Nutanix Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Nutanix CEO Rajiv Ramaswami
Rajiv Ramaswami
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Work Culture, Great PayScale(in 63 reviews)

  • "WFH helps you to maintain work life balance(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work Life balance suffers due to less resources(in 47 reviews)

  • "Growing pains as it scales past 6,000 employees(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Nutanix and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Excellent Company, Culture and Leaders

      Sep 1, 2020 - Enterprise Account Executive in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nutanix is a one of a kind; they value their customers as much as their employees and offer solutions/products/services that make true impact everyone. CULTURE, Leadership, People, Happy Customers, Always Learning, Brilliant Engineers and Developers

      Cons

      No cons, seriously. Be ready to work hard but expect to learn, grow, and bust out of your comfort zone!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Nutanix Response

      The Nutanix Team

      We are happy to hear you are enjoying your experience at Nutanix. 😊 We do value our customers and our Nutants and are glad to hear you have experienced this firsthand. Thank you for your hard work and for 'getting comfortable being uncomfortable' for the sake of growth and progress. Keep up the great work and do not hesitate to set up time with your manager or People Business Partner if any challenges or constructive feedback arise.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Technology

      May 16, 2021 - Inside Account Executive in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for one of the best on-prem/hybrid cloud solutions

      Cons

      Benefits package needs to be improved.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Nutanix commercial role

      May 14, 2021 - Account Executive in Fredericksburg, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Product! Does what it states it does and has a fairly robust growth into other areas of product.

      Cons

      Culture is not great. Micromanagement from the top down. Integrity is an issue with management. Would not work for the commercial organization.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      inflated titles for managers with zero knowledge of people management

      May 10, 2021 - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good learning, work on latest cloud/virtualization technology, talented team ( this is changing quickly as all good people are leaving the company).

      Cons

      Poor people management and terrible micro-management with no consideration for people's time or emotions. All the managers are either directors or Sr. directors with only individual contributors reporting to them.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Nutanix Response

      The Nutanix Team

      Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. We are sorry that your experience has fallen short in some areas. Are you open to sharing more context around the challenges you mentioned? If so, we'd welcome the chance to learn more and to hear any ideas you have. Please connect with your People Business Partner for a confidential conversation if you are open to discussing. We hope to hear from you soon.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nutanix life

      May 8, 2021 - Inside Channel Sales Manager in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are amazing and unlimited vacation.

      Cons

      There is no cons for me right now.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      General Experience

      Mar 14, 2021 - Commercial Sales in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      More relaxed management, they really seem to understand that it takes a year to bring in business. Lots of autonomy Lots of teams internally to assist in closing a deal Unlimited time off, stock purchase program, 401k, very good healthcare

      Cons

      Little to no training. Deep portfolio with no training on any of it. Little to no help for new reps. Too much information posted internally with no easy navigable way to get through it for what you need. Lack of interest from market due to the pandemic Most business comes from existing customer base, so if you’re given a patch with low spend commercial customers it’s impossible to hit quota

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Nutanix Response

      The Nutanix Team

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry that your experience has fallen short in some areas. We are keen to find out more about some of the concerns you raised. Are you open to a candid conversation to help us learn more? We encourage you to be proactive and to set up time with your manager, your Commercial Enablement Lead, the Area Director for Commercial North or your People Business Partner. We hope to hear from you soon and look forward to learning more.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company to work for

      Apr 24, 2021 - Architect in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quality, industry leading products, empathetic management, good work-life balance. Best health care insurance that I have ever heard of in all my years working in tech

      Cons

      Stock price is a laggard. Hope the new management is able to fix it.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible Sales Leadership

      Apr 17, 2021 - Commercial Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best health insurance in the industry. Very good PTO policy. Great co-workers (but they're quitting at a high rate). Core product is rock solid.

