Oclaro Reviews | Glassdoor

Oclaro Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Greg Dougherty
12 Ratings
  1. "GREAT place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oclaro full-time

    Pros

    Greg the CEO is AWESOME, passionate about making the company successful and really cares about his employees. Oclaro is a great turn-around story and it all started with Greg.

    Cons

    It would be good to have a little more perks like ESPP.

    Oclaro2017-09-27
  2. "Worst manager of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Analyst in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oclaro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, open environment, lots of inter-department collaboration. Every once in a while, the company throws fun events for teambuilding. Pay was industry average - with room to grow. Upper management was pretty charismatic, and definitely knew their stuff.

    Cons

    For whatever reason, my position rolled up to a manager that had no background in what it is that I did. I felt a lot of my work was never appreciated because she did not understand the processes related to the role. Constant feedback from my teammates, other coworkers outside my team, and word of mouth, and even my MANAGER's boss is that my manager is ... hard to work with. She suffers from some massive insecurity...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The manager should have been let go ... years ago. It's my understanding that the headcount underneath her has been only going down, with lots of issues still popping up. All employee interviews (and trust me we love to talk to each other, even after leaving Oclaro) all point towards her as the biggest culprit. She has single handedly destroyed teams of talented hard workers. And HR still defends her?

    Oclaro2019-02-02
  3. "Director of Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Sales in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oclaro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Technology Leader; employee oriented. Promotions available at all levels; competitive compensation to others in the fiber-optics industry. Provided excellent training and educational benefits.

    Cons

    Many engr and manufacturing facilities offshore. Acquisition group underfunded and not aggressive in this very competitive market place. Reliance on off shore manufacturing prevented price competitiveness on commodity items.

    Advice to Management

    Implement strategies that will not only keep up with the standard competitors (like Avago, Finisar, JDSU, etc) but leap frog them on new technology introductions.

    Oclaro2018-01-25
  4. "Sr. Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oclaro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great communications and cohesiveness toward a winning goal.

    Cons

    Improve speed of new product development.

    Oclaro2017-07-25
  5. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer and Linux in Burlingame, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oclaro for less than a year

    Pros

    Company on the move, great products, good people to work with.

    Cons

    can't think of anything bad about Oclaro

    Oclaro2017-01-03
  6. "Has future potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oclaro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent new products development, high demand from field installers, finally the years of consolidation paying off ! Network traffic is still growing, Oclaro product is needed to keep up with the growth.

    Cons

    Too much Cisco involvement, seems like there maybe another changes in the future of the company , who knows what will happen here.

    Advice to Management

    Try to limit the board compensation, shareholders not happy , stock down from $50s

    Oclaro2016-12-30
  7. "Sr Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oclaro

    Pros

    Good company climate. Interesting job.

    Cons

    Not enough support in project development. Under-staff group so need to manage work of support.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do high technology projects

    Oclaro2016-05-05
  8. "Amazing Turnaround"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oclaro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company has made tremendous progress in business, markets, leadership and products

    Cons

    Diverse acquisition history and geographic footprint makes it challenging

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the progress

    Oclaro2016-02-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible Work Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Oclaro full-time

    Pros

    Able to work from home as needed, very flexible hours. You are the president of your own job. Get business done is the bottom line.

    Cons

    Working at any company that is in the opticle space these days is very hard as it is a very competitive space.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to trim some of your excess staff in the UK. Especially all the Phd employees that are not doing the level of innovation for the headcount.

    Oclaro2015-06-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Took a gamble that didn't pay off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Acton, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Oclaro full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The salary was OK and the engineering work was challenging and fun to work on. The benefits were OK, but not great.

    Cons

    We were bought by Oclaro in 2008 as part of a fire-sale. Even though we contributed mightily to the company's bottom line, we were treated as disposable items. We were never given the opportunity to leverage our expertise in ultra-high-bitrate transponders to expand our product line and market. Instead, we were replaced with yet a newer acquisition, OpNext. Just too much churn at the corporate level which included questionable...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lose the "shinny object" fascination that cost the companies (both Oclaro and OpNext) so much in market capital. As evidenced by the sale of two of the most profitable groups within the combined Ocalro to cover operating expenses after a poor merger, too little critical thinking has gone into the growth strategy. Pare down the products and markets to those you know you can succeed in and shed the marginal ones. Consider...

    Show More
    Oclaro2014-12-24
Found 28 reviews