Nyack College Reviews | Glassdoor

Nyack College Reviews

Updated Feb 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Michael G. Scales
17 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nyack College full-time

    Pros

    The community there is awesome

    Cons

    I wish enrollment was higher

    Nyack College2018-03-14
  2. "Fine Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Faculty in Nyack, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nyack College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coworkers pray with each other

    Cons

    Changes slow to be communicated

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support your workers through the change

    Nyack College2019-02-11
  3. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nyack College full-time

    Pros

    The people you will meet are extraordinary. You will find peers to support you. Our students are incredible. They will teach you as a employee much more than anticipated. Promotion from within occurs when possible.

    Cons

    Compensation is not up to industry standards, but being a non-profit, most employees understand this coming in. Certain positions in certain departments are asked/expected to work two full jobs; others are expected to take on additional duties without additional compensation or official promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate fairly. Allow for career advancement for all employees. Listen to employees as they have a lot of good ideas and have a strong read on the customers. Listen to the students to find out which small details are most important to their experience. Find different ways to be lean without thinning out the herd or giving excessive workloads.

    Nyack College2018-09-25
  4. "Awesome Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nyack College part-time

    Pros

    Great work Awesome People to work with

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Nyack College2018-06-08
  5. "Current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nyack College full-time

    Pros

    Great community and dedication to students, great for minority students.

    Cons

    Limited room for growth, needs more investment.

    Nyack College2017-11-22
  6. "Students worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nyack College part-time

    Pros

    Flexible supervisors, and understanding of situations.

    Cons

    Wish pay was better.

    Nyack College2017-09-11
  7. "Admissions Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nyack College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best team and colleagues! Atmosphere, people, students are fulfilling and personally wonderful!

    Cons

    low pay, no professional growth, high turnover, communication needs to be consistent

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your workers who are willing and able. Treat them the same and the high turnover rate will eventually hurt the school

    Nyack College2017-07-28
  8. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nyack College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    College employee benefits, flexible hours, great coworkers

    Cons

    Losing focus on admissions, and operating more like a hotel under auxiliary services

    Advice to Management

    Get back to what made students pour in, authentic quality classes taught by quality professors, and bringing students in, instead of conferences.

    Nyack College2017-06-21
  9. "Administrative Assisstant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nyack College full-time

    Pros

    The students are very Christian

    Cons

    There is no opportunity for growth

    Advice to Management

    raise

    Nyack College2017-06-08
  10. "The hub of diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nyack College full-time

    Pros

    The leaders express appreciations to the staff, and at any stage of your career development your voices will be heard.

    Cons

    Sometimes some positions are expected to wear multiple hats, due to the nature of being a small institution. I personally see it as a great opportunity for growth and acquiring the sense of professional responsiblity.

    Nyack College2017-03-02
Found 32 reviews