Oasis Petroleum Reviews | Glassdoor

Oasis Petroleum Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Oasis Petroleum CEO Thomas B. (Tommy) Nusz
Thomas B. (Tommy) Nusz
18 Ratings
  1. "Great Co"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oasis Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, environment, community involvement, incentives, comp and benefit package

    Cons

    None, enjoy working here and nothing to complain about

    Advice to Management

    None, continue developing and focus on strategy.

    Oasis Petroleum2019-07-30
  2. "Most of the people are great, the management cares about you and your family. It's hard to advance because people don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Williston, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oasis Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The senior management takes the time to care about how things will affect their employees.

    Cons

    Middle management needs to be weeded out. Most are good people, but some don't follow the companies core values and they get away with it. It doesn't help the rest of the employees stay honest if their manager is getting away with things.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on your middle management, they are shaping your next management team, some of them are doing it wrong.

    Oasis Petroleum2019-09-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Their good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Specialist 

    I have been working at Oasis Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for, they care about their employees.

    Cons

    They keep managers that arent managerial material.

    Oasis Petroleum2019-08-14
  4. "Good Culture, Good LTIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Specialist in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oasis Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture at Oasis is a strong asset. The employees are involved in many volunteer groups and events, they maintain group activities and involvement in social clubs and cultivate a passionate, caring environment. 401K matching above average, and LTIP with restricted stock and phantom stock unit awards occur yearly/twice yearly if market is strong.

    Cons

    Base pay is average at best, and workload is heavy. Promotion structure is not encouraging for junior-to-mid level employees.

    Oasis Petroleum2019-03-21
  5. "Establishment in place and not leaving - no joining the upper ranks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oasis Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    Was fast growing / PE backed, great story and fun environment

    Cons

    Growth has petered out, unprofitable stock grants,

    Oasis Petroleum2019-01-31
  6. "Great place to be while I was there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Accountant in Houston, TX
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oasis Petroleum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers Challenging work Benefits Career progression Recognition of hard workers

    Cons

    Work life balance/long stressful hours

    Advice to Management

    Be fair don’t show favoritism for the wrong reasons

    Oasis Petroleum2019-01-04
  7. "This company used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Field Job in Williston, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oasis Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I don't know. This company has changed a lot. It isn't what it used to be. I joined here and was happy for a long time because it was so different than anywhere I had ever worked. It is starting to turn into those places with burned out and frustrated employees. That is probably why turnover is getting higher and higher.

    Cons

    There are a lot of middle managers, and some who clearly shouldn't be in the positions they are with their horrible decision making, but I think that probably happens in any company. Oasis used to have a very relaxed safety culture, too relaxed to be honest. Over the past few years they have instituted a great safety culture, but it is steering away from common sense and starting to go way overboard. I fear they... will become one of those companies that paralyze employees in an overzealous safety culture. I imagine it has more to do with corporate liability then actually pretending to care more about the safety of employees then the employees themselves. If you hire quality people who care about their own safety and lives, you don't have to pound safety into them constantly. Hold people accountable and fire the idiots and safe work will happen.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep caring about your employees, and they will always take care of you.

    Oasis Petroleum2019-01-10
  8. "Lease Operstor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lease Operator in Williston, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oasis Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great management, great schedule

    Cons

    The company is great, no complaints

    Oasis Petroleum2018-11-02
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible company with abusive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I worked at Oasis Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    Pay is on par with other oil and gas companies

    Cons

    Management knows of and is tolerant of really horrible behavior- abusive, berating, humiliating employees. No amount of money is worth the abuse.

    Oasis Petroleum2018-07-10
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Outstanding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oasis Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    * As a young engineer, I've had lots of opportunity to impact the company and work on high visibility, important projects. * Management is very qualified and lead the company well. Best bosses I've ever had. Definitely a special place. I really enjoy my work, and I would recommend Oasis to friends.

    Cons

    No real "cons." We worked pretty hard through the downturn: occasional late nights, etc. but so did everyone else.

    Oasis Petroleum2018-03-16
Found 24 reviews