OHSU Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
OHSU President  Danny Jacobs (no image)
Danny Jacobs
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Working in research the salary is not sustainable for the cost of living in portland(in 19 reviews)

  • "Limited career growth options, department disorganization, low pay(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, great team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OHSU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership, standard of excellence in everything, benefits

    Cons

    There can be a culture of over-working, but luckily I was on a team that balanced work/life well

    OHSU2020-04-28
  2. "Good Pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at OHSU part-time

    Pros

    Good experience working with critically ill patients

    Cons

    difficulty to move around due to union rules

    OHSU2020-06-01
  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Access Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OHSU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clear communication between management and staff Opportunity for growth Ample opportunities for involvement on committees Compensation and benefits are competitive Work-life balance

    Cons

    Parking is not great Sterile environment can be draining Clothes smell like a hospital when you leave

    OHSU2020-05-25
  4. "PAS specialist review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PAS Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OHSU part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth, diversity is valued, supportive of work life balance

    Cons

    Can be unorganized, parking is expensive at the hospital

    OHSU2020-05-18
  5. "OK, no prospect for advancement"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at OHSU full-time

    Pros

    Transit Benefits, Nice Co-Workers, Nice View, Free Tram Rides

    Cons

    No Remote Work, Very Bureaucratic, Poor Leadership, Hard to Get to

    OHSU2020-05-30
  6. "Great mission, Byzantine bureaucracy"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at OHSU full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work, good benefits and salary

    Cons

    Lack of accountability for faculty in how they treat staff

    Continue reading
    OHSU2020-05-15
  7. "It's a business"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant II in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at OHSU part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities for medical students or those looking to advance their career Highly innovative and intelligent community Good benefits, includes transit pass

    Cons

    As a competitively ranked teaching hospital OHSU recognizes that if you are not willing to bend over backward for them, there are plenty of other medical students who gladly will Very unprofessional culture Lacks common diversity and inclusion practices Many research positions are non unionized Each department seems to operate on their own terms, not as part of a bigger organization Discussions about revenue often take precedent over healthcare I have personally not received any of the project bonuses I was promised upon being hired (specific to research)

    Continue reading
    OHSU2020-05-28
  8. "Great career starter"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Coordinator in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OHSU full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay Great career trainings free of cost Easy to move around to different divisions/departments

    Cons

    Very political Micromanagement Commute/parking is so limited

    OHSU2020-05-19
  9. "Good place to work (but rough commute)"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Portland, OR

    I worked at OHSU full-time

    Pros

    Good entry level opportunity. Alternative commuter options are incentivized.

    Cons

    Commute is difficult. I was salaried and expected to work overtime, but report all missed hours as PTO.

    OHSU2020-05-03
  10. "no name"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OHSU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good working environment, good benefits

    Cons

    low pay relative to city expenses

    Continue reading
    OHSU2020-04-30
Found 736 reviews
</>Embed