Octopus Business Development Reviews | Glassdoor

Octopus Business Development Reviews

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Octopus Chief Executive Simon Rogerson (no image)
Simon Rogerson
4 Ratings
  1. "High energy, fast paced, chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Office, people, decent benefits and progression and internal career opportunities

    Cons

    Relentless work environment, male dominated at senior level, high stress amongst employees

    Octopus2020-01-02
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture full of motivated, friendly & intelligent people. Sales environment that gives you the opportunity to achieve results on a daily basis through great tracking processes and management who genuinely care. Amazing office in the centre of London. A business that is constantly looking to innovate with an extremely passionate and inspiring CEO.

    Cons

    Technology sometimes slows us down, but this is always going to be an issue with a fast growing company that is constantly expanding into new areas.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making it a great place to work

    Octopus2019-02-26
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Business development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are none just don’t do it! They sell you a dollar sign dream but be prepared for the clicky culture stuck up people and no life outside the business they will work you to the bone!

    Cons

    Training was appalling no structure at all the team does not want to help just know how to point the finger and blame

    Advice to Management

    Just close down the business and start over with new people

    Octopus2017-10-06
  4. "Thumbs up for Octopus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus

    Pros

    I started four weeks ago and I have to say that the people at Octopus are very friendly and welcoming. Everyone is upbeat and happy to talk to you regardless of what department you’re from. It’s a great working environment and I’m really happy to be here.

    Cons

    There are no cons. I have a message for anyone considering joining Octopus; be confident and proactive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Octopus2017-05-17
  5. Helpful (14)

    "HR sounds desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is no doubt in my mind that senior management lies to employees and HR staff is used as the messenger.

    Cons

    However, I doubt that the person who posted the message on 14 November is who he says he is. Why would a former employee gone more than two years ago (as he claims) choose to post such a message within five days of the previous one he criticises. Only someone monitoring this site via a notification alert[as HR does) would have been notified of that message and decided to react so quickly.

    Advice to Management

    To management, be aware that your staff is very unhappy so start listening to us. My advice to the reviewer of the 14.11.2016 review (I don't know who you are, but it is likely that you are not a former employee but a current HR team member). If you feel you need to publish reviews like yours, you should ask yourself why you did this. Is it because: a) you are keen to gain the favours of the CEO; b) you are desperate to keep your job and was asked to post the message; c) you feel it is part of your duty as an HR team member; d) all of the above?

    Show More
    Octopus2016-12-19
  6. Helpful (23)

    "Worst place where you can end up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of - maybe the colorful reception?

    Cons

    The list could go on for ever but essentially here we go: - arrogant people across the management and HR (and marketing too) - no particular skills across the business, no value added for employees or clients - poor investment performance for years across all products - frustrating and horrible working environnment - because everyone is deeply unhappy there they end up treating each other in a horrible way, it is a vicious circle! - no vision from the management, no goals, nothing (beheaded duck aimlessly runing around) - niche market that could collapse overnight following the slighest regulatory change - incompetence across management and the whole HR department

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seek external advice urgently, you are heading full speed towards a wall! Change your hiring criteria (current ones attract the wrong kind of people) - ditch your arrogance!

    Octopus2015-07-09
Found 6 reviews