Nuna Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
89%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Nuna Co-Founder and CEO Jini Kim
Jini Kim
21 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    A beacon in data, technology, and healthcare

    Feb 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nuna is a small start up with big aspirations and talented people. They're working to make their product into something that is impactful for the underrepresented. While this has looked different over the years, it shows their adaptability and resilience for their ultimate goal of making healthcare affordable and accessible for everyone. Recently, Nuna has really focused on their goals for long term return in the value based care space. The benefits at Nuna are really spectacular from pay, retirement, lunches, wellness stipends and more. The culture is also a highlight. While a lot has changed in the era of Covid, there is still a big push to keep employees involved in culture and events for everyone and families. Diversity is taken seriously with leadership which I personally find as a positive characteristic to Nuna as a minority in tech. I think every company has hurdles when it comes to addressing these issues and the leadership at Nuna does a great job of always keeping this topic in mind at all-hands but also showing progress of growth through our quarterly anonymous company surveys which reflects their effort to making the changes that need to happen.

    Cons

    Nuna adapts quickly to make it's greatest impact and things can happen in a short amount of time. It might make anyone looking for a predictable environment to feel like things are moving with short timelines.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best opportunity of my life

    Apr 30, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome People: Nuna's mission to make healthcare affordable and accessible has attracted some of the best people I have ever worked with. Great minds with big hearts. Lots of senior leadership you don't expect at a startup: Nuna has senior leads who I looked up to when I worked at Google. Nuna gives me the chance to work closely with stars in their field and learn from them up close. CEO: The CEO is friendly, funny and compassionate. She is the heart and soul of Nuna and a great role model for female leadership. I never fully appreciated how much influence a CEO can have on the company culture until I saw this direct correlation of goodness at Nuna. The company has changed a lot over the past 1+ years I've been here. There has been a recent surge of optimism and enthusiasm as Nuna is hitting its stride. I feel really proud of my work and the good that can come to the world. Simply put, I love coming to work.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but at Nuna you will be working with top performers so the expectations for work are very high. If you like being challenged by smart people with good hearts, Nuna is a great place to learn at a fast pace. Learning about the healthcare industry was hard at first, and I wished there were more internal resources to learn from when I got started.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best time to be here

    Feb 14, 2021 - General 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    After a few pivots, Nuna has found product-market fit and is all in. It is prioritizing the wellbeing of employees while delivering on our mission. Leadership supports product objectives that are bold and radically inclusive. I am impressed by executives unapologetic support of movements for racial and transgender equity - there’s no question of their values and they are not neutral on important issues. It’s a breath of fresh air.

    Cons

    Due to pivots, there has been turnover and morale is mixed - depending on who you talk to. Everything isn’t perfect; there’s a lot of work to be done, and Nuna is making key hires and has publicly committed to OKRs that will focus on equitable recruiting, hiring, and growth; and a positive culture and work experience.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Warm and Welcoming

    Mar 8, 2021 - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brilliant, friendly, and welcoming group of people with open minds. Lots to learn, startup pace suitable for self-starters. Company growth and opportunities to help with cutting-edge and meaningful projects. CEO is very involved and accessible and a total badass. Weekly company-wide announcements to keep everyone in sync with what's coming next and wide array of fun-focused slack channels and engaging activities (pi-day, staff-led yoga, subject matter expert discussions, etc.) to maintain connection during remote work.

    Cons

    Would be great to have regular product demos!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people, a ton of work to be done

    Dec 9, 2020 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -People at Nuna are really bought into the mission of improving healthcare and excited to do the work on Nuna's products. -Nuna's leadership team and primary investor John Doerr have been able to open doors for selling and positioning Nuna's products - huge competitive advantage for a startup, and definitely helpful for ensuring the company's long term viability/success. -Over the past year or so, Nuna has found better market fit with its products and now needs to successfully deliver on what has been sold. -Though it has been maturing, Nuna still has that startup feel where you have a lot thrown at you and the opportunity to take on work that is far outside the scope of your role. It's a great place for professional growth if that kind of environment is appealing to you.

    Cons

    -Nuna is figuring out how to create a scalable implementation process, and it's creating a lot of churn right now while Product/Eng/Implementation Teams figure out their lanes. -In the absence of an operationally focused business process, Nuna's success and ability to meet deadlines sometimes relies on heroics from a few folks/teams in key roles, leaving Nuna feeling very execution constrained and burning people out.

    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Inability to be honest about DEI failures & harm perpetuated by leadership

    Mar 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I first started at Nuna, there were a lot of things I loved about it and thought it was on an upward trajectory. At that point in time, a lot of people deeply cared about important issues -- both in terms of their actual work, and in terms of society/community more generally. I can’t say that was still true when I left, though.

    Cons

    Nuna had a lot of potential, but unfortunately, fragility and a refusal to interrogate the harm perpetuated got in the way -- especially by leadership. In my time at Nuna, we lost our culture lead, they refused to put resources towards a DEI lead or replacement for the culture lead, DEI efforts felt largely abandoned unless pushed by individuals at the bottom, the leadership composition shifted from predominantly women to predominantly men, they hired someone to lead recruiting who did not understand and did not care about taking the steps needed to ensure diverse candidate pools or an inclusive hiring experience, they brought in a team of ex-Googlers with pretty toxic approaches to work and management who pushed people out because they didn’t meet their model, and… there’s plenty more, but I’ll stop there. I also want to explicitly add that Nuna did a lot of harm to their trans and Black employees in the time I was there, and they never acknowledged it. Rather, the CEO blamed people who were choosing to leave, insisted she couldn’t be an oppressor in any fashion because of her own identity, and pivoted to the excuse of, “They were all just bad at their jobs anyway.” Except, you know, your low-key transphobia and racism isn’t because someone was bad at their job.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Avoid if you are from an underrepresented group

    Jan 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great if you are a Xoogler who is looking for Google culture at a smaller scale

    Cons

    There are so many things broken about this company, but I won't bother with the majority of those issues. This is simply a warning for certain applicants. If you are part of an underrepresented group, don't waste time applying. If, somehow, you manage to get an offer (they're not exactly great at hiring people unless they share the same background/identity), please hold out for another opportunity. You will be miserable here, and your career will likely stagnate, or worse.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good

    Feb 10, 2021 - Cleaning in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good For business Good systems

    Cons

    Ok But alright could be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    ---

    Mar 27, 2021 - Technical Project Manager in Morgantown, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    staff are great to work with

    Cons

    run like a family / church business

    1 person found this review helpful

    Nuna Response

    This review has been incorrectly assigned to Nuna. Unfortunately, Glassdoor has refused our request to take it down from our company profile.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Build meaningful products with a supportive team!

    Oct 7, 2020 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nuna has amazing leadership and talented engineers who care about delivering quality products. It's in a sweet spot of start-up feel but with a supportive engineering culture where you'll be working on impactful projects but never alone on them. Additional pros: fun company virtual events during COVID, competitive salaries, transparent exec. team, great perks.

    Cons

    Value-based healthcare is a complicated space and may feel inaccessible/confusing at first. Try doing some reading/watching videos about the US healthcare system on the side to get the most out of the interview process or working here.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 48 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Nuna Job Seekers

Software Engineer, Web Engineering
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Software Engineer, Data Infrastructure
Learn About the Job

Work at Nuna? Share Your Experiences

Nuna logo
or