NuVasive Reviews | Glassdoor

NuVasive Reviews

Updated October 12, 2017
204 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

204 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • free snacks, and Thirsty Thursday's (in 14 reviews)

  • Great company growing fast and good team (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance can be challanging when working to hit deadlines for projects (in 19 reviews)

  • Long hours with little value in personal time (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Needs some TLC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time

    Pros

    Great new building! Friendly employees

    Cons

    The New hire orientation lacks excitement. HR is nice but they need to in an area not far away from plant. They are in the back on the building. As a new hire I didn't even know where. Most buisnesses have their HR department close by. No area to talk with out everyone hearing. HR is for privacy and confidentiality. I don't feel I can go to them.

    Advice to Management

    You rHR depatment needs to be more TLC. Like the recruiters they are super nice/kind but to reach them is hard and to physically get to them is hard

    NuVasive Response

    Oct 6, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for your feedback on NuVasive HR. We'd like to continue improving our culture and work environment, so please reach out to people@nuvasive.com to further the conversation if you'd like!... More


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Carrollton, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Carrollton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, Stress is low, Majority of people are great

    Cons

    HR and TA. It's all women. No men in any roles. Group think and fear run rampant in HR. It's dysfunctional at best and needs to be addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Revamp HR here in Ohio. Put the Human back in Human Resources. Bring in some fresh eyes that aren't in the 30-40 year old range and women. We preach diversity and transparency. HR has secrets, goes after people, and there's nothing said or done about it. It makes no sense that there's an obvious disconnect be tween them and the rest of the Ohio operation.

    NuVasive Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – NuVasive

    We appreciate the candid feedback about your experience at NuVasive. In an effort to continually improve our culture and work environment, we would love to sit down with you over a cup of coffee... More

  3. "Excellent Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people and culture are fantastic. NuVasive is a growing company so there are lots of opportunities to make your mark and grow as a professional.

    Cons

    Lots of recent changes in management

    NuVasive Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – NuVasive

    We’re so glad that you are having a great experience- thank you for making NUVA such a great place to work!


  4. "Room for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company growing fast and good team. Opportunity to learn new tools and technologies. Oh I forgot free snacks :)

    Cons

    None. Just started so far so good.

    Advice to Management

    Very new here so right now I don't have any advice to management

    NuVasive Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're excited for you and your future with NuVasive!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "High school drama run amok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NuVasive full-time

    Pros

    Free snacks. Decent PTO. If you love high school drama/politics: welcome home!

    Cons

    Weak and out of touch management from middle to executive levels. Favoritism/nepotism reigns. HR is a joke. No privacy. No discussion about personal career goals. Talk about growth opportunities but do not deliver. Will push you out of you do not fit their toxic culture even if your are a good worker. Turn over is high. People are fired on the spot without being given the opportunity to improve. More employees are leaving or planning to leave since HR does nothing to address it's huge problem of inappropriate and ineffective managers. No training whatsoever. Trial by fire approach to training which causes decreased productivity which is then blamed on the workers. Does not address harassment and retaliation in the workplace.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house. You have some great workers if you're stop believing management lies. They are incompetent and ruining your business, not the workers.


  6. "1 Month In"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time

    Pros

    Growing company, seems to actually care about its employees. Actively listens to employees suggestions for improvement. Seems to have great potential for the future.

    Cons

    Clear cut organizational chart and responsibilities would be helpful. Historical knowledge and data sometimes difficult to find.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the path and don't take shortcuts based on minor hurdles.

    NuVasive Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for the feedback, and welcome to the NUVA family! If you'd like to grab a cup of coffee and discuss in person, please email people@nuvasive.com.


  7. "Looking good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I haven't worked at NuVasive long, just started. Part of the draw to me was hearing such good things about the companies employees. I agree completely, as the outpouring of "let me know if I can help you" has been substantial.

    Cons

    None yet, I just started.

    NuVasive Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – NuVasive

    We’re so glad that you are having a great experience so far- we're so glad you're a part of Team NUVA!

  8. "Professional People and Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in West Carrollton, OH
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in West Carrollton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Onboarding was very well organized. Especially liked the testimonies of recipients of Nuvasive implants. I also like Nuvasive's commitment to partner with Surgeon's and give care worldwide to those in need of spinal help who don't have the means. And the company is committed to grow responsibly.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to share.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positives that are being promoted. Company growth. Patient safety and care. Shareholder commitment.

    NuVasive Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate everything you do for NUVA!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great, but always room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people work here! We are encouraged to share our ideas, share our failures and learn from them, etc. As an engineer your head isn't in the computer all day and at times are required to be a project manager, marketer, innovator. Great teamwork across cross-functional groups. Constantly changing business - a con for some but I think it keeps it exciting. We get to work directly with surgeons and see the fruits of our labor in the field. Great place to learn. Great overall culture.

    Cons

    We're expected to work startup hours and do exceptional work on "average" pay, they're slowly taking away perks (cutting costs) - yes, we're noticing it.

    Advice to Management

    More women in leadership, more incentive programs since salary is average, don't have enough exposure to senior management

    NuVasive Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We would love to discuss your feedback in person if you'd like to continue the conversation. Feel free to email us at people@nuvasive.com!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Development Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Development Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuVasive full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing company, full benefits, motivated and hard working team of employees, large company but still feels small, a lot of training and growth opportunities, and great coworkers.

    Cons

    High deducible on the health insurance, but they have Health Savings accounts to help.

    NuVasive Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – NuVasive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate everything you do for NUVA!


Showing 204 of 212 reviews
Reset Filters