O'Neal Steel Reviews | Glassdoor

O'Neal Steel Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
O'Neal Steel CEO Stephen Armstrong (no image)
Stephen Armstrong
1 Ratings
  1. "owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at O'Neal Steel full-time

    Pros

    great pay,friendly working environment , on the job training, long term skilled co workers

    Cons

    work slows down at times,pay is based on jobs not salary,

    Advice to Management

    none

    O'Neal Steel2017-07-27
  2. "Not fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loader in Shelbyville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at O'Neal Steel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freedom I saw my supervisor like once or twice in a night

    Cons

    Poor poor really poor management

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting Alabama run this plant.

    O'Neal Steel2019-10-24
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Ambridge, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O'Neal Steel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people that work there are the best part of the company. From the top to the bottom, all around genuine people.

    Cons

    A little too much feeling of nepotism

    Advice to Management

    Reward everyone for their hard work not just the favorites.

    O'Neal Steel2019-01-06
  4. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Laser Operator in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at O'Neal Steel

    Pros

    The work was not very hard , friendly work environment, decent benefits, not too big of a place with a lot of people.

    Cons

    The Pay was usually low, high turnover rate for floor workers, non heated building, very dirty most of the time. Always management changes.

    Advice to Management

    Get organized.

    O'Neal Steel2018-01-26
  5. "Focused Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O'Neal Steel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong legacy and commitment to the future.

    Cons

    The overall industry is pretty stagnant.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to customers and employees.

    O'Neal Steel2017-10-28
  6. "Great team members"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O'Neal Steel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive and fun team members, positive environment. Achievable goals for the team. Good hiring practices on onboarding new sales people.

    Cons

    High turnover in management. Keeping up with changing expectations and ideas was difficult because it distracted from getting the job done.

    Advice to Management

    Until you see it’s actually broken, don’t “fix” it

    O'Neal Steel2017-10-16
  7. "Tennis Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at O'Neal Steel part-time

    Pros

    Great hourr for students with limited time.

    Cons

    Needs growth because other employees have not herd of this nonprofit.

    O'Neal Steel2017-08-01
  8. "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O'Neal Steel full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, family oriented company

    Cons

    frequent change of management in the past 3 years

    O'Neal Steel2017-06-13
  9. "Good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Birmingham, AL
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O'Neal Steel

    Pros

    The managers I've had have been good working with you on family emergencies and time away. Everyone is friendly and genuinely has a good time at work.

    Cons

    Lay offs seem to occur every few years Vacation time is not competitive with other employers Pay is not competitive Training is not relative to my job

    Advice to Management

    Training relative to my field of work

    O'Neal Steel2017-04-20
  10. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at O'Neal Steel full-time

    Pros

    Close knit group of long term employees

    Cons

    Adverse to change and growth

    O'Neal Steel2017-03-22
Found 42 reviews