OECD Reviews | Glassdoor

OECD Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
OECD CEO Angel Gurría
Angel Gurría
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "International organization with very smart people, learning opportunities and pleasant work environment(in 21 reviews)

  • "excellentes conditions de travail, bonne ambiance(in 18 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OECD full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Substantive and meaningful work amazing staff who care about you

    Cons

    takes time to move things forward because of the bureaucracy

    OECD2019-06-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Public Affairs and Communications Intern, Washington, D.C."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OECD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a public affairs and communications intern at the OECD Washington Centre, you have the opportunity to make direct contributions in high-level settings as a team member of an organization with international influence. You gain valuable firsthand experience at the nexus of international politics and public policy, working alongside experienced and talented people who take a keen interest in helping you develop the... skills and confidence to pursue your professional goals. I benefited immensely from this engaging internship experience; it provided a strong foundation that helped me land my first job right after my college graduation. I would recommend this internship to anyone seeking a career in public policy, politics or communications.

    Show More

    Cons

    No negative review to offer

    OECD2018-08-07
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Get the experience, then move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OECD full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Location in Paris 2. Interesting work 3. Premier institution 4. Great benefits for from a European standpoint

    Cons

    1. Pretty much a Euro centric "club" when it comes to senior positions (with some exceptions), even though there are 35 member countries. 2. Not serious about promoting qualified women, minorities, or younger generation. A bunch of old dinosaurs who had previous high-level positions/connections in their own governments, come to the Organization to wrap up their careers 3. HR on-boarding process is "stale" and... they do not properly guide the interview panel

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Make the recruitment process more dynamic (including short test, multiple choice questions, samples of work) 2. Diversify the titles (not everyone needs to be an "Analyst" or "Adviser",) 3. Make promotion of women, minorities (especially Blacks and other people of color), and younger staff, a real cornerstone of the recruitment program, with milestones and programs that support them to get the appropriate... experience , exposure, and responsibility to reach the highest heights.

    Show More
    OECD2017-11-09

    OECD Response

    November 14, 2017HR Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comments and suggestions are well noted. At the OECD we are constantly working to improve the diversity of our workforce. We are constantly working to modernise our practices and to ensure a working environment that provides interesting career opportunities to all staff. This is why your feedback matters to us!

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Intern experience at OECD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at OECD

    Pros

    Really amazing experience-- great people who really tried to give me opportunities to do real work.

    Cons

    The "international" work environment may not be for everyone.

    OECD2016-11-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OECD full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, international and collaborative environment, exciting projects, good salary

    Cons

    Especially for new hires: uncertain career perspective, relatively low pay, long hours Apart from that: IT system is strange (no access to e-mails from home? it's 2016)

    OECD2016-10-21
  6. "Head Custodian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Custodian in Oceanview, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at OECD full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best job I ever had

    Cons

    You had to be ready to respond for any and all emergencies

    Advice to Management

    The person selected to this job has to dedicated and finish each job daily leaving no loose ends.

    OECD2016-04-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great work, moves slowly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at OECD

    Pros

    Get great experience across a number of countries

    Cons

    Things can move very slowly and be quite bureaucratic

    Advice to Management

    Work on not just rewarding people based on tenure.

    OECD2016-04-06
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Great benefits but great need for better management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OECD

    Pros

    Excellent salary package, health coverage and benefits, such as home leave for expat staff, education allowance, dependent's allowance, etc. Prestigious organisation that is good to have on your cv.

    Cons

    Technical experts are hired for management roles with no managerial skill set. The past several years have seen much restructuring of central services which has proved rather ineffective. HR caters to management as opposed to having a real role in assisting employees with mobility or resolving conflict. Career advancement is often more about who you know as opposed to qualifications for the position.

    Advice to Management

    Hire staff with management skills for management positions.

    OECD2015-12-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Vibrant think tank environment for driven sharp minds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at OECD

    Pros

    Environment open for dialogue, where drive gets positively rewarded with more responsibility

    Cons

    For some people the think tank atmosphere remains a bubble. It might get frustrating to focus on best-practice and not see it being implemented by governments because of politics.. Yet that's the whole challenge you take on when going in there..

    Advice to Management

    Keep positively rewarding go-getters who get up to speed fast, willing to take on more responsibility while still doing the grunt work too

    OECD2014-01-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "I learned a great deal about professional communication and organizing a large task with a strict deadline."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Public Affairs Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at OECD

    Pros

    Management was very flexible about taking time off for a family commitment. The Washington office communicates well and includes its interns in office meetings.

    Cons

    It took some time to finalize the internship because of complications between my university and OECD headquarters in Paris. Most of that was my adviser's failure to complete the necessary forms though.

    Advice to Management

    I greatly appreciate your efforts to include the other public affairs intern and me in office meetings and decisions regarding the entire organization.

    OECD2011-01-21
Found 151 reviews
</>Embed