Nylas Employee Reviews about "nylas"

Updated Oct 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 64 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Nylas CEO Gleb Polyakov (no image)
Gleb Polyakov
37 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

385

57 Comments

Tech

210.7K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Nylas~1122980
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "nylas"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great leadership, product and culture!! Rare opportunity

    Oct 26, 2020 - Customer Success 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nylas is destined to do great things, and if you are someone who is looking to work hard / take ownership in solving complex challenges so that one day you can say "I helped a company define and own an entire market" - then you are in the right place. Our product is leading the charge in solving a real need of a lot of SAAS businesses (an ever expanding market), which in turn makes their product more powerful, and subsequently their users more productive and engaged with their app. As a result of this, you can imagine what our growth has looked like. We're on track to double our revenue this year (after doing the same the year prior). In the past 6 months, the rate of new features and improvements to our platform has sky rocketed - and we're now setting on a bold mission to develop and streamline the accessibility of desirable "smart" communication features, so that software companies of all shapes and sizes can provide the most optimal and productive experiences for their users. It is inspiring and reassuring that our leadership team is so focused on pushing the envelope, recognizing that we cannot settle. With such bold goals, you need bold people. Nylas is comprised of motivated people who recognize that the only way we can capitalize on this amazing opportunity is by going boldly. You will have to work hard, but it will be fun - you will be encouraged and supported by your peers, and you will ultimately see the fruits of your labor as the product (not to beat a dead horse) addresses a serious market need. With this growth, there is so much to figure out and do. You will never be bored. You need to be comfortable in working in a fast-paced environment where you are juggling a lot. If you are the type of person who wants to stretch your boundaries and grow on a daily basis, this is for you. So come join us!!

    Cons

    the company is growing super fast, with this comes challenges - but nothing that isn't over come-able with a little added effort

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Benefits/Perks

    Oct 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nylas offers a generous benefits package, which includes: competitive pay & equity, 90% employer paid premiums for health insurance (medical, dental, vision), $150 wellness stipend, $50 cell phone reimbursement, $1,000 personal/professional development budget, 401k match, unlimited PTO.

    Cons

    Nylas is growing very quickly and that comes with a set of challenges and growing pains. Benefits are not the same across different locations (US/Canada/EU).

    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excited about our focus on productivity and new VPs

    Oct 16, 2020 - Senior Solutions Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Productivity increases > 10x in 2020 while reducing COGS - HUGE expansion into "productivity infrastructure" that people can drop into their existing products - Sales are off the charts - Transition from "lifestyle" company to collaborative, inclusive, and hard-working team - Maintained transparent and inclusive culture despite crazy upwards scaling - Many direct lines of feedback (even anonymous) directly to leadership - Positive culture and the most empathetic and self-aware leadership I've ever seen - CTO & CEO have done a great job of maintaining inclusive & transparent culture while shifting to productivity-first culture - High employee retention (caveat in engineering mentioned in Cons section) I've been at Nylas for over 2.5 years with no plans on leaving. ---- Engineering ---- In January 2020, we hired a new highly experienced VP of Engineering that righted the ship. We now have teams building frontend components, rebuilt our entire admin dashboard in ~1 month, ML capabilities, integrations beyond email/calendar/contacts, and we shipped more features in the last quarter than the previous year combined! We've managed to improve reliability and scalability of our product while expanding our functionality, which includes running our infrastructure in regions around the world. If you join Nylas you'll get to work on core parts of the platform, solving tough distributed systems challenges or other high impact projects. For instance, my very first project was to rebuild our API rate limiting from scratch. ---- Sales ---- We hired our VP of Sales over a year ago, and he's grown our sales team from ~10 to 45, expanded into Denver, NY, and London. We've also consistently broken records for new logos and ARR on a monthly basis. I switched to solutions engineering in pre-sales from software engineering for the first time in my career, and the AEs and our VP have taken me from no sales experience to closing enterprise deals in < 6 months. We get amazing support from product and engineering for feature requests. Our VP of engineering and PMs go so far as to join important sales calls to get requirements for new features & timelines. Our sales process involves a free trial with full access to our APIs that almost always go smoothly. If we can get prospects to do a POC it's almost guaranteed to close.

    Cons

    Engineering Turnover We used to have bunch of engineers who *only* cared about D&I and work-life balance, so we had some of the lowest internal dev velocity in the industry. Hence all the recent negative reviews and high turnover, exclusively in engineering. Engineers *used to* take 50+ PTO days a year across the board. Most of them have left. What good is Nylas' industry leading inclusive culture if we fail as a company? Scaling We've more than doubled head count in the last year, so we're dealing with the pains that every company goes through. We're currently switching from a direct-communication amongst departments to more process so a lot of things are in flux at one time. This is what I find fun about working at startups, though. Culture vs Productivity Balance Nylas' culture is extremely rare for startups, and basically nonexistent in large companies. This means that we have to figure out how to balance our easygoing and inclusive culture with the hard requirements of running a potential unicorn startup. I think our CEO & CTO have done a better job than I could have, but it's something that requires every employee to actively work towards to maintain our culture while also becoming wildly successful before we have any direct competition. Engineering I think our infrastructure is currently too monolithic, and we need to start having teams dedicated to smaller parts of it than the whole platform. This allows more subject matter experts on particular services or features than generalists. We've made great steps towards this in 2020, but there's a lot of (fun IMO) work left here.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    This is the company

    Oct 16, 2020 - Enterprise Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most people I know working in tech search their whole career for their ideal role which generally is some combination of great leadership, an outstanding product that people care about, amazing benefits and a real culture that is neither fake nor forced. I know I had. Nylas is the perfect combination of everything and more and everyone I interact with daily is a group of the smartest, most encouraging, dedicated people in the industry. Super proud of our team and where we’re headed.

