Octopus "flexible working" Reviews | Glassdoor

Octopus Employee Reviews about "flexible working"

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Octopus Chief Executive Simon Rogerson (no image)
Simon Rogerson
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working is encouraged though the culture doesn't make this easy(in 11 reviews)

  • "Charity, social events and to have an entrepreneurial spirit in your work(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management skirt around the issue because they don't want to commit to spending more money on staff(in 8 reviews)

  • "Very long hours for the salary paid(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal company to be part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People Flexible working A place that cares about its employees Will look after people who work hard and care Social element

    Cons

    Fast pace but rather than that than a huge corporate entity

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture. Octopus is a place that rewards hard work and people who care about customers and others. People who don't understand this generally aren't with the company too long! But I wouldn't compromise this for the world. Octopus is part of who I am, and I'm proud to work for an organisation that is kind and has great people, than a company obsessed with the bottom line and that tolerates people who don't fit the culture.

    Show More
    Octopus2019-10-30
  2. "A great, flexible, supportive place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Octopus part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Put mental health at the top of their agenda and are enhancing their benefits programme all the time. Very supportive of budding entrepreneurs and will invest in an employees start-up if the idea is good enough. Great flexible working policies very fast paced and quick to make decisions.

    Cons

    Some times things can move so quickly that it can take a while for everyone to hear about the changes and for the systems to catch up. Super ambitious so often and million things on the go at any one time.

    Octopus2019-10-23
  3. "Octopus is awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Octopus is the only place I have ever worked where I don’t wake up and dread coming into work. The culture in the company is great, with the option for flexible working/working at home, loads of events and clubs, and a focus on mental health. I work in Group Marketing and my team are supportive and friendly and have made me feel really welcome. It’s fast paced, that can’t be denied, and I see this as one of the many pros. There’s always lots to do so there’s no chance of being bored, and the work is extremely varied. There are also loads of opportunities to get involved in “extra-curricular” activities if that’s your thing, helping with Giving or running clubs, for example. Overall, Octopus has a great feel and I really enjoy coming to work everyday.

    Show More

    Cons

    For me, there aren’t any that I’ve found so far. Some people may not enjoy the speed at which things move at Octopus or the amount of flexibility needed, but these are both things I, personally, enjoy.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on as you are!

    Octopus2019-10-15
  4. "Autonomy, Creativity, Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Sourcer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked in a place where creativity and entrepreneurship is valued so highly. The thing that struck me most about Octopus is that if they say they will do something, they actually do - sounds simple but it isn't. In my first couple of months I have been given plenty of responsibility, backed by the support of a really engaging team. Octopus make it easy for me to love my job and feel passionate about representing the business - so much so i have already referred a friend who has herself secured a job with Octopus. Additionally, the flexible working, holiday allowance, share incentives, pension and additional benefits would be hard to top anywhere.

    Show More

    Cons

    For me personally - none. I would have concerns about people who loved an overly structured, corporate environment. Octopus certainly isn't that!

    Advice to Management

    Keep allowing your staff to run with ideas, keep giving feedback, keep praising people who try.

    Octopus2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stop protecting bad management calls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible Working - Office in London - Team lead and the team I worked with - Holidays

    Cons

    - Management - Development of Junior staff - Salary - Diversity - Gossip

    Advice to Management

    That they should listen to the criticisms that their staff poses about management processes and not look to just protect management. As a soon to be b-corp Corporation, I don’t think they uphold the standards of one.

    Octopus2019-08-05
  6. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Projects 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working Friendly Atmosphere Openness and ability to approach senior execs

    Cons

    Lack of investment in systems Immature processes and procedures

    Advice to Management

    Spend less time on HR initiatives that don’t yield any benefits

    Octopus2019-08-03
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Cracks if you look close enough but OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They seem to hire genuinely nice people who want to help each other and care about their work Staff benefits are ok. Lots of social events, charity work and groups people can get involved in Flexible working is encouraged though the culture doesn't make this easy

    Cons

    Leadership is manipulative and lacks self awareness in some teams, though some of this has been dealt with. They have very few women in positions of power so they have pushed women from within into roles they are not qualified to do. Its unsurprising that the teams these women lead have such a high level of staff turnover & staff unhappiness

    Advice to Management

    Don't rush to promote people from within into roles they aren't capable of doing.

    Octopus2018-11-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities to put your hand up and get involved in something new. Colleagues really do care about the business and help each other where they can. Staff benefits are great. Flexible working is encouraged.

    Cons

    There is constantly change as teams try new things which fail and budgets are re set. Not a con for everyone, you've just got to be prepared to adapt and be open to new ways of working.

    Octopus2018-09-20
  9. "Refreshing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people focused on both what we collectively deliver and how - Transparency and access to senior management to challenge and ask questions - Committed to training and development - refreshing approach to flexible working

    Cons

    - naturally with a growing company, things move quickly and at times processes and systems are playing catchup

    Octopus2017-11-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Going in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time

    Pros

    Recent move towards allowing flexible working, extended paternity leave. Group structure empowers the various business lines. People tend to be very friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    Senior people are overwhelmingly white, male and within a narrow age band. Looks a bit embarrassing on the slide decks.

    Advice to Management

    It seems as though you are trying to hire some senior women - try to get a bit more ethnic diversity in there too. The pride participation was great, keep it up.

    Octopus2017-08-07
Found 11 reviews