KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Ocean Tomo

Is this your company?

Ocean Tomo

Add a Review

Ocean Tomo Reviews

Updated Oct 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 37 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Ocean Tomo Managing Director, COO Andrew W. Carter
Andrew W. Carter
5 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

1y

works at 

JPMorgan Chase

Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

884

87 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ocean Tomo Company Review

    Oct 27, 2021 - Analyst in Reston, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ocean Tomo's culture has been fantastic! I started this job in March 2020, when work was fully remote, and even though I couldn't be with my coworkers in-person I still felt welcome and my colleagues are approachable and friendly. The work-life balance here has been great, and benefits are good too.

    Cons

    There is not much formal on-the-job training upon arrival, and a completely remote workplace (for the time being) can sometimes lead to communication issues.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent work/life balance

    Oct 26, 2021 - Analyst in Reston, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • Benefits: unlimited PTO (which you are encouraged to take), competitive salary and bonuses. • Mentorship program and open communication with managing directors. • Firm culture: everyone is intelligent and competent, everyone clearly cares about each other, and we frequently have fun firm-wide activities. • Reimbursement of CPA exam and additional certification costs. • Rarely have to work much more than 40 hours as an analyst/senior analyst. Work-life balance is highly valued. • No busy season! Specific cases can get busy, but we don’t have a 3-month period where everyone hates life.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity efforts – standard language about “we value diversity, equity and inclusion” but little to-no-effort from management to talk about these issues on a firm-wide basis. Recruiting pipeline and firm overall is heavily not diverse.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to start career

    Oct 22, 2021 - Expert Testimony Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work at Ocean Tomo is incredibly engaging and allows analysts to work across a multitude of industries relating to their IP. Job responsibilities are varied and no day is exactly the same. Company culture is very welcoming and people are very receptive to questions while you are starting out.

    Cons

    The hours can be demanding as business demand increases. It is also not always clear who each analyst is reporting and this can leave you feeling a bit on an island without a central contact point.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Environment

    Oct 21, 2021 - Analyst in Reston, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the people I work with. You can tell that management really cares about the office environment and culture. The work is exciting and face paced. Couldn't be happier

    Cons

    Information systems are not totally uniform so the onboarding process can be a little stressful from an IT perspective.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    friendly coworkers

    Aug 3, 2021 - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    unlimited paid time off friendly coworkers reasonable work-life balance firm supporting on CPA and CFA

    Cons

    limited promotion opportunities training program to be improved It'd be nice to have tutors for new hires

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent Growth Opportunites

    Jul 6, 2021 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ocean Tomo grants new hires opportunities to gain a wide range of experiences through multiple cases.

    Cons

    Sometimes the hours can be long.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Took awhile, but I finally found my "this is it!" company

    Jan 21, 2014 - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cutting edge in its field. I have learned a lot here in less than 2 years. The people here are the best. Everyone is willing to help and I learn from them every day. The work environment is very flexible, which makes it great for working mothers. The Chicago and SF offices are very nice (I have not been to the Houston office yet). And, while this may seem small, they pretty much pay for my cell phone. It's nice little gestures like that that really show they care.

    Cons

    Almost too much socializing. We go out monthly, have semi-annual all-company get-togethers, and there are the random "let's everyone grab something at the bar" nights. Last year I couldn't make it to everything (missed the Cubs rooftop and Whirlyball nights). Would be nice if they we got to vote on what nights the monthly outings are so I don't miss things.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Hard but interesting work

    Sep 10, 2019 - Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very interesting work, smart coworkers

    Cons

    Very long and chaotic hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Associate

    Jun 23, 2015 - Illinois in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Challenging work. Unique work. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect when I joined but things have worked out pretty well. It's almost like a cross between finance and the law. Is the work sometimes repetitive? Yes, but that is the nature of preparing reports for litigation, as everything has to be 100% perfect or the expert (my boss) will get killed on cross examination. Like a lot of professions this one gets more interesting as you stick with it since you have more client-involvement and higher level work. Work/life balance is good. I have had some 80 hour weeks and some weekends, but I also have had lots of "easy" weeks and have taken several weeks of vacation a year.

    Cons

    As others have mentioned, 401k match is lacking. The monthly firm outings have also seemed to have dropped to every other month and I wish we still went out every month. It would also be nice to get together with the other offices (we have offices in several cities) more than just once or twice a year. Maybe we should have at least three all-firm get togethers a year, one in each of the major offices.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great financial analyst job

    Jul 9, 2015 - Expert Testimony Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I think the best thing about this place is the people. My coworkers are smart and helpful, people are fun to be around, and even the bosses are cool. The work is mostly challenging, but can sometimes be boring. The field (intellectual property) is unique and interesting. I'm building skills in both the financial area and the legal area so this is a good springboard to a lot of different careers. Socially we have a lot of fun. We go out about once a month, and we just had a summer drinking and gambling cruise that everyone really enjoyed.

    Cons

    As mentioned above, the work can be mundane at times. But as I have gained more experience I have had less and less of that to do. It would also be nice to have free lunches. I have a couple friends that work at start-ups and they get all their lunches for free. Here we only get free soda, ice cream, and lunch a couple times a month.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Popular Careers with Ocean Tomo Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ocean Tomo? Share Your Experiences

or