OMNOVA Solutions Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
37%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
OMNOVA Solutions President and Chief Executive Officer Anne P. Noonan
Anne P. Noonan
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and no micromanagement(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great people, family 1st mentality(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is practically non-existent(in 4 reviews)

  • "It’s a waste of breath asking for help or support because upper management and hr acts as though they are too busy to address your complaints(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Great organization on the move"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OMNOVA Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support for employees to reach professional and personal goals Great pay and benefits package Good open communication between plants and corporate HQ Good relationship with local community

    Cons

    Currently going through a cultural change

    Continue reading

    OMNOVA Solutions Response

    September 12, 2018OMNOVA HR

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is an exciting time to be a part of the OMNOVA team! Our environment encourages employees to gain new skills and experiences and collaborate with others to improve our organization. I value open communication and have seen it make a positive impact on our operations. I am pleased to hear that you are observing this too. Continue to voice your ideas to support OMNOVA’s success for the future! I would be happy to hear any additional feedback you have as well. Marshall Moore Sr. VP & Chief Technology Officer

  2. "terrible"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Operator in Calhoun, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OMNOVA Solutions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good pay plenty of overtime

    Cons

    the worst management don't care


  3. "Still seeing growing pains from aquisition."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OMNOVA Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Benefits started first day of work!

    Cons

    New upper management from Synthomer is not very intouch with US operations

  4. "Innovative & design driven manufacturing division of global company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OMNOVA Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clients, R&D, Design and variety of products for many industries

    Cons

    Changes in management and programs too often

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t recommend...culture is bad"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Controller in Mogadore, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OMNOVA Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are fair. Plant employees are great.

    Cons

    Culture and environment are bad and they don’t value employees. Working at the plant is much better than at Beachwood where they micromanage. Best thing for the plants would be if Beachwood goes away with the new ownership.

    Continue reading

    OMNOVA Solutions Response

    February 25, 2020OMNOVA HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re happy to hear you value the relationships with your coworkers and your overall compensation and we’re sorry to hear your experience did not match your expectations. Our company is focused on continually building a culture of feedback and communicating openly and honestly, spearheaded by our Level Up initiative. All employees are empowered to have Level Up conversations with their managers to address concerns, suggest new ideas, or provide constructive feedback. To further foster a culture of feedback, leaders of all levels meet on a consistent basis to share best practices, identify pitfalls, ensure alignment, and cultivate new ideas. While our Senior Leadership Team (SLT) members are stationed in Beachwood, the majority have a diverse background in manufacturing and plant operations—including our CEO, CFO, CHRO, and Vice President of SHE&S—and lean on their collective expertise in this area to solve complex problems at the site-level. When it comes to employee experience, OMNOVA conducts a quarterly Pulse Survey to better understand employee perceptions. Our Q4 results show the global average to be 4.6/6 in our values and leadership, indicating high employee engagement. Additionally, the rate at which employees voluntarily leave the organization is well below the national average. Although our overall employee experience is high, we recognize and understand our culture is not for everyone and wish you well in your future endeavors! Jen Sloat HR Manager, Beachwood

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Money Bad Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Operator in Auburn, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OMNOVA Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay/ Easy Promotion/ Good Vacation/ Always overtime

    Cons

    Mandatory Overtime/ Promotion Requires a Replacement/ Won’t Get Pay Increase Until Moved/ Favoritism

    Continue reading

    OMNOVA Solutions Response

    February 10, 2020OMNOVA HR

    Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at OMNOVA. We’re happy to hear you’ve enjoyed the many benefits we provide our employees. Preparing team members for advancement and career growth is a key focus for OMNOVA and I’m proud of our track record of success in developing our workforce to reach new heights! In fact, we recently just promoted a Production Operator to a Production Shift Supervisor in Auburn. Beyond development, OMNOVA has historically provided employees with annual wage and salary increases as well as participation in discretionary performance-based incentive compensation plans. As with most manufacturing companies, overtime is, at times, expected to help meet demands and is a normal part of business. While we always strive to create a healthy work-life balance, there are times ‘all hands on deck’ are required to deliver results and meet our customers’ needs. We encourage all employees to take advantage of our feedback program, Level Up, to help drive continuous improvement which includes expressing any concerns with their supervisor when it comes to work-life balance, staffing and scheduling, or any other workplace issue. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review—it’s important to us. Rick Washburn Human Resources Manager, Auburn

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Product Compliance Division"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regulatory Compliance Specialist in Chester, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OMNOVA Solutions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary was above average and the people are very friendly. Safe place to Work.

