Nucor "great company" Reviews | Glassdoor

Nucor Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated May 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Nucor CEO John J. Ferriola
John J. Ferriola
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and good hours working a 4 on 4 off schedule(in 25 reviews)

  • "Nucor is a great company that tries to put its people first(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Limited locations, sometimes long hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "Rotating shift work with 12 hour shifts, working in/around heat often(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nucor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. A lot of incentives that come with company. They reward/compensate according to each mill and how the mill is doing. Team oriented. One of the best companies I have worked for.

    Cons

    Likely to have to move many times for a longer career

    Nucor2019-05-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nucor Electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician in Cofield, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nucor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company. Great pay. Good people.

    Cons

    Harsh environment to work in,

    Advice to Management

    na

    Nucor2019-03-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nucor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. Opportunity to make a lot of money. Company cares deeply about employees and prioritizes employee well-being over everything else.

    Cons

    Very political company, so if you don’t believe what they believe, you will be an outsider. Company is inwardly-focused. Essentially, they only care about what’s going on within the organization. The fact that they employ 25,000+ people and still don’t respond to Glassdoor comments is evidence that the highest level of the organization doesn’t care much about what people outside the company think. No corporate... responsibility around diversity or inclusion, so the workforce is very homogenous. They have skewed statistics to keep the company legally compliant, but majority of the organization is rooted in the Deep South and perpetuate the racist and segregated undertones of those communities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As easily the best steel manufacturer in the US, continuing to rely on political contributions to influence favorable trade policies is a sound path forward. The commodity products you make and sell aren’t going anywhere. Keep competing on price with your non-union workforce as a competitive advantage.

    Nucor2018-04-25
  4. "Network Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nucor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company with Great benefits

    Cons

    Lots of political banter and lack of ability to move up in a career.

    Nucor2017-08-29
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Tech in Huger, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nucor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nucor is a great company that tries to put its people first. They are focused on safety and making money. The majority of our pay comes from hourly bonuses that multiply our base rate by percentage. If you earn $15/hr and have a bonus of 200% you get an additional $30/hr added to your base pay for a total of $45/hr. Looking at the base pay of most people (at or below $18/hr) it doesn't come across as a high paying... job. However most people in technical positions break $100k by October. People are friendly and have an interest in your personal life. It is like a big family. If you want to learn something here you can. Cross training is encouraged and people are eager to share what they know. Also shift work is 4 12 hr. days in a row followed by 4 days off. Plenty of time to pursue other interests.

    Show More

    Cons

    The environment is the hardest part. My Nucor plant is in the south and many days in the mill are over 100 degrees. The process is beyond filthy. If you have an aversion to dirt, grease, oil, dust, or grime of any kind don't even bother taking a tour. Just walking into the offices will get you a bit dirty! The work is physically grueling also. Fire retardant clothing, heavy steel metatarsal boots, hard hat, ear... plugs... all in a mill that produces steam and massive amounts of heat. Lots of stairs and cramped spaces to fit into and work. Ear-splitting noise means you must shout to talk to people when out in the mill. Also the schedule mentioned above is rotating between days and nights. Every other week you're subjected to a 12 hr jet lag. All said the good outweighs the bad. Nucor does what it can to mitigate the problems mentioned above but it's the process of steel making that is really the issue, not the company itself.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I am proud to work at Nucor. Please continue to be good stewards of the environment. We're the largest recycler in North America and that's something to be proud of. If the new administration succeeds in defunding the EPA to help the bottom line of a wealthy few, I challenge Nucor to stay the course and not relax its responsibilities to the environment and the people of our community, even if it helps our bottom... line. At the end of the day we must remember: we can neither eat nor breathe money.

    Show More
    Nucor2017-03-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Convent, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nucor full-time

    Pros

    Great company, lots of freedom and room to move

    Cons

    Louisiana location is terrible at communication and haven't figure out their process yet

    Nucor2017-03-16
  7. "Engineer Nucor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nucor

    Pros

    Great company, very fast paced work environment

    Cons

    No negatives to the job

    Nucor2017-01-18
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Electrical maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nucor full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for with great pay and decent benefits. Plenty of opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Get paid based on production, so pay check will fluctuate from week to week

    Nucor2017-01-10
  9. "Internship interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nucor

    Pros

    Great company, friendly people, good hourly salary

    Cons

    Not enough diversity otherwise good

    Nucor2016-05-23
  10. "Metallurgist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Metallurgist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nucor

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing to complaints about it

    Nucor2016-05-14
Found 16 reviews