Odeon Cinemas Reviews | Glassdoor

Odeon Cinemas Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 335 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Mark Way
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get free films whenever whichever odeon you want so that is amazing, especially for students studying film- exposure(in 82 reviews)

  • "concession discounts, free cinema tickets(in 42 reviews)

Cons
  • "View cinema hosts as disposable(in 33 reviews)

  • "Rota can come out late meaning only 2/3 days before start of new(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "What a nice brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in London, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Odeon Cinemas

    Pros

    Good brand, interesting firm. Lots of nice perks and benefits.

    Cons

    Anti social long hours. Looking for something new however.

    Odeon Cinemas2016-01-19
  2. "Mediocre place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Operations Supervisor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Odeon Cinemas full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Free movies and film cards (there are some restrictions). General usage is easy, depends on the manager.

      Cons

      Low pay, ridiculous values, lack of recognition

      Odeon Cinemas2018-09-03
    • Helpful (6)

      "Not what it once was"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Odeon Cinemas full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Tough to say nowadays, I worked with them for over 10 years, and for the majority of that time i enjoyed it. Good close knit group of people within the individual cinemas, friendly rivalry with other cinemas in your region were the pros of old.

      Cons

      company is no longer about Cinema, nor is it even about making money, it is all about saving money, bringing inexperienced people in to work for peanuts, not contributing to the upkeep of it's buildings, etc still a lot of good people working there at all levels, however their hands are tied.

      Advice to Management

      Invest in people again, you used to do it so well

      Odeon Cinemas2013-02-28
    • "Ideal Job for Students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cinema Host in Brighton, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odeon Cinemas part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours and availability, and a friendly team around you.

      Cons

      Prices too high for the guests.

      Odeon Cinemas2019-07-13
    • "Good experience, great stuff."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cinema Host in Bournemouth, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Odeon Cinemas full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Very flexible and easy going, suitable for people who want to have an income as well as doing other jobs or projects at the same time. Good for students. Free tickets for films, discounts, team spirit, stuff screenings and events.

      Cons

      Long hours and basic pay.

      Odeon Cinemas2019-07-08
    • "Best company I have worked for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruitment Advisor in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odeon Cinemas full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      * This is the first business I have worked for that truly lives by its visions and values. * There is no hierarchical stance as everyone talks to each other and we have multiple events to bring us all together. * Your left to do your work and given the opportunities to think outside of the box. * Real opportunites for development/progression

      Cons

      * Don't shout about the amazing things we are doing. * Could be more recognition across the business

      Odeon Cinemas2019-07-05
    • "A great company embracing change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odeon Cinemas full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great culture and people, Flexibility at work, two brand-new modern head-offices in great locations, progressive environment,

      Cons

      Technology isn't great, hierarchical, though making good attempts at addressing problems with bottom up innovation

      Advice to Management

      Continue to develop strategic approaches in all areas of the business that move away from short term firefighting to long term value add solutions.

      Odeon Cinemas2019-07-04
    • "Great place to learn and grow!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Support Office in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odeon Cinemas full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Lots of learning and development opportunities, giving stretch in role. Feels like one big family and where else do you get to talk about film?

      Cons

      The pace is very fast, which means its not for everyone.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the values at the heart of everything we do!

      Odeon Cinemas2019-07-02
    • "Fantastic company to work for, putting employees first."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources People Assistant in Manchester City Centre, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odeon Cinemas full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great career progression opportunities Rewards and recognition programmes Live by great values daily

      Cons

      Pay is not as competitive as other companies.

      Odeon Cinemas2019-06-28
    • "Values based Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Manchester City Centre, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odeon Cinemas full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Amazing inclusive company to be part of and love that our approach is to put our guests at the heart of everything we do. ODEON is a very values led business with the majority of colleagues really going above and beyond, demonstrating a genuine love and passion. It is probably the most fun business that I have been part of and I love the innovation and creativity displayed by our cinema teams. There is also a huge amount...

      Show More

      Cons

      Not necessarily a negative as we have some good innovative work arounds in place, but investment into a HR System would create greater efficiencies in team and could stream line certain processes such as absence and reviews, thus saving management time.

      Odeon Cinemas2019-06-27
    Found 335 reviews