Occasions Caterers Reviews | Glassdoor

Occasions Caterers Reviews

Updated 29 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Occasions Caterers CEO Mark Michael
Mark Michael
4 Ratings
  1. "Perfect part time work that set me up for success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Occasions Caterers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trained me to be versatile within the team. Gave me more hours and a raise after good reviews and reliability. Flexible schedule. Supportive group of hard workers. Friendly teammates.

    Cons

    There can be long hours (but that means more $). Shifts are always in different locations.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be the 'nice caterer'. Continue to cultivate the caring and diverse team you bring to the table. Continue to strive to be the best in service and in cuisine.

    Occasions Caterers2019-08-29
  2. "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Occasions Caterers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours good food free lunch

    Cons

    Long days short breaks only two restrooms

    Occasions Caterers2018-08-29
  3. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Occasions Caterers full-time

    Pros

    great stuff and management good benefits

    Cons

    can be crazy busy in the busy seasons

    Occasions Caterers2018-04-02
  4. "Co-workers who are family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Occasions Caterers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management listens, open to growth and change. The culture. Amazing creativity in the work. Phenomenal product. Exposure to high end, elite events. Can get a job anywhere in the events field once you’ve worked there as they are a highly respected organization, a leader in the field. Lots of opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Must be willing to work long hours, events are many nights and weekends after all. The hard work is rewarded though.

    Occasions Caterers2018-03-11
  5. "Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Op in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Occasions Caterers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great experience and overall opportunity

    Cons

    The community is difficult at time but we manage.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the awesome work

    Occasions Caterers2018-02-26
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Occasions Caterers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very little pros if any at all.

    Cons

    DO NOT WORK HERE. TERRIBLE COMPANY. THEY OVER WORK YOU AND UNDER PAY YOU. You will be absolutely miserable working here. Lunch Breaks do not exist here and you are expected to work extreme hours with no compensation. 7 days a week. All the employees are unfriendly, negative, untrustworthy and competitive. Biggest mistake of my career was accepting a position at Occasions.

    Occasions Caterers2017-04-18
  7. "Great part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Occasions Caterers

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great pay as for a part-time, friendly staff and good meal

    Cons

    Late evening jobs, may involve carrying heavy equipment, schedule may change frequently

    Occasions Caterers2016-07-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales-Event Production-Creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Occasions Caterers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Absolute pros! Terrific work environment with supportive ownership and management. Must love catering and be committed, responsible, resourceful and flexible. So proud of the work we do!

    Cons

    Be ready for a long hours and a long busy season - but that's the nature of the business!

    Occasions Caterers2016-07-13
  9. "Assistant Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Occasions Caterers full-time

    Pros

    Great team and learn a lot. Get to visit amazing buildings in the Washington, DC area.

    Cons

    Must be focused on clients and sales. Also, be prepared for "busy season" to be a majority of the year!

    Occasions Caterers2016-06-08
  10. "Independent Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Waiter in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Occasions Caterers for more than a year

    Pros

    get to see different parts of DC, meet new people, try the food

    Cons

    slow and busy seasons, unsteady hours and paychecks

    Occasions Caterers2016-06-02
Found 16 reviews