Nucor Steel Memphis Reviews | Glassdoor

Nucor Steel Memphis Reviews

Updated Apr 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nucor Steel Memphis

    Pros

    Pay, Bonuses, Company Value, Benefits, Work Ethic

    Cons

    DIrty, Dusty, Aging Equipment, Mid level supervisors, shift work

    Nucor Steel Memphis2017-01-15
  2. "Could be a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Steel Detailer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nucor Steel Memphis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent retirement and onsite clinic. Heard the Christmas party is ok. Dave Smith’s a decent guy but the other managers are rude, non Godly men... and he lets them do whatever.

    Cons

    Horrible leadership, they scream, lie and yell at/to employees, cuss constantly ( I was lead to believe this was a Godly company) ... they don’t listen to us, no wonder there’s a high turn over... I see dangerous situations. My buddy has worked at for them for 20 years they treat him like he knows nothing, and he seems to know more than the morons above him. benefits are crap high deductibles and copays. They don’t take...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate your higher ups through their fellow employees! Listen to ALL your employees not just brown misers! Take care of the employees and their families and they’ll take care of you and want to do better and stay! Common sense!!! Lower the insurance deductible or have plans to choose from!

    Nucor Steel Memphis2019-04-17
  3. "Great culture and team but no growth path for technical people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Metallurgical Engineer 
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Nucor Steel Memphis full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Lack of redtape, culture is decentralized at a mill level, people are very helpful and cooperative

      Cons

      Long hours, no growth path for technical people - have to work the shop floor to advance.

      Advice to Management

      Recognize the potential of your technical people and tap into it.

      Nucor Steel Memphis2019-01-24
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Nucor Steel Memphis full-time

      Pros

      Weekly bonuses and good benefits package.

      Cons

      Work environment is outdated and hazardous.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to workers on the front lines.

      Nucor Steel Memphis2017-05-02
    • "I work in the Mechanical Properties Lab (entry level job at Nucor Steel)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Mechanical Lab Technician in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nucor Steel Memphis full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I work with a group of highly motivated people, good management, pay is very competitive, and bonus structure greatly rewards hard work on a shift. Health insurance is pretty reasonable, and there's a free clinic on site abailoto all employees and their immediate family members!

      Cons

      Long shifts (but you get used to it) Rotating shifts (never really get used to that haha) A lot of the jobs at Nucor are VERY HOT!

      Advice to Management

      The lab needs some type of transportation. We either have to drive the forklift, our personal vehicle, or walk whenever we need to go somewhere. Overall however, I think the management at my mill do a very good job!

      Nucor Steel Memphis2016-10-11
    • "Good company, bad management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Maintenance in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Nucor Steel Memphis for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The Pay is good along with job secutiry

      Cons

      Long hours, switching from days to nights every other week.

      Advice to Management

      Be a team player

      Nucor Steel Memphis2016-10-11
    • "analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Nucor Steel Memphis

      Pros

      people are a little laid back and everyone is nice

      Cons

      There's not a lot of accountability in this organization, things don't get done and no one cares.

      Advice to Management

      Look a little deeper into the organization and increase the accountability.

      Nucor Steel Memphis2016-10-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "I work for Nucor Steel"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Nucor Steel Memphis full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Excellent pay for performance program, great retirement plan, bonus is great, decent insurance for routine visits, excellent insurance for the big stuff, the company will work with you.

      Cons

      Very dirty, greasy, loud, super hot environment. This work isnt for everyone. Rotating shifts suck after years of being on them.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great culture.

      Nucor Steel Memphis2016-08-31
    • "operater"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Nucor Steel Memphis full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      safety culture, stock options, weekly pay

      Cons

      management, swing shift, up/down work load, difficult to make plans

      Nucor Steel Memphis2016-07-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Could use some improvement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Maintenance in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Nucor Steel Memphis full-time

      Pros

      A great place to build experience and knowledge. The pay is better than most companies in the area. Profit sharing benefits is amazing!

      Cons

      Too many meetings to cover basic need to know information. Everything at the company now seems like politics with management running around with hidden agendas to make themselves look good. Basic job task are no longer efficient and very stressful. I often feel that I am being setup for failure. Schedules are not consistent and change too often.

      Advice to Management

      If a process has proven to work efficiently for years.....don't change it!

      Nucor Steel Memphis2016-07-13
    Found 15 reviews