Ocean County College Reviews | Glassdoor

Ocean County College Reviews

Updated 23 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
67%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Ocean County College CEO Jon H. Larson
Jon H. Larson
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Toms River, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean County College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive staff, great learning environment

    Cons

    There are no cons, I enjoyed my time at Ocean County College

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Ocean County College2018-10-26
  2. "Nice Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Online Instructor in Fort Lauderdale, FL

    I have been working at Ocean County College for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The courses are very well-developed. The students are a joy.

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Ocean County College2015-08-23
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Long Branch, NJ

    I have been working at Ocean County College for less than a year

    Pros

    Good boss, great working environment, very high pay compared to other similar positions nearby. And this requires 20 words so I am still typing

    Cons

    Not really many cons to be said. O C C is a good place to work with great people and a nice pay rate.

    Ocean County College2015-06-02
  4. "OCC is a great community college to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ocean County College

    Pros

    Its location. They are a 50 years old community college

    Cons

    they are somehow resistance to change and new ideas but nothing that you would not see in any college

    Advice to Management

    keep up with the great vision

    Ocean County College2015-03-21
  5. "Ocean County College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Orientation Leader in Toms River, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ocean County College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a good job outside of work study. Allows you to set your own hours.

    Cons

    Hours only available when registration is open.

    Ocean County College2014-01-15
  6. "Great benefits little flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - College Lecturer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean County College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, decent salary, great students

    Cons

    Lack of flexibility, poor communication from leadership

    Ocean County College2019-09-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Toms River, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean County College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits & Awesome Students

    Cons

    Staff could use in depth training on how to use active listening skills. Being more patient with the students and being there for their needs. After all, the students are why they have a job. Customer service is lacking immensely. They should have secret students for observations.

    Advice to Management

    Work in the above.

    Ocean County College2018-10-13
  8. "Overall Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ocean County College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great teamwork within department, active work, reasonable flexibility for part time positions, great benefits when full-time, and potential for career opportunities within.

    Cons

    Occasionally difficult getting certain issues proactively addressed and resolved by upper management.

    Ocean County College2018-05-15
  9. "Interim Director of Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Interim Director of Security in Lanoka Harbor, NJ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ocean County College for less than a year

    Pros

    The campus id beautiful and the environment is pleasant.

    Cons

    None i have always enjoyed the students and the staff.

    Ocean County College2016-03-15
  10. "County College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toms River, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ocean County College full-time

    Pros

    Accessible leadership, thoughtful reviews, inelusivity

    Cons

    Not a ton of upward mobility

    Advice to Management

    New hires - fresh perspectives

    Ocean County College2015-10-05
Found 20 reviews