    Cons

    It’s a startup, don’t expect to come in and have everything figured out already.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A Great Company Who Truly Cares About Employees

    Jun 16, 2020 - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You know those companies on Glassdoor that have so many good reviews you start wonder if it’s too good to be true? At Nylas, what you see is really what you get. They are a company who cares deeply about their employees, values diversity, and makes it a centerpiece of their culture. On top of the culture, the product is extremely interesting and in a market that seems to be recession proof.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fast-Paced and Exciting

    Oct 16, 2020 - Team Lead Business Development in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Dynamic work environment where the sky is the limit - World-class product - Opportunity to quickly grow professional skills - Immersion into Tech - Strong, motivated leadership

    Cons

    - This isn't exactly a con, but Nylas moves very fast. It's exciting to be along for the ride!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Nylas Engineering Internship

    Sep 24, 2016 - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nylas is full of amazing employees. Coming to work every day feeling like everyone in the office was more skilled, knowledgeable, and talented than myself was a great intern experience. The pay was quite good, the office is very nice, and there are great job perks. The technical problems are challenging and the frontend team moves very fast. Everyone on the engineering team was approachable and friendly. There's a surprising lack of technical debt in the codebase, which relies on very modern web technologies. The office culture is not at all brogrammer-y.

    Cons

    When I worked at Nylas, it felt like we had a collection of amazing individuals, but we didn't have a good team. Work was done in a collection of "one-person shops" with little collaboration or management, which I believe led to burnout and unusually high turnover. There was an alarming lack of retrospection or process reflection until just before I left. (In May, a new VP of Engineering was hired, and I believe he has made good progress towards addressing these problems.) The biggest problem for me was that I never received a single piece of critical feedback - even as I was leaving the company. I'm an intern! There must be things I should be better at! I wished someone would have told me what they thought those things were, but even when I explicitly asked for it, no one provided such feedback.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    People who really care, and awesome learning opportunities

    Aug 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at a few start-ups in San Francisco and have found Nylas to be the weirdest place in the best possible ways. I've never seen a company that has so many employees who care so much about the company and culture and their coworkers. People here want to see each other succeed, and I have felt supported at every step of the way for my career goals. We hire great people and have a really diverse team in terms of gender, race, education, working style, interests. I've also never seen a leadership team that is willing to answer questions about literally anything: hiring, financials, company direction, strategy, etc. It's really great to know exactly where the company is going and why and how. My manager has been supportive of my growth in the company, which is why I like to work in start-ups (opportunity for growth and to work on a lot of different things). Our education stipend is also great! I'm putting it to good use. Overall, I'm really enjoying my time at Nylas and don't see it ending any time soon.

    Cons

    People are really passionate about the things they care about, and it sometimes causes long discussions. But this is also a good thing, in my experience, because we have the openness to talk about issues and work through things.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nylas is just what I was looking for in a company and for my career!

    Feb 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nylas provides a lot of positives for employees and for the sector of business in which it participates. The atmosphere is very welcoming, both from the perspective of office decor and the personnel and leadership team. The tools that are provided to do your job are of high quality, including Macbook Air and lots of meeting rooms. The company benefits package is overall very good with the inclusion of things such as unlimited snacks, company paid lunch daily, unlimited vacation time, and flexible work hours. Given the growth trajectory of the company, by working hard there is the opportunity to move up and make an impact.

    Cons

    As is true in most all startup environments, the autonomy can lead to lack of direction at times. I see it as an opportunity to thrive but it could be difficult for some individuals depending on work style.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nylas is a high-five work environment (see below)

    Mar 12, 2019 - Business Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nylas has an amazing culture. This of course starts from the people they hire (very diverse, with backgrounds from many industries and companies) and the opportunities they provide (educational stipends, incredible benefits, team-building). One of my favorite spaces as well, incredible setup with an assortment of foods and beverages at your disposal. Lunch is delivered (custom orders) to you every day as well. There is also plenty of room to grow, and becasue of the rapidly accelerating nature of their current business, I believe that almost everyone will be promoted within a year. Its is that type of growth trajectory that I think fuels the employees to put passion into their projects, and connect to the mission at large. Other notes: dog-friendly, working from home encouraged for engineers, happy hour every week, leadership is open and available, business is in demand

    Cons

    Hmmmm.... tough one here. Would like to see matching on 401(k) in the future, but the other benefits are fantastic. Medical, Dental, Vision are all covered.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Nylas Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Nylas? Share Your Experiences

or