NuVasive Reviews | Glassdoor

NuVasive Reviews

Updated October 12, 2017
54 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
NuVasive Chairman and Interim Chief Executive Officer Greg Lucier
Greg Lucier
12 Ratings

54 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • free snacks, and Thirsty Thursday's (in 14 reviews)

  • Great company growing fast and good team (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance can be challanging when working to hit deadlines for projects (in 19 reviews)

  • Long hours with little value in personal time (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Sr. Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Fast paced environment. Smart and passionate people. Plenty of opportunity for those who want to work hard

    Cons

    Poor work life balance. Not good at prioritizing company objectives tends to spread people thin

    Advice to Management

    Focus and reduce the number of projects

    NuVasive Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. If you'd like to talk more over a cup of coffee, please email us at people@nuvasive.com. We appreciate everything you do for NUVA!


  2. "Neurophysiologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to be apart of

    Cons

    Scheduling can be unpredictable at times

    NuVasive Response

    Oct 6, 2017 – NuVasive

    We're glad you're enjoying your experience! Please email us at people@nuvasive.com if you'd like to further discuss how we can improve scheduling. Thank you!

  3. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machinist in West Carrollton, OH
    Current Employee - Machinist in West Carrollton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay
    Location
    Benefits
    Great Co-workers
    Management is helpful and wants you to succeed!

    Cons

    The time spent on nights to get to days.

    NuVasive Response

    Sep 27, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Ohio office. We appreciate everything you do for NUVA!


  4. "Room for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company growing fast and good team. Opportunity to learn new tools and technologies. Oh I forgot free snacks :)

    Cons

    None. Just started so far so good.

    Advice to Management

    Very new here so right now I don't have any advice to management

    NuVasive Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're excited for you and your future with NuVasive!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great, but always room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people work here! We are encouraged to share our ideas, share our failures and learn from them, etc. As an engineer your head isn't in the computer all day and at times are required to be a project manager, marketer, innovator. Great teamwork across cross-functional groups. Constantly changing business - a con for some but I think it keeps it exciting. We get to work directly with surgeons and see the fruits of our labor in the field. Great place to learn. Great overall culture.

    Cons

    We're expected to work startup hours and do exceptional work on "average" pay, they're slowly taking away perks (cutting costs) - yes, we're noticing it.

    Advice to Management

    More women in leadership, more incentive programs since salary is average, don't have enough exposure to senior management

    NuVasive Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We would love to discuss your feedback in person if you'd like to continue the conversation. Feel free to email us at people@nuvasive.com!


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Growth Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time

    Pros

    You are going to do and learn a lot. This company, while perhaps too fast paced for some, provides uncoupled opportunities to lead projects, stretch yourself, make an impact in the organization, and all the while doing it with great people.

    You get out what you put in, which is quite gratifying. People are generally given free reign and not micromanaged.

    The leadership cares about share owner engagement, while needing to balance being a fiscally responsible public company.

    Cons

    Change management could use more communication at the manager-direct report level

    Advice to Management

    More communication on the front end of change and during change.
    Proactively retain your start share owners.

    NuVasive Response

    Aug 8, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and give us feedback. We appreciate everything you do for NUVA! If you'd like to continue the conversation with us, please email... More


  7. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Really advanced work, great facility

    Cons

    I have no idea why some people were hired. Technicians were awful

  8. "NuVa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time

    Pros

    responsive, team, good environment, empowering

    Cons

    young company may not be nurturing for someone who is fresh out of college. Not enough women in senior positions

    Advice to Management

    more HR involvement in development staff in terms of career advancements

    NuVasive Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for the feedback- we would love to continue this conversation in person if you have more. Feel free to email us at people@nuvasive.com. We’re so glad you’re part of Team NUVA!


  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The majority of employees are engaged and energized. Groups are collaborative and helpful. Executives are accessible and authentic. 100% chance that you will learn and grow at NuVasive. Meaningful and authentic mission.

    Cons

    NUVA is not for the faint of heart. This type of environment is not for everyone. Expectations and stakes are high. The pace is "light speed" and you have to turn on a time. Diversity and inclusion is an area of opportunity, but the company is aware and making sincere strides in the right direction.

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing in internal communications that drive transparency, understanding, and awareness.

    NuVasive Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for the feedback! Our Internal Comms team is working hard to continue driving those core things. If you'd like to talk more about it, please email people@nuvasive.com. We’re so glad you’re... More


  10. "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company culture! Employees are all driven and willing to help each other.
    Good employee benefits- the company clearly cares about their employees happiness.
    Flexible hours / breaks.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challanging when working to hit deadlines for projects.


Showing 54 of 212 reviews
Reset Filters