruergaard Jørgensen
272 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice company to work with perfect work-life balance(in 171 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, but most important of all great people to work with(in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ambitious targets affecting work life balance(in 48 reviews)

  • "becoming big pharma with some of the negatives of periodic restructuring layoffs(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Novo Nordisk full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, UHC medical, CVS pharmacy, VSP vision

    Cons

    You must be able to function independently to be successful - which is a positive for most of us.

    Novo Nordisk2020-04-30
  2. "It was good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Novo Nordisk full-time

    Pros

    Good colleagues, helpful and the management is also good

    Cons

    nothing as of I have experienced

    Novo Nordisk2020-05-07
  3. "Pros and cons"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at Novo Nordisk full-time

    Pros

    Strong science, septic work environment

    Cons

    lack of career progression opportunities

    Novo Nordisk2020-03-07
  4. "Better than most"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Novo Nordisk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and management were better than the average company

    Cons

    Over the top metrics and steady increase of admin work

    Novo Nordisk2020-02-25
  5. "Great company but even better at the non American sites"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Specialist 

    I have been working at Novo Nordisk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life personal life balance

    Cons

    Few opportunities for promotion or advancement due to small size of the site

    Novo Nordisk2020-02-17
  6. "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plainsboro, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Novo Nordisk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding company! Highly recommend, they balance work/life and try to their best to keep their employees happy.

    Cons

    No cons for the company

    Novo Nordisk2020-01-28
  7. "Great environment. Good benefits. Best 401k ever."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Novo Nordisk

    Pros

    Awesome work environment. Great people.

    Cons

    Slow and ambiguous career path in new plant.

    Continue reading
    Novo Nordisk2020-02-02
  8. "Excellent Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Novo Nordisk full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, but most important of all great people to work with. I have been to other reputable pharma companies and the general attitude of co-workers, colleagues, and senior leadership is very positive. I am glad that I was was presented the opportunity to work at Novo Nordisk!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Novo Nordisk2020-01-18
  9. "R&D Politics"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Novo Nordisk full-time

    Pros

    Nice benefits, people are generally friendly

    Cons

    Too many politics and nepotism in favor of folks with years of seniority

    Novo Nordisk2020-01-10
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Fantastic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer I in Clayton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Novo Nordisk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exceptional benefits, 401(k) matching, Christmas gifts, bonuses, engaging work, phenomenal portfolio of drugs, a very bright future outlook for the company, and wonderfully competent co-workers. There are even travel opportunities (rarely, but they happen) since it's an international company.

    Cons

    The bureaucracy of a large, highly-regulated corporation can really kill your momentum and morale, especially if you like a fast-paced environment. They recognize this is a problem and are genuinely working to remove roadblocks to creativity and productivity. Also, I am on-call 24/7/365 in this role (except for alternating weekends), and this can really get in the way when trying to live life outside of work, but it's a great incentive to put the time in while I'm at the factory to minimize the chance of something going wrong while I'm at home.

    Continue reading
    Novo Nordisk2019-11-22
Found 975 reviews