Nuance "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Nuance Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jan 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
199 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work-life balance can be difficult at times(in 55 reviews)

  • "I heard later that Nuance fired all its California-based transcriptionists because that state instituted a higher minimum wage ((in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Valuable Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at Nuance for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great experience - Very competitive compensation, especially for an intern - Great manager - Able to work from home most of the time

    Cons

    - Because everyone works from home most of the time, the office culture suffers

    Advice to Management

    Although I enjoyed my internship, I know that it will improve over time. Consider ways to structure the intern program more

    Nuance2018-12-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Work Like a Dog, Learn a Ton, Go Nowhere Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you will work with are generally super smart and dependable. Opportunity to learn a ton. Great work from home policy.

    Cons

    You can work yourself sick and no one will bat an eye. There is little room.for advancement below the 4 or 5 year mark at least! Old tech stack. Too much client is king culture.

    Advice to Management

    Cross functional teams! Design is a great asset. Decrease disability targets and fund some designer hours with r and d monies for cross divisional product research.

    Nuance2019-11-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Big company politics with small company scrambling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good Work from home possibilities

    Cons

    Offshore model does not work No room for promotion Small raises

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to who you reward and how

    Nuance2019-12-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A bad experience that only got worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Language Specialist in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Able to work from home

    Cons

    Constant supervisor turnover, low pay, poor dictators, constantly changing accounts.

    Advice to Management

    Get out while you can.

    Nuance2019-11-28
  5. "Just Don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Language Specialist in Mays Landing, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home. Money was decent for a little while

    Cons

    Management. Ridiculously low pay. Antiquated platforms. Tossed from account to account.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees

    Nuance2019-10-20
  6. "Good Company to work for,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, average salary, ability to work from home

    Cons

    I really can't say anything bad, that doesn't affect most larger companies, over the top paperwork requiring entry in multiple systems, very little continuity between systems making it a slow ponderous process, way too many unpaid hours.

    Advice to Management

    It seems like each department/Manager has his own criteria, Reports, and logs, Its time for you to clean it up and consolidate.

    Nuance2019-05-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Don't Work There!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros that I can't think of. Even if you have to work at home, I'm sure you could find a better company.

    Cons

    They are greedy and count off for minor mistakes just to get your pay down to minimum wage. Believe me, if you don't have any mistakes, they will find some supposedly mistakes. They should be ashamed of themselves. Also, if you are a good producer, they will slow the work down and claim that they don't have any work available. Either way, a person can't make more than minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to speak of, but I honestly can't see how you people can sleep at night knowing how badly you treat employees.

    Nuance2019-05-12
  8. "Career Stagnation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to work from home when necessary.

    Cons

    Company culture and investment in promoting from within are limited.

    Advice to Management

    Have clearer channels of communication and more transparency.

    Nuance2019-04-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "a former employee at Nuance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist in Stroudsburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work at home, great supervisor

    Cons

    not enough work during shift

    Advice to Management

    Keep US accounts in the US

    Nuance2019-04-06
  10. "Medical transcription"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working from home, plenty of work, able to work around children's school schedule

    Cons

    Worked nights and had no social interactions

    Nuance2018-12-30
Found 362 reviews