Cover image for O.C. Tanner
Logo

O.C. Tanner

Engaged Employer

O.C. Tanner

Add a Review

O.C. Tanner Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2023

To filter reviews, or .

Found 400 of over 420 reviews

4.2
76%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
O.C. Tanner CEO Dave Petersen
Dave Petersen
272 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

403

132 Comments

Consulting

436.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=O.C. Tanner~7910
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about O.C. Tanner? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with O.C. Tanner employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great purpose and people.(in 47 reviews)
  • "Benefits are great and the future of the company is bright.(in 36 reviews)
  • "The culture is great and from day one you truly feel welcomed.(in 32 reviews)
  • "Really smart and great employees.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Great bonuses worked with many many people I loved it felt like a family(in 13 reviews)
Cons
  • "Because of the low pay the balance of work and life is skewed because people have to work more than 1 job to make ends meet.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Bad management makes all the difference.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Sales leadership is clueless.(in 11 reviews)
  • "There is little or no direction from managers and it is common for managers to throw their subordinates 'under the bus.'(in 10 reviews)
  • "Work from home has been great, but I miss the food from the onsite cafe at the office.(in 7 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of O.C. Tanner and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to work

    Jan 17, 2023 - Account Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive environment and great culture, want to develop and promote from inside

    Cons

    not the best at paying well

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    It’s alright

    Jan 18, 2023 - Purchasing Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company. I feel like it’s a stable place.

    Cons

    Terrible management in this area.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    They as awesome

    Dec 30, 2022 - Production Assembler in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, great management, teamwork

    Cons

    None ,great company to work for

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jan 12, 2023 - Marketing Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture in local office and global offices. Management truly care about their people and give back to charity. Great leadership. Genuinely love working here. It’s a wonderful feeling to be recognised for my work. Bonuses are greatly appreciated. Opportunities to travel for work.

    Cons

    Salary is mid-range average for the state. The product is less modern than it could be in my own opinion. The involvement from global team can make it slow to get things done quickly (local is fine though). Unsure if there are any opportunities for career growth.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Low pay

    Jan 9, 2023 - Manufacturing in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great teammates ,good benefits, good cafeteria

    Cons

    Low pay, management does care about people

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Retailiatory firing

    Jan 4, 2023 - Systems Administrator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great technology Great teammates Necessary experience Local food New role

    Cons

    Low pay Left in dark as to how I'm performing (not all managers did this) Cult of personality leadership No notice of job loss Laid off within 2 minutes and cut off (super rough way to lose a job)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    It Depends

    Dec 26, 2022 - Anonymous/Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer benefits immediately and a good 401K match. Upper management seemed nice.

    Cons

    Lack of training. I was hired for an entry level job then expected to know how to do it without a lot of training or help. My job was detailed and I couldn’t mess up but didn’t feel trained enough to do well. I bought this up to HR and my manager and her manager but no one helped me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    You’ll understand once your out

    Nov 30, 2022 - Corporate Projects Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Forgiving culture, managers who drink the flavor-ade, company discount store. Sometimes profit sharing and bonuses. 401k is great if they pay you enough to afford to put money towards your plan.

    Cons

    No cost of living increases in over a decade. If you’re hourly expect penny’s in raises and expect to be appreciative. Looking back, I stayed 2 years too long. The jobs are great for entry level and getting your feet set but move on to greener pastures asap. For all the talk about employee, appreciation and culture, they miss a major piece of that, which is adequately compensating people for their work. If you are in any client success role, you need to get your experience and leverage that toward a real salary elsewhere

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company, despite antiquated approach

    Nov 12, 2022 - Engineering Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture is still mostly good.

    Cons

    Outdated leadership at the executive level, lack of focus on technology, church-centric culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Shipping and receiving

    Nov 6, 2022 - Shipping and Receiving 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great place to work for. very friend environment

    Cons

    I don't think anything bad for this company

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 400 Reviews

O.C. Tanner Reviews FAQs

O.C. Tanner has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 420 reviews left anonymously by employees. 76% of employees would recommend working at O.C. Tanner to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, O.C. Tanner employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at O.C. Tanner. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

76% of O.C. Tanner employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated O.C. Tanner 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.3 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at O.C. Tanner to be benefits, culture, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, management, career development.

Popular Careers with O.C. Tanner Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at O.C. Tanner? Share Your Experiences

O.C. Tanner logo
or

Reviews by Job Title