      Cons

      Terrible sales leadership. The company is trying to become profitable and cutting costs everywhere. No marketing budget, no raises, low salaries, commission plan designed to minimize pay, vacant positions going unfilled, etc. They go out of their way to create complex comp plans with all sorts of traps to prevent paying you. You constantly feel like you’re haggling with them for your pay. You don’t get paid on this product, that renewal, only paid 10% of this order, etc. They short change you, jip you, and cheat you at every turn. I’ve seen numerous reps capped on big deals. Reps would close a big win, and the leadership team would arbitrarily decide how much the rep ‘deserved’ to be paid on the deal, and would unexpectedly cut the expected commission in half or more. When the rep complained, they pointed to some random clause in the the overly complex comp plan. Everything they pay you in commissions is discretionary and they’ll straight up not pay you. Reps from their ‘people team’ comment here on Glassdoor under negative comments that if someone has a concern they should take it to their skip level manager or to HR. Well, I’ve seen two people take legitimate concerns to HR, real concerns regarding ethics and fairness, and within weeks, both of them were put on a ‘Letter of Concern’ which is the first step towards being fired. But of course, the timing was pure coincidence and had nothing to do with their brining negative feedback forward. I don't think they actually want your ‘honest feedback’ and I think HR just has the back of the management team. We have a ‘Culture Amp’ survey and people are encouraged to give real, honest feedback to leadership. We were told it was anonymous, but it wasn’t. They eventually admitted it wasn’t anonymous and everyone was annoyed by that. How do you tell people a survey is anonymous when it isn’t? The sales leadership pulled us onto a call and took the 4 biggest common concerns the sales team had on those surveys and basically ridiculed us all for having those concerns and said they had no merit. Why ask for our concerns when you just deny that they have any merit and mock us for it? Only 15-20% of frontline AM’s are hitting goal in the commercial segment. The lowest percentage I’ve ever seen anywhere in my career. Of course, the leadership team tells us our goals are incredibly low and blames it on reps being lousy. But they hired the reps, so does that mean they’re bad judges of talent? I think people aren’t hitting goal because they don’t want to pay us and the goals, territories and comp plans were designed to keep payroll down. They spin low numbers of frontline Ams at goal by saying '50% of our TEAMS hit goal' but managers have different goals than front line AM's, so that's very deceiving. If you interview, ask what percentage of front-line AM's hit goal - it's very low. Out of all the reps on our team, no fully ramped AM has hit their annual goal in the past few years. I don't think any SE's on our team have hit either. Looking back over the past 6 quarters, only 2 fully ramped AM's on my team have hit goal in one single quarter - much less for the year. They tout their company sales success, and point to the earnings calls, but if the sales numbers are so great, why are so few AM's hitting quota? Companies that celebrate big sales numbers at the executive level while high percentages of their front line AMs aren't hitting goal, are greedy and to be avoided. I don’t like to rant, but everything I said above is true. This is from my experience in the commercial segment, maybe other segments are different - I don't know. Talk to people that work here and they’ll confirm it. If you have other options, don’t work here. It will just end up annoying you and being a 10-15 month stop on your resume. If you do decide to give it a try, just understand what you're getting into. I'm on my way out, as are most other top performers here. I've never left a company due to poor leadership, but I guess there's a first time for everything. These folks are killing the company.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Nutanix Response

      The Nutanix Team

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry that you’re frustrated. There is a lot to unpack here. We’d like to address some of the topics you raised to clarify a couple things. SALES COMPENSATION PLANS We pay our sales reps based on our sales plans. These plans are designed to incentivize and reward people fairly based on their contributions. We’re not sure how else to say this, but we do not look for ways to avoid paying our sales reps according to their plans. That would work against us and our goals. We strive to over-communicate our compensation plans. If you’re not clear on the details of yours, talk to your manager or our Sales Compensation team for help. OPENLY RAISING CONCERNS We want all employees to be able to raise concerns. If you're not comfortable speaking with your manager, doing a skip level, or talking with your HR Business Partner, please reach out to Employee Relations for a confidential conversation. EMPLOYEE ENGAGEMENT SURVEYS We also encourage employees to share feedback via our Culture Amp employee engagement survey. Responses are confidential and the exact reporting rules are clearly communicated to employees each time we send out our survey. SALES ATTAINMENT PERCENTAGES The percentages you referenced are not correct. We have a higher number of reps successfully achieving quota. SALES LEADERSHIP The commercial team has initiated a steering committee as a direct feedback loop with leadership to address the top areas identified in our Culture Amp employee engagement survey. This group consists of 15 Commercial Account Executives and will focus on improving the employee experience as well as sales outcomes. We hope this helps add color to the topics you mentioned. If you’d like to discuss more, please reach out to Employee Relations for a conversation. Thanks again for the feedback.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to grow

      Oct 22, 2020 - Senior Manager Business Development in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Product is great, really ahead of competition. If you have actual experience with IT infra, you'll quickly realize that NTNX really does address a lot of pain points (it's not just marketing). It's great to believe in the mission of the company and know you're actually helping customers. NTNX is no longer a small startup so it's lost a bit of that small company/startup feel. However, there's plenty of opportunity to grow and move into different roles. Depending on what team you're on, promotions can be difficult to come by but overall comp is good and star performers are well rewarded (monetarily as well as with career development opportunities). Exec visibility and support is easy to get. There's a lot of freedom given to define your own OKR's and work on your own initiatives. Like anywhere else, your overall experience will be determined by your direct manager and your own initiative as well as the trust and reputation you build. Benefits are great. Corp IT systems and resources are great as well. There aren't a lot of hindrances to doing your job.

      Cons

      We're in a transition period with a number of key early employees leaving. It's unclear what the company will look like culture and leadership-wise over the next few years. Not quite as laser focused as before on the product front.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Nutanix Response

      The Nutanix Team

      Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are smiling knowing that you are enjoying your time at Nutanix. We appreciate you embracing 'getting comfortable being uncomfortable' as we continue to evolve as a company through our growth and transitions. Please feel free to have an open conversation with your manager at any time to share more specific feedback and ideas around areas that we can improve your experience. Thanks again for your kind words and for being a part of our team!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Opportunities abound if you go after them

      Apr 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The BEST health insurance you will ever have (100% Nutanix paid) Lots of autonomy for self-directed, ambitious people Plentiful professional growth opportunities for hungry people The new CEO seems strong & is committed to improving diversity & inclusion

      Cons

      Some teams don't play nicely with others Majority of employees are white or Indian Very few women and people of color represented at the exec & board level Work life balance is hard with global timezones & if you do not draw boundaries

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,014 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Nutanix Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Systems Reliability Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Nutanix? Share Your Experiences

    or