NovoEd Reviews | Glassdoor

NovoEd Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Edward Miller
5 Ratings
  1. "Generally great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NovoEd full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - lots of challenges for engineers - ownership - everyone is stakeholder - small team with lots of output

    Cons

    - doing a lot in a short period - still in start-up mode - heads down

    NovoEd2019-04-18
  2. "Great place to intern!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NovoEd for less than a year

    Pros

    -Mentorship -People -Learning opportunities -Opportunities to build relationships with other employees

    Cons

    None that I can think of...

    NovoEd2019-07-01
  3. "Kind and generous leadership, lots of autonomy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NovoEd full-time

    Pros

    Warm, generous company culture, spearheaded by the company's CTO/co-founder. Employees are given lots of autonomy, have opportunities to take on real responsibilities, and are generally treated with respect.

    Cons

    Very little commitment to professional development, which is ironic considering that this is primarily what NovoEd customers use the platform for. Salary is not generally competitive.

    Advice to Management

    Be serious about investing in your employees. Provide supportive opportunities for professional development, and make it clear that you are investing in their growth, both fiscally and in terms of training.

    NovoEd2019-05-17
  4. "Dun summer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NovoEd

    Pros

    People were very nice, and management appreciated the employees

    Cons

    Growing pains - too much work for too little people

    NovoEd2018-10-16
  5. "Wonderful place, had a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NovoEd full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great people, great culture, very collaborative and friendly * Strong product offering, team is great at problem solving and working together * Located in heart of San Francisco, beautiful office * Strong compensation, benefits, and perks * Interesting problems to solve in the corporate learning and professional education markets

    Cons

    No major cons, this is a great company and an even better team.

    NovoEd2017-10-27
  6. "Great Culture, Impactful Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern 

    I worked at NovoEd

    Pros

    As an intern, I got a lot of meaningful and impactful projects that I could choose from with the team. Lots of independence, and also support when you need it. Small enough that I could learn a lot about the EdTech and startup world and know everyone in the company. Friendly work culture, understanding people, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    As a fast-moving startup, deadlines can be important. Weren't unreasonable, but something to be aware of at any startup I feel.

    NovoEd2015-11-01
  7. "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NovoEd

    Pros

    Working at NovoEd was great. I was treated as a regular employee and worked on the product directly (wasn't just shipped off to do a side project). Learned a lot of new and cool things along the way.

    Cons

    Lack of an intern program, but that is understandable since NovoEd is a startup.

    NovoEd2015-10-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A start-up on the rise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NovoEd full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, great benefits, great projects, great location, and working here feels like being on the right side of progress in the EdTech world.

    Cons

    Wearing many hats, but that's the start-up life I guess. For some, it may be tough to handle the large responsibilities and autonomy you receive without ongoing guidance.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to seek out great business opportunities and ensure your employees stay connected as a team as the staff continues to grow in size.

    NovoEd2015-09-03
  9. "Great culture, great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NovoEd

    Pros

    I enjoy the mission, the passion, and the culture of the team. The team is very collaborative and enjoys solving challenges together. The company also takes great care of its employees. Educational technology is a very exciting industry to be in right now and I'm very excited for the new opportunities ahead.

    Cons

    Working at a startup can be challenging because of the long hours and the "all hands on deck" attitude. However this has its positives since it can provide opportunities to learn new skills or collaborate on new assignments.

    Advice to Management

    I strongly suggest we do employee performance reviews and manager effective evaluations. This would allow for greater transparency within the organization, which is needed.

    NovoEd2015-07-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Tons of Autonomy, Lots of Opportunity to Make Big Impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NovoEd full-time

    Pros

    I have worked for a few start-ups now, and I've been really impressed by the high level of autonomy given to employees at NovoEd. When you own a project, you actually own it. And it's exciting to be able to grow initiatives from idea to implementation. We are regularly encouraged to challenge the norm, and continuously innovate. What I appreciate the most is that the team is comprised of very educated-minded individuals,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Like most startups, we are pulled in many different directions by our funders, partners, and clients. Recently, we have become better (and smarter) about taking on new initiatives.

    NovoEd2015-07-10
Found 16 reviews