O'Reilly Auto Parts "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

O'Reilly Auto Parts Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Jan 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
O'Reilly Auto Parts CEO, Co-President Greg Johnson
Greg Johnson
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, benefits if you are full-time, employee discount(in 115 reviews)

  • "Commission every month, learn about cars(in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management treats you like a number(in 74 reviews)

  • "Pay was lowered when went from full to part time without my consent or discussion of it with me(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Service Specialist in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O'Reilly Auto Parts part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic work environment, great culture, reasonable hours, reasonable pay

    Cons

    Difficult customers (retail setting), little-to-no PTO for part time employees.

    O'Reilly Auto Parts2019-02-01
  2. "Company not very giving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parts Specialist in Kalamazoo, MI

    I have been working at O'Reilly Auto Parts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and great coworkers. Able to help people.

    Cons

    Company overworks employees trying to cut payroll. Part-time employees are working upwards of 35 hours a week. Company doesn't want to hire new people, but neither do they want to give employees full-time pay/benefits. Pay is barely anything to live off of.

    Continue reading
    O'Reilly Auto Parts2020-01-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Service Specialist in Youngstown, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O'Reilly Auto Parts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun, energetic atmosphere, opportunity to learn a lot

    Cons

    Pay is low, room to move up was limited "due to my age" and would not be granted certain promotions as a result, regardless of my performance. Pay was lowered when went from full to part time without my consent or discussion of it with me

    Continue reading
    O'Reilly Auto Parts2019-07-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O'Reilly Auto Parts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great as a part time job if your I school, and depending on your area there is room for advancement

    Cons

    Full time workers are underpaid and over worked, lack of communication, and openness amongst district managers, and lower management.

    Continue reading
    O'Reilly Auto Parts2019-07-05
  5. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at O'Reilly Auto Parts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with your personal schedule if part time.

    Cons

    The warehouse is HOT in the summer.

    O'Reilly Auto Parts2019-03-07
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Go broke while working all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at O'Reilly Auto Parts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The employee discount is awesome. Good part-time job.

    Cons

    Store managers tend to be mindless puppets. District managers are out of touch. Above that point they're pretty much corporate drones. The O'Reilly culture is an illusion to keep underpaid employees happy while they're being over worked and passed over for promotion. The commission for anyone not in an extremely busy store is a joke. This is the type of place where it's who you know, not what you know. Hard work will get you no where.

    Continue reading
    O'Reilly Auto Parts2019-01-30
  7. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O'Reilly Auto Parts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pride themselves in customer service and keeping a clean store. Also, a nice employee discount.

    Cons

    Management will hire you and work you like a full-time employee but you get part-time benefits

    Continue reading
    O'Reilly Auto Parts2018-11-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at O'Reilly Auto Parts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Driving all day is fun.

    Cons

    Pay doesn't cover even a third of my expenses and no raises are given, only part time work hours are offered. Food service workers get better pay. Winter driving risks are huge and vehicles are underequipped for slick road conditions.

    Continue reading
    O'Reilly Auto Parts2018-11-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parts Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at O'Reilly Auto Parts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts for parts. If full time vacation and health

    Cons

    If part time they work you just under full time so that you are not eligible for full time benefits. Terrible hours and most of TERRIBLE PAY! Less chance for promotion if you work in HUB

    Continue reading
    O'Reilly Auto Parts2018-02-13
  10. "It works for me right now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Specialist in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at O'Reilly Auto Parts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My work location is wonderful when it comes to working around my class schedules. My coworkers at my location are generally fairly relaxed. Everyone seems to get along well. Some room for advancement is that is the path you want to take, but depends on area turnover and store growth, so beyond assistant manager you're stuck unless there's a shake up.

    Cons

    Pay rates are generally, based on my observation and experience at other non-automotive related retail companies, below average. No benefits for part time employees, at all.

    Continue reading
    O'Reilly Auto Parts2017-12-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 92 reviews