OCBC Bank Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
OCBC Bank Group CEO Samuel N. Tsien
Samuel N. Tsien
448 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good working environment - room to learn(in 110 reviews)

  • "The focus on work life balance is incredible(in 82 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "office politics; lack of work life balance(in 116 reviews)

  • "Long working hours, sunday banking(in 101 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Assistant Vice President

      Nov 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pro employee development and rotation opportunities

      Cons

      Can have better work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      On Par with the Industry

      Mar 22, 2021 - Sales Manager in Thornton, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked during COVID great schedule

      Cons

      typically ego's that get in the way of production

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      AVP

      Nov 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work at. Friendly and very nice employees, minus one or two. Pay is in line with the market and the benefits are good. Good place for recent graduates.

      Cons

      Not many people get promotioned.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Oct 10, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Passionate and friendly coworkers. I was an intern for 2 months and both my coworkers and manager were extremely helpful.

      Cons

      The team organization could be improved a little bit. When I was there our team had 2 interns, but the analysts still did most of the work. Few would ask us to do something if we hadn't take the initiative.

      Continue reading
      38 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Credit Operation Officer

      Aug 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good place to learn, good managers, good benefits, flexible leave plan, many volunteer programs, willing to fund employees' further education.

      Cons

      Depending on where you are and which team you work for, management sometimes is not engaging and employee satisfaction survey can be manipulated. However OCBC Group is quite big so this does not speak for all managers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OCBC Bank Response

      HR Marketing

      Thank you for giving your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the benefits and compensations we have put in place for employees. The purpose of Employee Satisfaction Survey is to find out what our employees were happy with and what they did not like. A lot of time is spent looking at not only the ‘numbers’ but also the verbatims – suggestions and comments written by employees in the survey’s open-ended questions. This gives us information on what we can do better. We are committed to building the best place to work so do be assured that your voice matters.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      accounting

      Aug 29, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      medical benefits, holidays, pto, paid leave,

      Cons

      mediocre management, no room for growth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OCBC Bank Response

      Marketing Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad you enjoy the benefits and remuneration here. We are sorry to hear about your experience with management and your lack of growth. We encourage staff to try out other roles through our Internal Job Posting or Xplore options to see if there are other departments which are more suited to their needs. To help us better understand your situation so that we can take constructive actions, please write to weseeyou@ocbc.com.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      corporate finance

      Jun 9, 2016 -  in China, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      training, job interviews and trainers are very helpful and nice. They really care. Creative and innovative, fast moving, transparent igorous process of screening and interviewing candidates but do this in a warm and friendly manner that helps you feel at ease. They really focus on your talents and personality when assessing if you are culturally fitting to the ethos of the company and the interview questions feel more like a conversation than an interrogation which I'm sure many of us have had to face in the past.

      Cons

      salary, lack of flexible time. Long work day while in training.Long hours, stressful in time the business should be expanded to different sector in the future.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Opportunity to Learn

      Sep 21, 2011 - Loan Operations Intern in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunity to learn about wholesale lending Small office allows for interaction with upper management as well as colleagues Standard 9-5 working hours

      Cons

      Due to OCBC's small presence in the U.S, Career advancement is limited Sometimes there isn't much to do as an intern. Would definitely need to stay longer to get a better grasp in the whole lending cycle

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good culture, more can be done for resource management

      Jun 1, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People here are amazing, major pull factor here

      Cons

      Headcount vs Work is always mismatched

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good learning experience

      Sep 25, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lot of learning opportunities and growth potential

      Cons

      No importance to work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,271 Reviews

    Popular Careers with OCBC Bank Job Seekers

    Young Bankers Programmer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Personal Financial Consultant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at OCBC Bank? Share Your Experiences

    OCBC Bank logo
    or