Occidental Petroleum Reviews | Glassdoor

Occidental Petroleum Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 373 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Occidental Petroleum CEO Vicki Hollub (no image)
Vicki Hollub
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very flexible company to work for, great working environment, great people, 9/80 schedule is awesome(in 67 reviews)

  • "The 90-80 work schedule is nice(in 48 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "IT Service delivery analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Service Delivery Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Occidental Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture, great people

    Cons

    IT is treated like a cost center

    Occidental Petroleum2019-10-13
  2. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analytics - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Occidental Petroleum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment and communications with Senior Management

    Cons

    No major negatives. Additional remote work days

    Occidental Petroleum2019-10-11
  3. "Heavy lifting and 3 shift rotation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Operator 

    I worked at Occidental Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits across the board

    Cons

    Although safety is preached. It is not followed through.

    Occidental Petroleum2019-09-30
  4. "Great company and culture but certain leadership decisions make the company more uncertain in the future."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Occidental Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance (very location/position dependent) Pay Benefits 401K match, additional employer-funded retirement account, additional supplemental employer-funded pension Office location Significant future growth Strong operational and growth results

    Cons

    Some risky strategic business decisions that could launch the company like a rocket or cause it to all come crashing down Work/life balance inequality for certain job families

    Advice to Management

    Provide transparent plans for future work location in Houston, keeping prior plans in mind when making a decision. Make every effort to provide stability in the wake of the APC acquisition.

    Occidental Petroleum2019-08-23
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineering Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Occidental Petroleum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits and work life balance.

    Cons

    Narrow roles with limited pay.

    Advice to Management

    Classifying only half of your employees as "professional" is insulting.

    Occidental Petroleum2019-08-21
  6. "Great company but needs to update their office space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior ETRM Technical Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Occidental Petroleum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay and good pace of work. Some great people who work hard. Opportunity to learn. They participate in the community and do not have a lot of red tape even though it is a large company

    Cons

    Greenway office has terrible traffic and is not up to date

    Occidental Petroleum2019-08-02
  7. "One of the best company to work for career and work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Occidental Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, 401 K matching and pension

    Cons

    None as per my knowledge.

    Occidental Petroleum2019-07-31
  8. "Outstanding place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Occidental Petroleum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and a lot of autonomy.

    Cons

    Great opportunities for career advancement but compensation takes some time to catch up to the growing responsibilities.

    Occidental Petroleum2019-07-17
  9. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Occidental Petroleum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely work culture and I learned a lot

    Cons

    cant think of any.... loved it

    Occidental Petroleum2019-07-16
  10. Helpful (5)

    "It’s so-so at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Occidental Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved it until I didn’t. They will support you when things happen in your personal life, but they don’t support you professionally.

    Cons

    No career growth. You’re put in a role and won’t be promoted no matter how hard you try. Definitely a good place to work if you just want to coast by, or are already where you want to be, but not a good place if you’re young and looking for challenge and advancement.

    Advice to Management

    After 5 years, my only option for advancement was external. You’re wasting money and resources driving good employees away by refusing to promote.

    Occidental Petroleum2019-06-19
Found 373 reviews