Octopus Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Octopus Director Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Octopus Chief Executive Simon Rogerson (no image)
Simon Rogerson
7 Ratings
  1. "Strong culture of value led behaviour - permeates through the organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial, exciting, respectful environment with 100 percent customer focus.

    Cons

    Very few and far between

    Advice to Management

    Keep going

    Octopus2019-11-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "HR propaganda still in full swing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This comment has been made but is worth repeating for prospective candidates. Do not believe positive reviews with the same title.

    Cons

    The HR department is innundating this site with fake reviews. The title 'a great place to work' is used in 5 messages posted in the last year (20 Sept 2018, 11 and 26 Feb 2019, 9 May and 15 July 2019). In addition, it appears in the core of the message dated 10 September 2019. All these reviews are simply too good to be true. Trust me, I have been at Octopus several years and none of its employees would agree with such extremely positive commeents.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mgmt and HR: do us all a favour, existing staff and prospective candidates deserve more humility from you. Real reviews are needed to make sure that candidates do not get fooled in joining the company. This will only leads to disillusion.

    Octopus2019-10-06
  3. Helpful (24)

    "HR continues to post fake positive reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This point has been made before but it is worth repeating. Many of the positive reviews on this site are too good to be true

    Cons

    The number of messages headed "a great place to work" is odd. In the last year or so, I counted 6 posts with that title - 22 May 2017, 5 July 2017, 20 April 2018, 11 May 2018, 9 June 2018, 18 June 2018. HR is running out of ideas to artificially boost ratings on this site. I also counted 5 positive reviews on the same day - 20 April 2018. Very dodgy. My advice to prospective candidates is not to believe these fawning comments.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dear management, all you will achieve by posting fake reviews is to mislead candidates who will deeply regret ever joining Octopus (like so many of us)

    Octopus2018-09-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great, positive culture and work environment. Feedback is encouraged and differences generally resolved quickly. There's a strong feeling that everyone is on the same team and there's not a single colleague i don't respect or enjoy working with. The company actively seeks to empower people at all levels which gives staff the opportunity to build their own career. uniquely i can say that i actually wake up each day looking forward to going to work

    Show More

    Cons

    Managing work/life balance is very challenging, especially with kids.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going!

    Octopus2018-05-11
  5. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast moving, entrepreneurial, open. Welcomes everyone Can be yourself Huge employee engagement in the businesses and the charitable foundation Been here 5 years and so rare to meet someone at Octopus that you don’t enjoy chatting too Awesome offices Employee owned

    Cons

    For me all the cons are strengths The speed of change can make those less comfortable with ambiguity feel uncomfortable The breadth of activities ongoing at once could be intimidating. Not everything works (but that’s an opportunity to fix stuff!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doubling down on growth. Keep investing in change and innovation

    Octopus2018-04-20
  6. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked here for 5 years and honestly don't recognise some of the problems flagged in previous reviews. Octopus is fast moving, entrepreneurial, honest, humble. The CEO is so passionate and driven - even 18 years after founding the business Opportunities are huge if you want it Culture is awesome - I cant think of a time I met a new Octopus person and didn't enjoy chatting with them - (definitely not Blackrock!) You can be yourself - and that's why it's not a typical FS business. People from all walks of life work here with experience from every industry and are able to be open in the office. Innovation comes from that openness.

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons for me are also the strengths.... The speed of change won't be perfect for those that aren't comfortable with ambiguity The number of projects and initiatives ongoing at once might intimidate those that aren't driven by curiosity Things don't always work (Octopus has grown 40% a year for 10 years!) but that's just an opportunity to fix stuff. You end up doing mundane work at all stages of your career, but if you are smart you find a scalable way of doing it and move on to the next problem

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doubling down on growth, customer centricity and technology.

    Octopus2018-04-20
  7. Helpful (23)

    "What do you expect?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Surprised to read that some employees find the CEO unwilling to step in to solve problems.

    Cons

    I have worked at Otopus for several years and what is obvious is that the CEO is using HR to do the dirty job. Bullying, discrimination and favouritism are widespread and have always been. This is natural. Octopus is not Goldman or Blackrock. It does not recruit talented people but mostly desperate ones without a job or with a crap one. People with strong skills promote and recruit similar A types. Senior execs who are B or C-types, like those at Octopus, recruit similar kinds in order not to look bad with employees demonstrating better knowledge than them. That's why we have so many employees who used to work at weak banks and fund managers. How many ex-Goldman or Blackrock do you see at Octopus? There isn't a single one!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The CEO should continue to operate as if nothing was wrong. It is working out beautifully for him. Assets under management and management fees are up, performance is poor, staff attrition is above 20% per annum, year in year out, and HR team operate like bullies in order to keep staff in check. Well done!

    Octopus2018-04-17
  8. Helpful (33)

    "My worst career move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues. Fun to hang around with. I am sure that I will stay in touch with a few of them once I am gone. Most are like me, looking elsewhere.

    Cons

    CEO keeps telling us that Apple is his aspiration. The way things are going, Blackberry is a more appropriate comparison Induction course feels like indoctrination HR department calls itself "Organisation Development". Pompous name = pompous attitude Many senior executives are in the wrong jobs, only there because they are close to the CEO Some comments posted on this site sound a bit too positive to have been written by employees, let alone my Octopus colleagues. They read like they were dictated or commissioned by the "Org Dev" crowd. The Soviets' Politburo would not have done better propaganda

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do we need that many people in HR? I guess one of them is busy full time posting positive comments on this web site Clean up the top rank of senior execs. Many have reached their level of incompetence There are legacy issues, please deal with them urgently

    Octopus2015-03-07
Found 8 reviews