    Cons

    Revolving door for management over my division. Management does not stay more than a year.

    OMNOVA Solutions Response

    January 29, 2020OMNOVA HR

    Thank you for taking the time to touch on your experience. We appreciate your contributions and are happy to hear you feel you were compensated fairly for your work and experienced a positive safety culture in Chester! Safety is one of our Core Values and we take it very seriously at OMNOVA. In 2017, OMNOVA gained a new CEO who shared a strategy to evolve our company performance and leverage functional and operational excellence. As a result, there has been improved organizational alignment around the strategy with changes at the senior leadership level. When it comes to finding the right fit, OMNOVA is not apologetic about demanding excellence from our leaders and seeking individuals who will not compromise our standards, quality service, and product stewardship. Thank you for your feedback. We take all employee feedback seriously. Kathy Vanderheyden Vice President, SHES

  8. "Great place to learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Beachwood, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OMNOVA Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The environment really challenges you to grow and learn. the collaboration between leaders in different departments is evident.

    Cons

    IT systems are fluky and IT support is weak.

    Continue reading

    OMNOVA Solutions Response

    October 2, 2019OMNOVA HR

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback! I agree with you— OMNOVA has continually shown commitment to my learning and development over the past two years and throughout my time spent in their Leadership Development Program. My manager has empowered me with opportunities to work through challenges affecting the business, collaborate with peers, and present my ideas to leadership. My experience here has truly helped shape me into the professional I am today and I’m very grateful for it! I’m sorry to hear you did not get the level of IT support you desired while working at OMNOVA. As a member of our IT department, I can assure you the progress we’ve made in the past two years has significantly contributed to our technological growth as a company. One of those improvements was the implementation of our Cherwell Employee Support portal, creating a one-stop-shop for employee IT support needs. While there’s much to be done, I’m excited about the upcoming implementations in the pipeline. If you have any suggestions for future enhancements, please feel free to reach out to Mark Macioce. We welcome your feedback! Bojan Stojmilovic Senior IT Project Lead

  9. "Hours are rough, pay is great"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Operator 

    I have been working at OMNOVA Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, location, room for advanacement

    Cons

    The hours can be hard but well worth it

    OMNOVA Solutions Response

    August 21, 2019OMNOVA HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you feel you’re being compensated fairly for your work and see room for advancement in your career! We are concerned you feel your work hours are not meeting your expectations. OMNOVA wants employees to have a healthy work-life balance and feel comfortable with their schedule. In light of our Value of Integrity, initiating a Level Up conversation with your manager to provide feedback on your hours and to seek an alternative shift might be a possible next step. If you have any other ideas on how to make your time with OMNOVA even more of a positive experience, please reach out to your HR site manager to discuss further. Dan Dunmeyer Human Resources Director

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OMNOVA Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and feverish friendly atmosphere. Always willing to grow their employees.

    Cons

    Not as advance as they should be in some areas of the business.

    Continue reading

    OMNOVA Solutions Response

    July 26, 2019OMNOVA HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you are enjoying your experience at OMNOVA! The growth and development of our employees is an organizational priority we take very seriously. For example, OMNOVA’s Level Up initiative puts emphasis on providing and receiving candid feedback, engaging in critical thinking, and having crucial conversations in real time. This approach supports our commitment to empowering and engaging all of our employees. If you have any suggestions regarding how we can advance certain areas of the business, I’d encourage you to share with your supervisor or any SLT member in a Level Up conversation! Sean-Paul Veilleux Talent Manager

Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 English Reviews