Obsidian Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor

Obsidian Entertainment Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Feargus Urquhart
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "All heart, no teeth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Obsidian Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High Creative energy. Interesting projects and pitches Studio attempts to make development team happy

    Cons

    No strong gameplay emphasis Poor production scheduling. Overly Top heavy management. Layoffs are frequent as well as mismanagement of talent.

    Obsidian Entertainment2014-03-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I look forward to coming to work each day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Hiring Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Obsidian Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked for many companies over the years and working at Obsidian Entertainment has become the career I always never knew I wanted. I look forward to going to work everyday, even on the stressful ones. I get to work with true talent. The Owners have always been good to me.

    Cons

    Being a small developer has its moments where you are waiting for the next project and in all the time I have been at Obsidian that is my one and only con.

    Obsidian Entertainment2013-05-30
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, poor future thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Obsidian Entertainment

    Pros

    The people are amazing, they work on some great projects and a great location at the Irvine Spectrum.

    Cons

    Layoffs occur after almost every project, no bonuses and small, insignificant celebrations for project completion. Story focused studio, not enough emphasis on gameplay.

    Advice to Management

    Work on keeping your best employees and giving them a reason to stay, don't just rely on company loyalty to keep people.

    Obsidian Entertainment2013-02-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Obsidian - where RPGs and storytelling live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Producer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Obsidian Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great creative design and storytelling; solid art and animation; good work environment; good location; decent benefits

    Cons

    Homegrown technology trailed top competitors (internal tech was not where it should have been - given the reliance certain projects had on its predictable delivery); pay was decent, but larger companies could offer larger base salaries and almost always had stronger bonus plans. My work-life balance was not very good. Part of that was my fault - I took on a lot of work and had a hard time stepping away from company...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It would be good if Obsidian could take on a deep-pocketed strategic partner. When paired with the right project, they can do amazing work for the money. Their D&D, Star Wars, and Fallout work was top notch.

    Obsidian Entertainment2012-09-05
  5. "Great RPG studio that I fear has grown to big for its britches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Obsidian Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Most talented and versatile designers in the industry Chris Avellone is just awesome to work with

    Cons

    Pigeon-holed as an RPG developer Very reliant on publishers No original IP

    Advice to Management

    As far as designing traditional RPG's, nobody knows better than Obsidian's upper management. However, management could really benefit from being more open to fresh ideas and new business models and opportunities. Obsidian's reliance on publisher funding dampens the potential of all their talented employees, and makes it feels like they are one cancelled project away from utter collapse.

    Obsidian Entertainment2012-09-06
  6. "Worth every moment (but not a moment more)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gameplay Programmer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Obsidian Entertainment

    Pros

    * One of very few RPG companies in America with such a rich a history in the industry * Some tremendously talented people across tech/design/art * Excellent workplace facilities * An impressive amount of transparency from management regarding any issue * Worthwhile, high-profile projects * A tangible sense of comraderie among most of the company

    Cons

    * Typical-of-the-industry project mismanagement issues create significant, avoidable overtime * Excessive redefinition of project goals and revisitation of pre-production tasks during production * Design occasionally given too much latitude without equivalent accountability * Salaries are more competitive elsewhere * Many of the best qualified shy away from leadership positions while ambitious but under qualified...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Iteration is to be expected, but drastic or frequent changes do more harm than good by compromising the team's confidence in leadership's competence and decision-making ability. No one wants to create anything less than the best, but take the time to quantify the shortcomings of a pre-production decision before attempting to shoehorn revisions into a production schedule that is already bursting at the seams. As the...

    Show More
    Obsidian Entertainment2011-10-26
  7. "A good place to work, with a few caveats."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Obsidian Entertainment

    Pros

    The owners have a lot of hands-on development experience (having previously worked at Interplay), and are generally "with it" as far as dealing with the development process goes. They also have solid publisher contacts and are one of a small number of RPG developers in North America, which means that publishers looking to develop a title in that genre come knocking fairly frequently. The employees, at least during my...

    Show More

    Cons

    Project expectations and mid-level management vary widely by project -- scheduling, project direction, and milestone expectations can be shaky.

    Advice to Management

    Tighten up the project management -- iron out the development process and fix problems sooner rather than later.

    Obsidian Entertainment2008-10-07
Found 27 reviews