Nurse Next Door Reviews | Glassdoor

Nurse Next Door Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Nurse Next Door CEO Cathy Thorpe
Cathy Thorpe
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule and new shifts available at short notice(in 9 reviews)

  • "Nurse Next Door help the Caregivers to be comfortable around Clients by giving CGs the necessary information needed(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons - a wonderful place to work(in 15 reviews)

  • "Extremely low pay in comparison to similar roles in other companies(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nurse Next Door full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I need flexible hours, I have a really nice boss who works hard to give you a full work week. Love taking care of people, especially the elderly.

    Cons

    Health insurance is not offered-

    Advice to Management

    Do yearly reviews for raises-

    Nurse Next Door2019-09-06
  2. "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nurse Next Door full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Pay starts at $11 then once you get CNA certified you get $12.50 -LAX work environment -Some Clients are sweet!

    Cons

    -Not a set schedule - A lot of clients like to complain -No reimbursement for driving to clients locations -Long Hours can take a toll on your sleep -Work can feel like a drag and sometimes make you want to quit - All overtime Hours are at base pay

    Advice to Management

    Have set schedules and listen to your employees

    Nurse Next Door2019-10-07
  3. "A Company that Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Operations in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nurse Next Door full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent leadership where the employee is truly put first. Happy employees equal happy clients.

    Cons

    No cons - a wonderful place to work

    Nurse Next Door2019-07-17
  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Caregiver 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nurse Next Door part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great branding and team really cares about their clients and staff

    Cons

    Health insurance offered to some full-time caregivers only

    Nurse Next Door2019-07-14
  5. "Caregiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nurse Next Door part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They value their employees. When you have a question or problem they work with you and get back to you right away. They are kind and supportive. Take great care of their employees.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say!

    Advice to Management

    I think Management is doing a great job!! Very considerate, nice people to work for. Check with client to see if caregiver is meeting there needs and making them happy. Letting caregiver know client is happy.

    Nurse Next Door2019-06-10
  6. "Fabulous place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver Supervisor/Recruiter in Holland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nurse Next Door full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You're encouraged to have fun and create joy with your client instead of the status quo

    Cons

    The cons align with the challenges in the healthcare industry but our management is proactive in eliminating those struggles

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work with your mission. It's what attracted me to the position in the first place. Lobby for Medicaid to pay a fair rate so everybody can be included in our services.

    Nurse Next Door2019-05-16
  7. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nurse Next Door full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work for. Flexible and will work around your schedule.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about employer

    Nurse Next Door2019-05-15
  8. "Nice People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Pleasant Hill, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nurse Next Door full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great manager, very flexible, fun.

    Cons

    No major issues to report.

    Nurse Next Door2019-03-26
  9. "Love working with Traci and LuAnn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LVN in Leander, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nurse Next Door full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Traci and LuAnn are compassionate and will do anything for their clients and staff. They have this amazing “CAN DO” attitude that’s infectious and radiates through their employees.

    Cons

    No health insurance, l know they want to grow so that they can provide benefits to their employees. That’s very important to them.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Nurse Next Door2019-03-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Home Care Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Camden Wyoming, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nurse Next Door part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can make your own schedule. If there is a home that you feel uncomfortable working in you can tell them and they won't send you back. Mostly friendly upper management

    Cons

    Some of the management had their favorites, so if that was not you then you got the short end of the stick. Most of them were really friendly on the surface, but you might deal with one or two people who were only willing to help if it really benefited them. For example I once signed up for a shift and they took it away from me because they preferred that I go somewhere else. But the one I signed up for was closer... to my house and had more hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of employees better. Higher pay and maybe allowing more full time benefited positions

    Nurse Next Door2019-03-14
Found 201 reviews