Octopus Reviews | Glassdoor

Octopus Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Octopus Chief Executive Simon Rogerson (no image)
Simon Rogerson
113 Ratings
  1. "Octopus is awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Octopus is the only place I have ever worked where I don’t wake up and dread coming into work. The culture in the company is great, with the option for flexible working/working at home, loads of events and clubs, and a focus on mental health. I work in Group Marketing and my team are supportive and friendly and have made me feel really welcome. It’s fast paced, that can’t be denied, and I see this as one of the many pros. There’s always lots to do so there’s no chance of being bored, and the work is extremely varied. There are also loads of opportunities to get involved in “extra-curricular” activities if that’s your thing, helping with Giving or running clubs, for example. Overall, Octopus has a great feel and I really enjoy coming to work everyday.

    Cons

    For me, there aren’t any that I’ve found so far. Some people may not enjoy the speed at which things move at Octopus or the amount of flexibility needed, but these are both things I, personally, enjoy.

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-10-15

    Octopus Response

    October 24, 2019

    Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. It’s great you feel so positively about coming into work and we’re really pleased you’re enjoying your time here. We’re proud of the extra-curricular activities we provide and we hope you’ll continue to take advantage of the staff benefits we provide to all our employees. The Octopus culture is unique and it’s true that this fast-paced environment may not suit everyone, however, it’s clear you enjoy the challenge of working in an ambitious and fast growing organisation and it’s great to have you on board. Thanks again for your feedback, we wish you the very best in your career with us.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good opportunities - not great salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity to learn and progression into different roles. Lots of exams available

    Cons

    Not very clear on expected salaries. Often feel internal movements are not paid the same as hiring externally. Salaries not in line with competitors.

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-10-06

    Octopus Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We’re pleased you’re enjoying your time with us and are taking advantage of the professional development opportunities available to all Octopus employees. Although we pay competitive salaries, we know there will always be companies that pay more than we do. But we believe that keeping our people motivated and engaged over the long term is the right business model for us. Thanks again for your feedback, we’ll look forward to seeing how your career with us develops.

    Continue reading
  3. "amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous 

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    amazing company to work with

    Cons

    none to say; all are pros

    Octopus2019-10-04

    Octopus Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We’re really pleased you enjoyed working with us and we wish you the very best in the future.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A place like no other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EBDM in London, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You could spend hours writing about the benefits of working for Octopus. There is all the usual benefits you associate with a company of this size and stature discounts at retailers, incentive schemes, R&R, health challenges, Season ticket loans etc. But it isn't about those. It's the company ethos, the atmosphere and culture that makes it such a great place to work. Every company talks about having a culture, few seldom actually have every member of staff demonstrating that day to day, but this company does.

    Cons

    I haven't come across anything that could be deemed a negative yet. I have asked people who have been here what they interpret as negatives, even they struggle.

    Octopus2019-09-10

    Octopus Response

    October 24, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We’re really glad you’re enjoying your time with us, and are taking advantage of the great benefits we offer to all our employees. We’re very proud of the Octopus culture and it’s fantastic that so many of our employees, like you, embody our core values. We agree that it’s a great place to work! Thanks again for your feedback, we’re certain that you’ll have a great career with us.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "HR propaganda still in full swing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This comment has been made but is worth repeating for prospective candidates. Do not believe positive reviews with the same title.

    Cons

    The HR department is innundating this site with fake reviews. The title 'a great place to work' is used in 5 messages posted in the last year (20 Sept 2018, 11 and 26 Feb 2019, 9 May and 15 July 2019). In addition, it appears in the core of the message dated 10 September 2019. All these reviews are simply too good to be true. Trust me, I have been at Octopus several years and none of its employees would agree with such extremely positive commeents.

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-10-06

    Octopus Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. At Octopus we actively encourage all our employees to provide feedback to one another, and we’re open about the feedback we receive, whether positive or more critical. Feedback is a fundamental part of the Octopus culture and we take employee feedback very seriously. We’re always keen to improve our employee experience and encourage all our employees to talk about their experiences on Glassdoor to help people understand what it’s like working within the Octopus Group. It’s always disappointing when people leave negative reviews, but we view this as a learning opportunity for a growing business. We reject your accusation that we write ‘fake reviews’ as doing this would conflict with our core values. We’re proud of the Octopus culture, and although this type of fast-paced and ambitious environment may not be for everyone, the vast majority of our employees enjoy working with us and take advantage of the opportunities we provide to progress in their careers. The positive reviews that they’ve posted on Glassdoor are evidence of this. We’re sorry that you’re not enjoying working with us at the moment. We suggest speaking to HR in the first instance as it may be that working in a different area of the business may suit you better? Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.

