O'Neill Reviews | Glassdoor

O'Neill Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
O'Neill CEO Daniel Neukomm
Daniel Neukomm
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O'Neill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, fun environment, learned a lot, and gained tons of experience.

    Cons

    Training associates could be a lot better.

    O'Neill2019-01-09
  2. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at O'Neill part-time

    Pros

    Hot Co-workers. Or well...before they got fired.

    Cons

    Not many benefits besides the amazing discount

    O'Neill2017-11-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "great environment and little HS drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at O'Neill full-time

    Pros

    minimal employees means minimal drama, hours are great "in house benefits" are good too. "in house" management is fair and approachable. work load is perfect for all ages and genders.

    Cons

    pay could be better, needs advancement opportunities to be more often, upper brass needs work they seem to not have a clue how anything works. no over time. most of all their contract guy and their MEX liaison guy needs to be fired they cost the company so much many to make bad decisions.

    Advice to Management

    get rid of contract and liaison guy now!

    O'Neill2017-04-28
  4. "No communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at O'Neill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clothes, New faces, loyal customers

    Cons

    Pay is unequal between genders, immaturity and rudeness towards retail employees from higher up, no communication, things never get done or take forever when it's up to corporate, CEO is abrasive

    O'Neill2017-03-30
  5. "Working Environment at O'Neill in Irvine, California"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Artist in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O'Neill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun Place To Work, Great People, Tons of Freedom, Passionate Co-Workers, Skateboarding & Skate Ramps, Pets Allowed, Causal Dress, Substantial Clothing Discounts, Wetsuit Discounts, Full Benefits Package, Free Lunch on Monday's, Free Bagels on Wednesday's, Creative Freedom for Designers, Tattoos are Welcomed, Hip, Happy Co-Workers and Overall Working Environment, Everyone is Down To Earth and Friendly, Super Rad... Management, HR Super Cool.

    Show More

    Cons

    I Can't Find Any Yet. Super Rad Place To Work. O'Neill Created a Super Productive Environment and Hires Great Personalities Mixed With Talent.

    Advice to Management

    Keep Up The Great Work! Thanks for Creating a Rad Place To Work!

    O'Neill2016-11-02
  6. "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at O'Neill

    Pros

    Surf Life, Fun, Outgoing, Clothes

    Cons

    Lots of Work, No Structure, No Growth, No Understanding

    O'Neill2016-06-29
  7. "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at O'Neill full-time

    Pros

    Cool, fun projects to work on.

    Cons

    Sometimes it's stressful to work on said projects.

    O'Neill2016-07-07
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O'Neill

    Pros

    Very open and friendly culture

    Cons

    Workload can be tough in high season

    O'Neill2016-01-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at O'Neill for less than a year

    Pros

    It was my first time having a job and i just turned 19. The paychecks were new to me and I was able to get more hours by covering other peoples shift on a weekly basis. The managers were very chill and it felt like i was hardly working some of the time.

    Cons

    The work seemed to be undermining my real skills that i have to offer. You really wont learn much there or even develop that much on a professional basis. The pay is minimum wage and there is no set schedule so it is difficult to plan your social life around your work schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Keep track of how many hours each one of your workers want. In the season of winter we were clearly overstaffed and most were only getting 8-12 hours per week. This was simply ridiculous and it seemed almost unorthodox to me. It would be best to hire less people and have happier employees who are actually satisfied with their hours. I wanted to quit and find a new job. So i did.

    O'Neill2015-05-06
  10. "Sales Assistant Job at O'Neill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Bridgend, Wales
    Recommends

    I worked at O'Neill part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere. Amazing staff and great working hours.

    Cons

    The pay isn't the best.

    O'Neill2019-06-26
Found 25 reviews