Nucor-Vulcraft Reviews | Glassdoor

Nucor-Vulcraft Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Ray Napolitan, P.E.
11 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Benefits, Bonuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Nucor-Vulcraft full-time

      Pros

      Great company. Profit Sharing. Bonuses.

      Cons

      Slow vacation accrual. Slow improvement process.

      Nucor-Vulcraft2019-06-07
    • "decent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Yard Operator in Chemung, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Nucor-Vulcraft full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      good pay. very flexible if time off needed. very busy at times. i left because i moved out of state

      Cons

      very busy at times. lack of communication sometimes

      Nucor-Vulcraft2019-04-23
    • "Fast Past"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Nucor-Vulcraft full-time

      Pros

      Generally care about there teammates

      Cons

      High Pressure at times. Fast Paced

      Nucor-Vulcraft2019-04-30
    • "Great environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Design Engineer in Chemung, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nucor-Vulcraft full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great people, Good pay.

      Cons

      Nothing really except that you will be specialized on one thing which is design of joists and nothing more. So that could be a bad thing for some people.

      Nucor-Vulcraft2019-04-05
    • "CAD Detailer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Nucor-Vulcraft full-time

        Pros

        Good benefits, controlled office environment

        Cons

        Pay based on small base plus bonus

        Nucor-Vulcraft2018-07-17
      • "Rigger"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Rigger in Norfolk, NE
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Nucor-Vulcraft for less than a year

        Pros

        You make a lot of money.

        Cons

        You will hate your life. Work sucks and pretty much every worker hates their job and work environment but you are stuck there because you won't find anything else to compare money-wise

        Nucor-Vulcraft2017-11-21
      • "Great Company - Concern about losing vision"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Nucor-Vulcraft full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        I feel like the review process is fair and advancement opportunities are there. If you are mobile or willing to move, you can go far. Great culture and family atmosphere.

        Cons

        company is getting so large that the culture is eroding. The idea of a higher cause and Ken Iverson's vision of performance and earning your customer's business are being replaced with vague metrics to measure "excellence". Keywords and slogans do nothing, actions speak louder than words.

        Advice to Management

        Keep people engaged. Keep the lowest level of teammates making the decisions that effect their livelihood. Let's not forget where we came from and rally around the things that make this company great.

        Nucor-Vulcraft2017-09-28
      • "PC Tech"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Nucor-Vulcraft full-time

        Pros

        Good Wage, nice people, family oriented

        Cons

        Can't think of anything at this time

        Nucor-Vulcraft2017-07-17
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chemung, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nucor-Vulcraft full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Nucor-Vulcraft has a great culture built around quality character (Integrity, Optimism, a Can-do attitude, etc) and striving to be the best steel company in the world. They take care of their employees and reward hard work and success.

        Cons

        The division I work for has not been as profitable as some of the others which keeps the incentive bonuses lower, but that is in my (and the other employee's) hands. We have been getting better and better and will continue to grow.

        Nucor-Vulcraft2017-06-14
      • "The Best"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Representative 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nucor-Vulcraft full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Family driven company. #1 goal is to get you home safe to your family. Great benefits and pay. No definite career path, you choose your own career path. You get what you put in.

        Cons

        Lower salaries than other competing companies if you don't include bonuses. No vision insurance and not so good dental insurance.

        Advice to Management

        Groom your employees! There are some Managers that just look out for themselves and in the long run it does not benefit either party.

        Nucor-Vulcraft2017-04-10
      Found 27 reviews