Oddup Reviews | Glassdoor

Oddup Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Oddup Founder and CEO James Giancotti
James Giancotti
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting work, great exposure, good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Partner in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oddup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is extremely interesting and if you know how data makes people tick, you’ll thrive. Smart and dedicated CEO. For a startup, there’s lots of exposure to global companies.

    Cons

    Not an issue for me but you need to know what you can bring to the table. If you’re a generalist, this ain’t for you

    Oddup2018-12-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Relaxed atmosphered and fun team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oddup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of opportunity to grow if you want to take ownership - Friendly international team, relaxed atmosphere - Flexible work hours, especially for Hong Kong, opportunity to work from home if needed - Exciting industry and loads of cool projects to work on

    Cons

    - As most startups it can be disorganised at times, if you need crystal clear guidance in everything you do, it might be frustrating

    Continue reading
    Oddup2019-01-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Oddup full-time

    Pros

    - the office was close to MTR in 2017 - freedom to choose technologies

    Cons

    - the bosses were working for please investors but not for winning the market - micromanagement - Teammates were underpaid in 2017. not sure in 2018

    Continue reading
    Oddup2018-12-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oddup full-time

    Pros

    Just passed probation, so far so good. It's a nimble company and open to ideas.

    Cons

    Office is small (people wise) as just starting out in the city.

    Oddup2018-10-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Poorly run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oddup full-time

    Pros

    Exciting industry, and lots potential to success

    Cons

    Management failure, gone from office from long periods, no communication, not interest in company future.

    Oddup2018-11-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Business Development and Partnerships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development and Partnerships in Melbourne
    Recommends

    I have been working at Oddup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at Oddup Melbourne for the last 6 months. This is a true entrepreneurial startup in that there is a lot of opportunity to be seized. The founders are flexible, supportive, and most importantly, they are open to listening to my suggestions for growth and direction. Great up and coming company.

    Cons

    As Oddup is relatively small compared, there is not necessarily the plethora of resources available. However the founders are always accessible and address any concerns very promptly

    Oddup2017-12-08
  7. Helpful (5)

    "A great startup with lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Oddup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The international team consists of some incredible people: talented, fun and driven. Senior management is always working and responding no matter what time it is. Even though I was working in a remote office, they would regularly visit and make time for me. Response times for a decision is fast. They will respond and answer in less than 4 hours versus my old company that waited months before any decision was made. Always willing to try new ideas out, even though they may not get the desired result they are after.

    Cons

    While pay is competitive with startups of its size, its not as competitive an investment bank (to be expected). Compared to other startups though its very reasonable and they offered me about 20% more than most companies their size.

    Continue reading
    Oddup2017-10-30
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Biggest Mistake Ever I Ever Made... In Joining This Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Oddup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its office is close to MTR station, that's about it. Senior management does a good job in showing off their good fortunes but an even better job in hiding their failures.

    Cons

    This is probably the worst company I have ever worked for. The owners of the company have no idea on the direction of the company due to their lack of leadership and the lack of experience in managing a company. They are definitely not the experts they claim to be. They are just amateurs who want to get a piece of the cake at the Hong Kong startup scene, before moving on to something else. They had a lot of professionals and subject matter experts helping them with the work but they tend to take disregard things which are not in their favor and overrule with their incompetent decision making skills. Also, they are just cheap people. Who would've thought that they would rip-off a potential employee by telling him/her that everyone takes a pay cut to work here. So for anyone who wants to work here, think about it again.

    Continue reading
    Oddup2017-11-18
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Oddup full-time

    Pros

    - No reason to work here - No good

    Cons

    - Management no listen - CEO thinks he knows tech but knows nothing - No benefits - CEO all lies

    Oddup2017-08-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews