Nyrstar Reviews | Glassdoor

Nyrstar Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Hilmar Rode
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Decent pay for area but could be better(in 5 reviews)

  • "Mostly good people to work with(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "And lies to employees daily about the desperate situation at the mines(in 4 reviews)

  • "The upper management works on buddy system(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nyrstar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent coworkers and work environment

    Cons

    office was relocated to TN

    Nyrstar2019-06-13
  2. "Zinc producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Clarksville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nyrstar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    24-7 operations so a lot of hours available.

    Cons

    It is a very hot and dusty environment.

    Advice to Management

    Learn that your most important resource is your employees. If you give them what they need they will produce and your turnover rate will go down considerably.

    Nyrstar2019-05-06
  3. "WOW. A new low."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Miner in New Market, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nyrstar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good co-workers. and good times. the work can be enjoyable if you let it.

    Cons

    Management has their head up their butt. And lies to employees daily about the desperate situation at the mines. This company is going under soon. TODAY on the same day they DEFAULTED on a massive loan interest payment, they also DEFAULTED on paying their employees.. NO check for us.

    Advice to Management

    Go somewhere else and let those who know how to run a real mine run it. Or just close the damn doors. mMay as well since no one will work there without a check. Not one person went underground today as a protest over not getting paid. Heck we were even told they couldnt write us paper checks because there was no money. THEY ARE DEAD BROKE AND CANT PAY EMPLOYEES

    Nyrstar2019-03-15
  4. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nyrstar full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay for area but could be better

    Cons

    Individuals in positions that they are not qualified for just by holding a degree in "whatever".

    Advice to Management

    Your production teams know the mines better than management so maybe communicate with production

    Nyrstar2019-01-18
  5. "Great People , Hard Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nyrstar full-time

    Pros

    I am so thankful that this company has introduced me to great people and amazing crews. Even the contractors come with amazing stories. It's a great start to a career, as it's very easy to get into and have many different people to learn from. These people are very keen on teaching younger employees new skills and keep them safe.

    Cons

    Management is very poor. I'm not sure whether the issue is they don't have time or don't care about their people. Most of my training comes from coworkers and being self reliant. It takes a tremendous amount of effort to succeed. Even then, your feats will not be recognized. You'll either not be doing well in other areas or just be given more hats to wear. The lack of morale that the employees have is heartbreaking....

    Show More
    Nyrstar2018-11-24
  6. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nyrstar

    Pros

    Decent pay and advancement oppotunities

    Cons

    Highly unstable work environment and stressful

    Advice to Management

    Stabalize

    Nyrstar2018-10-19
  7. "Production Superintendent underground Clarksville plant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nyrstar full-time

    Pros

    Good people with experience from around the world.

    Cons

    Long hours with too many meetings

    Nyrstar2018-11-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nyrstar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None n/a nothing not a damn thing

    Cons

    Everything this place is a joke

    Nyrstar2018-10-19
  9. "Nyrstar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Nyrstar full-time

      Pros

      Time off, plenty of OT

      Cons

      Medical sucks, mandatory OT is a pain at times.

      Nyrstar2018-07-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Working for Nyrstar"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Nyrstar full-time

      Pros

      Pay good for local area. Insurance decent.

      Cons

      Poor management, don't know what they are doing. Poor morale. Will probably shut down again when Zinc goes down.

      Advice to Management

      Corporate, come in and clean house!

      Nyrstar2018-06-21
    Found 61 reviews