Ocean Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Ocean Media Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Mike Robertson
20 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at a lot of companies in the past, other agencies as well. This is by far the best place I've worked at. The owners seems like smart and respectable people. The management is knowledgeable and not micro-managing. Catered lunches are a plus. Nice views. This isn't a place to coast, I have seen some people let go because of poor work. All in all, great place for smart employees

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Ocean Media2018-11-08
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Things look good at first, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ocean Media full-time

      Pros

      Location. Mostly empowered vs. micromanaging. Offices well maintained. In-house IT dept.

      Cons

      A "slippery slope." There's a degree of volatility that can quickly put you in hot water and likely without you knowing it. I would go so far as to label it paranoia that begins with the CEO. Well, it usually does.

      Advice to Management

      Hmmm... Not sure I care to offer any.

      Ocean Media2019-01-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Ad Agency"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

      Pros

      Great People and Culture, Interesting work, Decent work/life balance, Free lunch. Not to mention the partners actually care about the people that work for them. Those are pretty rare these days in the agency world.

      Cons

      You need to be a go-getter to succeed here. There isn't a lot of formalized training so you need to work hard to progress. Not really a con, but more of a word of advice if you want to move up.

      Advice to Management

      Some of the benefits policies are a bit dated. 401k matching, working from home, etc.

      Ocean Media2018-08-08
    • Helpful (3)

      "Worst Company I have Ever Worked For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Media in Huntington Beach, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ocean Media full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They cater free lunch everyday.

      Cons

      Pay is below market and management is horrible. Coworkers are always complaining....complaining about the clients, how much other people make, the job, the company, the food, ownership.

      Ocean Media2018-08-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Can get better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ocean Media full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Catered lunches and work life balance

        Cons

        Career development in the media department is lacking

        Ocean Media2018-07-13
      • Helpful (3)

        "Great company, but needs to evolve"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ocean Media full-time

        Pros

        Free lunch, great health insurance, stand up desks available. Summer Fridays (though only a few) and time off/half days during the holidays are great perks. Everyone in the office is very personable and easy to talk to, even the partners (though the CEO can be TMI during some interactions). There is potential for growth, though you need to actually show interest and produce strong work - don't wait for it to come...

        Show More

        Cons

        After letting go of several people, the moral has gone down a bit. Some Directors/VPs find it difficult saying no to ridiculous client requests that are simply a waste of company time and restrict growth of team members - constant repetitive and mindless copying/pasting into excel files. Digital department needs some love and more integration with account team. There are very few people who know their stuff in...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Increase the amount of Summer Fridays - extend beyond summer, Invite lower level people in client meetings to encourage questions and inclusion, get some help in the digital department - don't treat them like their the red-headed step child.

        Ocean Media2017-10-24
      • "Great place to innovate and work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

          Pros

          Smart people, big clients, innovative tech, thinkers and doers, helpful culture

          Cons

          It can be tough for people who aren't able to keep up

          Ocean Media2017-06-28
        • "Media buyer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

          Pros

          Open communication is encouraged and appreciated

          Cons

          I don't really have any

          Advice to Management

          Keep doing all you can to grow and thanks for keeping us informed.

          Ocean Media2017-06-19
        • Helpful (2)

          "Buyer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Ocean Media full-time

          Pros

          Great work life balance. Exposure to lots of accounts. Some friendly staff.

          Cons

          Certain senior VPs are incredibly rude and disrespectful. No 401K matching at all.

          Ocean Media2017-05-12
        • Helpful (1)

          "Pass on this place"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook

            I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

            Pros

            A lot of free food and great if you have no experience and need to build your resume. You can catch up on all of the television you'd like.

            Cons

            The company functions like a start up and people are in management positions that shouldn't be. Nothing but mind numbing data entry and bro d.b. marketing people.

            Ocean Media2017-04-10
          Found 30 reviews