    Continue reading
  6. "Autonomy, Creativity, Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Sourcer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked in a place where creativity and entrepreneurship is valued so highly. The thing that struck me most about Octopus is that if they say they will do something, they actually do - sounds simple but it isn't. In my first couple of months I have been given plenty of responsibility, backed by the support of a really engaging team. Octopus make it easy for me to love my job and feel passionate about representing the business - so much so i have already referred a friend who has herself secured a job with Octopus. Additionally, the flexible working, holiday allowance, share incentives, pension and additional benefits would be hard to top anywhere.

    Cons

    For me personally - none. I would have concerns about people who loved an overly structured, corporate environment. Octopus certainly isn't that!

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-08-15

    Octopus Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We’re really proud of our entrepreneurial spirit and unique way of doing things, and it’s great to hear you’re enjoying working with us. We’re pleased you’re taking advantage of the opportunities to work flexibly, and agree the benefits we provide to our employees are difficult to top. We’re also delighted to hear you’ve referred your friend to us, this is a great endorsement of the Octopus culture. We’re pleased you feel supported in your role, and we’ll look forward to seeing how your career with us develops. Thanks again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. "Fantastic place to work where you can develop your career and meet great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A company which has values and really cares about the people it employs and the customers it serves. It's place where you can really develop your career and make it what you want it to be.

    Cons

    General benefits are really good, particularly maternity leave. Salaries could be improved in some of the functions such as OPs, HR and IT.

    Octopus2019-07-30

    Octopus Response

    August 12, 2019

    Thanks for posting your review. We’re pleased you’re enjoying your time with us and appreciate the benefits available to all Octopus employees. Although we pay competitive salaries and bonuses, we know there will always be companies that pay more than we do. But we believe keeping our people motivated and engaged over the long term is the right business model for us. We’re glad you feel supported in your role, and we’ll look forward to seeing how your career with us develops. Thanks again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Stop protecting bad management calls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible Working - Office in London - Team lead and the team I worked with - Holidays

    Cons

    - Management - Development of Junior staff - Salary - Diversity - Gossip

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-08-05

    Octopus Response

    November 8, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We’re glad you took advantage of our flexible working and pleased you enjoyed working with the team. We always listen to criticisms about what we can do better, and we’ve tried to build a culture where people feel encouraged to speak candidly when they feel things aren’t working. We’re committed to making adjustments where necessary, and allow people to provide feedback anonymously via our internal feedback tool should they feel like they cannot approach the management team directly. Our leadership team encourages all employees to approach them directly, but they understand not everybody might feel comfortable to do so. We wish you all the best of luck in the future.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Projects 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working Friendly Atmosphere Openness and ability to approach senior execs

    Cons

    Lack of investment in systems Immature processes and procedures

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-08-03

    Octopus Response

    August 12, 2019

    Thanks for posting your review. We know that our technology hasn’t kept pace with our rate of growth, but this year we’ve invested significantly in our infrastructure and we’re certain that new technology will support us in our continued development. Thanks again for your feedback, best of luck in the future.

    Continue reading
  10. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Octopus is a very social company who really care about the well being of its employees. I feel that they really understand the employees and want to make the work/life balanced. They are very forward thinking and want to make sure that you are herd and valued as a employee. Octopus offices have a really relaxed but hard working vibe. they want you to be the very best you that you can be, if you need help or support they have a working environment that is about team work and growing as a team. People really want you to do well at your job. Management are very hands on and always have time to talk to you or hear out new ideas. no one is not approachable. you are not made to feel like just another number. The thing that is really amazing about Octopus is how it cares about the world around it. they are a company that is not content to put in token gestures.

    Cons

    I honestly don't really have any. However if you are the type of person that wants opportunity to be spoon fed to you then this is not the place. You do need to be a proactive and want to be active in your growth.

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-07-15

    Octopus Response

    August 12, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We’re really proud of our unique culture and we’re pleased you’re enjoying working with us. It’s great you feel valued and able to take advantage of the flexible working opportunities we provide. Our work to make a positive difference to the world is really important to us, and it’s great you find it as inspiring as we do. Thanks again for posting, it’s really appreciated, and we wish you every success in your career with us.

    Continue reading
Found 156 reviews