Numotion "helping people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Numotion Employee Reviews about "helping people"

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Numotion CEO Mike Swinford (no image)
Mike Swinford
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very rewarding job helping people and keeping them mobile(in 20 reviews)

  • "Numotion values their employees and treats them with respect(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "None that are specific to Numotion(in 18 reviews)

  • "Terrible management, unprofessional work environment(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "helping people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Coordinator in Tifton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Numotion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to help people with mobility. My passion is especially helping our clients that suffer from ALS. To be a part of a team that genuinely goes above and beyond makes this job very fulfilling. Numotion is a great company to work for. The job of a CCC is very challenging but the reward of a happy client make it all worth it. Great benefits and competitive pay are a plus.

    Cons

    Not a con, but being a CCC is a very challenging job. I have been employed with Numotion for just over a year and still learning. The DME world is ever changing. Thankfully I've had some great leaders that had the patience to train me and help me get where I am today.

    Numotion2018-08-30
  2. "Not for everybody but some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Numotion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping people who need it

    Cons

    They put you out there sometimes without direction and smells

    Advice to Management

    Give better directions and manuals

    Numotion2019-11-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Excessive and unreasonable amounts of overtime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seating Technician in Nowhere, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Numotion full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The job has reasonable pay when kept within the spectrum of a normal 40 hour work week for this industry. I love my coworkers and local office. The job is rewarding in the fact you are helping people. Most major holidays off and a decent amount of paid time off, that's IF they let you use it!

    Cons

    Poor management structure and you are remotely managed by a person you rarely see. There's no personal level connection with the employee. Employees are treated as just another number. Management style is not that of leaders, but that of bosses. No leading by example, just follow the orders! Scheduling for service is ineffecient with up to 10-12 hour work days required, sometimes in excess of 14 hour work days... required Monday through Friday. Additionally pushing you or requiring you in some cases to work Saturday or Sunday or both to make 6-7 day work weeks. No concern for the family life problems or the health problems this can cause from such excessive work hours. No coordination between service coordinators, instead of communicating with each other, they put whatever and whenever on the schedule. This has caused up to 9-10 hours of just driving in one day in one instance. That doesn't include repair time. Service coordinator schedulers act like management rather than co-workers. I moved over to being a seating and rehab technician to hopefully have a better family life and finding managers have the same zest for pushing 6-7 day work weeks. You will NOT find ANY manager on ANY level working overtime or weekends either. After 13 years as a service tech and after onlyhalf a year as seating and rehab technician, I believe I made a mistake staying with the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do NOT require people to work unreasonable and dangerous amounts of overtime that cause fatigue and frustration. This is the reason you have a shortage of employees and people quitting. Hire more employees IMMEDIATELY! Put scheduling back in the local office with only people in that office scheduling so there's not 4 different people or more that don't communicate trying to plan a route. Most Semi truck drivers... aren't even working this much and this amount if driving and overtime has been reported to the state department of transportation for safety reasons.

    Show More
    Numotion2019-10-10
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Just don’t"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager in Apex, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Numotion full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are great. The mission of helping people with disabilities is very fulfilling.

    Cons

    CEO spreads a good message, but it’s all about the numbers, scorecards and metrics. Long hours, no time off, lots of turn over.

    Advice to Management

    Promote leaders that can do the job and stop micro managing staff. I’m not hard to find, if Numotion wants to call me, please do.

    Numotion2019-07-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Massive Workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Revenue Validation Coordinator in Rocky Hill, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Numotion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping people who need it, good employee parties, and CEO would read employee reviews of managers and sometimes get some bad ones out.

    Cons

    Massive workload always increasing, when someone leaves they were not replaced, and their workload was piled onto the already-overworked staff. Never listening to easier ways to do jobs. Bad technology choices.

    Advice to Management

    If you're going to insist that employees do 6-10 jobs each, pay them better instead of keeping the money for yourself.

    Numotion2019-03-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Documentation Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Numotion full-time

    Pros

    Helping people get their equipment

    Cons

    A lot of unnecessary drama

    Numotion2018-10-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSC in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Numotion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very rewarding job helping people and keeping them mobile . Management is very helpful with training and day to day questions and treat everyone with respect. Competitive pay and benefits. Hours are great especially for single parents or family’s no nights or weekends unless needed but it’s a volunteer basis . Closed major holidays with pay.

    Cons

    Some long time employees don’t seem to like change . With all the new procedures rolling out to make the company better and make getting our clients taken care of in a more timely manner I definitely hear a lot of negative remarks . Service coordinator cubicles are next to client waiting area . I don’t think it is professional for customers to hear other clients personal information like address , phone numbers ,... DOB and insurance policy numbers while scheduling repairs or to hear us dealing with irate clients which is hard already but when your having to say I’m sorry over and over and please stop yelling so I can explain it sounds very bad . So definitely think CSC desks should be behind the walls not out in the open for anyone to walk in to hear.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue making changes to make day to day operations better . Theirs always room for improvement and I believe numotion is a great company with big ideas . I do have to say it took quite a bit of time during my hiring process . But once I was in the store I felt welcomed by most everyone and the training packets I received were very helpful and made it structured I knew day to day what I was doing and learning for... the first 3 weeks.

    Show More
    Numotion2018-08-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Service Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Numotion full-time

    Pros

    The clients are amazing, and helping people was so rewarding

    Cons

    Terrible management, unprofessional work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and follow through with employee complaints, issues fell on deaf ears, youve lost several great employees due to the blatant favoritism exhibited with certain employees.

    Numotion2018-08-29
  9. "Must be able to adapt to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Numotion full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Helping people regain/maintain their mobility and independence. National company with known reputation in the industry. Recent employee incentive programs put into place.

    Cons

    Constant insurance changes and funding cuts making it difficult to provide services. (Not company fault) Benefits are expensive. Room for advancement minimal. Advancement to management is unlikely. They are willing to to chances on new processes, that generally inhibit the effectiveness; but don’t take chances on their employees.

    Advice to Management

    When making process and system changes, try getting the opinions of the people actually using the process. Will avoid wasteful trials and IT slow downs.

    Numotion2018-04-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Incompetent Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Numotion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are none other than helping people get mobile again

    Cons

    Worst leadership EVER !! In fact this company has a 2.5-2.8 rating on most job boards so that should telll you something about this company. Managment in the Houston office is so incompetent that most daily operations is directed out of their Dallas location. No training protocol in place whatsoever so you either "get it" or "get fired" and a horrible fixation on profits,,,Yes I know companies are run to make... profits,,but they put profit in front of EVERYTHING ELSE !! This is exemplified by the End of Month chaos that ensues the last week of the month , People in their cubicles crying ! demanding to work weekends, employees being blamed for not meeting budget, Its never the managers fault mentality etc. Is that the kind of leadership that you want to work for ? Their Executive team knows the problems yet refuses to take corrective actions so it is a vicious cycle that exponentialy grows every month due to ineffective leadership that creates a toxic, immature, highschoolish like atmospere. YOU DO NOT WANT TO WORK HERE ! RUN FOREST RUN !

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None to mgmt However, Some advice to the Executive Team ,, Revamp your vetting process for potential Managment Hires as the process you have now brings in people that have no business being managers due to lack of experience, education, people skills, communications skills and team building skill sets. It all starts at the top and trickles down, So "The children are a reflection of their parents" analogy is... strong with this team of Execs.

    Show More
    Numotion2018-04-27
Found 20 reviews